We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the train station”
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Genova
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is easy to get to (unlike some other italian hotels). It is very close to the train station, shops and a nice walking street. They have a parking option, although you have to pay for it extra. I think it was around 10 dollars. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Genova
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is in a half-good location. It is about a ten minute walk from the train station, and is just off of the main pedestrian street in La Spezia. Most people come here, and stay in La Spezia while visiting Cinque Terre, but La Spezia isn't much of a town. This hotel needs updated and the rooms are not very cozy. I also found stray hairs in my bathroom. The breakfast may be the most disappointing thing about the hotel. It is stingy, even by Italian standards. The front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful, even through they don't speak English well. Also wifi is €3,00 per hour.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting the Cinque Terre region and very glad we did. Hotel Genova is centrally located for shops, restaurants and the train station. It was the low season and not very busy, perhaps that's why we were given a triple room which meant more space. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room and public areas spotlessly clean and breakfast, while simple, was adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel was in a good location. Not far from the train station. We came back from Cinque Terre at night everyday and were not fearful walking through La Spezia at night. The pedestrian area is right next to the hotel with stores and restaurants. The thing I liked best was that they had a parking garage down the street that was closed and locked, only for Hotel Genova guests. It was 10 euro a night, but worth it for peace of mind. They gave you a garage key so you could come and go as you please. Keep in mind this hotel was no frills. Room was fine, nothing fancy. Bathroom was good, again, nothing fancy. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. The place was clean and staff friendly. For the price, a great stay. BTW, October is a great time to see Cinque Terre. Not hot and less people.

Room Tip: Reserve a parking spot before you come. They are limited.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed one night. The service when we arrived - on spec - was excellent. The hotel is a short walk from the train station for the Cinque Terre. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We had secure hotel parking a short walk away for both our cars. The rooms are modern, immaculate and quiet. Breakfast is served in very pleasant surroundings and was of a high standard. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel. It has a very good location (not far from train station) and La Spezia is a good base for visiting Southern Liguria. The room was spacious (there are also smaller rooms) and had air conditioning. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They have a nearby parking garage for which you pay 10€/night. The breakfast is served inside or on the terrace, but the choice is rather limited. The hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelheid448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We spent one night in the NH (previously Jolly Hotel) but found the Genova to be a better value (for a family of 4) and better located. A short walk from the station, and in la Spezia you are surrounded by real Italians, instead of the thousands of tourists in CT. They had free nearby parking garage for our car which was great too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heemskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genova 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the city center a 10-minute walk from the train station or from the embarcation boats to reach the fabulos 5 lands . Historical presence in the city of La Spezia , updated to the current needs ofboth the tourist and businessman, preserves the ancient pleasure of living in a structure that has always 24 hours 24 hours guest service staff ... Welcome to the Hotel Genova ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing