We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious but slow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Suprema

La Suprema
Ranked #88 of 411 Restaurants in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$54
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious but slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

With a limited menu, the choices are quite lovely with very rich flavours. Being close to the marketplace, there is a lot of seafood selection.
It opens a bit later in the restaurant section with the setting up still happening after 7pm, with our table the only one occupied.
After waiting for 15 minutes for our drinks (2 waters and a glass of wine), the food arrived quite quickly afterwards.
The service is a little relaxed and expect to see a lot of people drop in for general conversation halting the service more. Waiting for nearly 10 minutes for the bill, we walked inside to pay.
Although the service isn't great, the food was very delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    55
    24
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Pasta pasta yes. Pesto.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Some of the best pasta we experience in Italy. I ordered the shrimp pasta and the shrimp was good, but the pasta was amazing. Definitely homemade on the spot. My wife ordered the pesto pasta and enjoyed it as well. The pesto was very strong and a bit overwhelming compared to what we had everywhere else, but still delicious. It’s decently priced and the quality definitely makes it worth it. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a nice meal here. All meals were fresh and cooked well. No selection of wines by the glass, and the default wine wasn't too great. Main of lamb rack was lovely. Cheese plate listed under 'Meat Dishes' which is a little confusing and it's more a platter for at least 2-3ppl. This was very reasonably priced at €12, however other meat dishes stretched the budget and was more what you'd pay at a place rated $$$ on Trip Advisor.

Helpful?
Thank MissDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant looking for a nice sit-down meal to enjoy the traditional Italian style. We came in hungry and ready to enjoy. We were not disappointed. I tried the calamari and lamb. My boyfriend had the best filet he's ever had.

Weight staff was very friendly (the owner actually served us), the atmosphere is cosy.

If you're looking for a nice dinner you should definitely stop in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We came across this small restaurant by chance, but if I was ever in the area again I would head straight for it.

This is one of the best meals I have had in a very long time. I have travelled frequently over the past year, Australia, US, Singapore and Europe and without a doubt the ambience, service and quality of the food put this restaurant number one on my list.

From the moment we walked in the door, the service was impeccable and the atmosphere great. A small menu, but definitely perfectly formed. There were some great combinations of flavours that I wouldn't normally think of putting together, but they worked so well. We had fish/seafood for both courses and everything was presented perfectly and tasted divine. A fabulous evening.

All in all, this is a must go restuarant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Suprema also viewed

La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to La Suprema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing