We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”

Pizzeria El Portico
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Portofino
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It was a good solid restaurant but nothing too spectacular and there seems to be a big crowd around it. Decent vegetarian options

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aparikh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    120
    48
    15
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I am not a tourist here, ad my grand-father has owned an appartment the center of portofino. He and I have been very good friends with Luis, the owner of "El Portico". I can personally assure you that the food there is one of the best you could find in Portofino. I personnally recommend the spaghetti ale vongole (spaghetti with clams) and tiramisu as a dessert. Both of these dishes are the best I've aver eaten.

Helpful?
4 Thank drawingleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Service was ok but the food was average at best. The prices were reasonable but I would eat elsewhere next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oilersfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Distinctly unimpressed”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I will write this review in English, as I would not want English tourists to suffer the experience!
I have travelled widely in Italy, and currently live in Genova, so close by Portofino!
Portofino clearly has significantly marked-up prices, given its nature, but as long as the quality of service/food follows along, all is well.
Here, however, the prices are appalling considering what is offered. The pizze do not seem the usual rustic type I am used to, but rather hard and crunchy, which is bizzarre. I was given a dirty fork, and another member of our party was given a dirty glass. When we informed the waiter, he threw away the wine without even replacing it.
I couldn't complain about the house wine, or the pesto which was on my pizza, both of which were pretty nice, but this is really the only redeeming feature.
This place falls very short of standards, particularly considering the exclusivity of Portofino, and it really is not acceptable, given that they were not busy. They could not even bring themselves to discount or compensate in any way for the mistakes. I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
much travelled Canadian
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was cozy with authentic food and a friendly staff. It's a bit away from the water so more affordable and less pretentious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellingcanadian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria El Portico also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Pizzeria El Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing