We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Tripoli

Tripoli
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were lucky enough to pass by this gem after arriving late into Portofino one night. Staff made us feel like family and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The food was exceptional and likely the best fresh seafood and pasta I have ever eaten. Some stand outs were the pesto lasagne, the fresh anchovies and the seafood risotto. Well worth the trip to Portofino.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    102
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

It was a very good food we thought as it was number 9 the price was salty but no the price was good as well i recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Tripoli was recommended by our hotel and was a real find for us. Proof that you don't need to be pay through the nose for great food in Portofino. Great pasta and fresh fish with friendly and helpful waiters, particularly Marco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trattoria Tripoli-a lucky surprise!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Portofino is incredibly beautiful and incredibly expensive, but one can get lucky. Trattoria Tripoli, on the harbor, could easily be just another overpriced, pretentious restaurant in a beautiful location, but it's not the case. I found the atmosphere relaxed, the service friendly and unhurried and the food quite good. The mixed salad, pasta al ragu and the cutlet a la Milanese were all well prepared, fresh and tasty. It wasn't the cheapest lunch I could have had; three courses, including water and a glass of wine, cost €36.50, but it was worth it. A New Yorker sitting at the next table, who is also a part-time Portofino resident, told me that I had chosen wisely as it was the best trattoria in town. Who was I to argue!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eryxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Cosy atmosphere, excellent food. I chose mixed fish, which was good mix of squid, shrimps, anchovies, my friends ate steak, risotto, everything was delicious. We were met by a lady standing at the door, which looked sort of spooky, as we never understood what was her function. May be it had to do with Halloween?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Egidija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tripoli also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing