We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not blown away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Decided to spend 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary. The hotel has 2 locations. Both where available at the same exorbitant price. Decided to stay at Splendido Mare which is located on the piazza right on the harbour. Thought this would be nicer than having to use shuttle buses from the main hotel so we could wander around and sit and eat beside the harbour at night. This may have been a mistake as the main building may have better rooms.
Our room was nice with a small balcony looking on the piazza and harbour which was a bonus.
The room was small. The decor was tasteful but didn't blow me away. It looked to me a little tired. Bed and linen was first class. Bathroom was small but had those fluffy towels and all the other things that one expects from a good hotel. TV was tiny and looked awkward how it was placed in the room.
Reception area, bar and restaurant nice. We ate one night at the main hotel on the terrace and the food was very good and the service exceptional. The breakfast was a little disappointing. Bread selection poor and the toast on both days was hard as a rock. Eggs asked for soft and got hard. Tea was luke warm. One waiter must have had a bad nights sleep as he was especially grumpy and really quite unhelpful.
Overall the service was very good and can't be faulted.
It is also an exceptionally beautiful town.
Bottom line though for the money spent would I go back.
No. Didn't blow me away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thirstytraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,

First of all let me thank you for taking time and trouble to comment on your stay at Hotel Splendido Mare, sharing your comments with the TA community, eventhough very sorry to learn you experienced some inconveniences with the breakfast service during your stay.

Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the Splendido & Splendido Mare and, more generally speaking, of all our hotels world-wide.

I have therefore taken very seriously every point of your comment, I am sorry that at this stage I can only ask you to accept my sincere apologies, if I would have known during your stay I could have been able to do effectively something.

In any case I hope you will trust us again and I look forward to welcoming you back in a next future,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Portofino
edemegni@splendido.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I were very lucky to be given two nights at the Splendido by a very generous friend. The hotel is very special. The room was fabulous and the bathroom and complimentary toiletries were even better. The view from our balcony was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast on the terrace surpassed our expectations, as did the room service breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay in Portofino and would love to return, but unfortunately I don't think I will be able to afford to go again. It will remain a treasured memory.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cat69Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Spent three days, with six members of my family, at the lovely Splendido Mare Hotel in early July. Absolutely wonderful experience! The hotel staff in the Mare property were outstanding. Superb service and food in their Chulflay Bar restaurant. Every evening a special event !! One of a kind location, like living in the village.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea, with balcony's, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dudley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Splendido is a sensational hotel. Service is so attentive. Food is outstanding with charming waiters. Everything is excellent.

Room Tip: top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MollieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Went to the Hotel Splendido for 4 nights and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff, food, wines and facilities were excellent

If you want a long weekend away this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose a room looking down the hills its maginificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Ermes De Megni and his team are by far the best team in the hotel business! I stay everywhere and this is the best. The food, the views, the bed sheets, the soap and towels and the pianist not to mention the service, the room service, the room decor and the pool. I love The Splendido. A beautiful hotel, memorable surroundings and a weekend I will never ever forget. A secret is The Chouflay and the superb walks. Thank you to all and in particular EVERYONE!!!

Room Tip: 222 that's the one!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvtravellingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Honestly have to say I was disappointed with the hotel having heard so much. The room was dirty-cobwebs etc and not worth the price. Loved the terrace and the service but couldn't stay in the room for the price, so left for Villa d'Este on Como which I loved.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for taking time and trouble to share your comments with the TA community. I am indeed very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your accommodation. I perfectly remember your complaint, and as soon as you shared with us your dissatisfaction, we apologized and showed you two alternative rooms, that you refused.

Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, troughout the years, the success of the Splendido and, more generally speaking, of all our Hotels world-wide.

I have therefore taken very seriously every point of your compalint and it is certainly thanks to the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service and facilities.

I hope you will trust us again in the future, of course we will be more than happy to welcoming you.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
134 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: £423 - £1,525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing