We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding by any measure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Beautiful setting, superb accommodation and the finest service and food.

Portofino is a wonderful setting for such a lovely hotel and this hotel group really does have the finest hotels in the world and this is reflected in the Mare and the larger Hotel Splendido both of which are just perfect.

This Italian coastline is magnificent and from the superb breakfast, where you can literally have anything you wish, to the peace and quiet during the day for all the facilities this really is perfection.

All the nonsense you hear about "great" hotels..this really is the top drawer without all the razmataz the whole experience is just superbly well done

Room Tip: Every detail is perfect from the bathroom slippers to the magnificent bathrooms and rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel Splendido
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

The location : a dream place slightly outside of the buzz of Portofino, quiet and with a splendid view ! The rooms : up to any wish you could express (especially the suites...) ! The personal : most efficient, professional, pleasant and extremely helpfull ans caring ! The swimming-pool : gorgeous and luscious ! The food : exquisite, to eat on the terrasse is a wonderful experience !
The wine list : impressive ! The concierges : so helpfull and ready to accomplish miracles to any of your desires...! The prices : according to the overall quality...! The spa : welcoming your tired bodies with perfection...! The Splendido Hotel : what else ?

Room Tip: The (few) suites with a balcony are most pleasant !
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is one of the great classic on the Italian Riviera overlooking Portofino.
The view is "Splendido" and does get any better.
Food, elegant, refined, classic with the best fresh fish we had during our Italian trip.
Service is second to none, of course would you expect less from an Orient Express property?

The wine list is the very best We have seen in Italy

Room Tip: Early Reservations are must and during high season almost impossible to get.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Sitting on the terrace overlooking the ocean at sunrise. The sun kisses your cheeks softly as you pour milk into your caffe and hold the delicate china cup. The prices are ridiculous, for sure. But for a moment of pure bliss I would recommend just that morning caffe for 7 euro and the fantasy of feeling like someone of great importance is well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our fifth visit to The Splendido. Great to relax by the pool and enjoy the spectacular views.

Expensive, which helps to make it exclusive. The Terraza restaurant has raised it's game and although it was always excellent, this year the menu and cooking seemed to have gone up a gear.

Portofino is as pretty and bustling as ever. If you take the ferry boat, I would advise getting off at Santa Margarhita rather than Rapello. It's much prettier.

Room Tip: Better to splash out on a junior suite, with sea view, for a couple of days, rather than stay a week...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellippiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Went with my Wive and baby girl with a camper, to Italy with a 4 day stay for anniversary in splendido. My travel agent contacted them about off site parking for the camper since I knew roads are small. Was informed no problem via phone, worst case they would assist with traffic and parking manual.
On arrival I was told off by the valet parking guy in a tone and way that was beond rude for coming with camper. After getting to the room the concierge had the nerve to call me in the room to be father me about this once more.

Food was good.

Made a reservation on terrace for dinner with space for the pram, no call back for confirmation! On arrival we where told its not possible to sit on the terrace with minors under 5.

The phones of the spa and concierge are busy all of the time.

There where several over charges on the bill! They where corrected after questioning them! Check your bill in this place!!!

That they charge 2000 euro a night for this is beyond me! I feel stupid for staying in this mess...

I have no problem paying, but then I expect top service! Some services are not even 2 star in this place.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank On2max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for your comments.
Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built throughout the years the success of the Splendido and, more generally speaking, of all our Hotels world -wide.
Therefore I am really sorry that some negative events have in some ways spoilt your stay with us.

In going into the matter the Parking Valet, when you arrived with a big van, just informed you about the fact that local authorities (it does not depend on us) do not allow , with no exception, the entrance on the road leading to Portofino to any van, car, minibus, camper over 6 mt. lenght.
The local Police is very strict on this and that's why our Staff was concerned that you could get fined. Our valet also offered you to park directly at the front of the Hotel and to take care of your van later on, trying to park it along the road leading to the Hotel, that, as you know, is really narrow (and not on an exclusive use for the Hotel) as well the parking space in front of the entrance.

Concerning the Restaurant I am very sorry but as per our Children Policy, clearly stated also on our web site, kids up to 5 years old are not allowed to eat at our Restaurants, La Terrazza and Chuflay Bar. But, when you arrived to the Restaurant our Restaurant Manager, of course informed you about the kids policy but as the same time offred you a table at the Restaurant inside where you had dinner with your Family. Also he opened the doors leading to the Terrace so that you could enjoy the Piano during Dinner.

I feel that despite everything we have done our best but of course if someone caused you and your Family any discomfort I deeply apologize.

Your comments have been all considered attentively and thank you for highlighting these to our attention. It is certanly through them, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve service and facilities.

I hope you will trust us again, and of course I am at your entire disposal for the future.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

No doubt about it - this hotel is perfect, as it should be for the price. No other hotel in the area comes close, both for location (Portofino really is as dreamy as it looks) or service (this is simply one of the best hotels in Italy.) Didn't eat at the restaurant - word in the street was decent food but ridiculous prices so you might be better off at one of the waterfront eateries. PS I'd recommend agains the Splendido Mare - looked very nice but if you're spending all that money you might as well go for the real deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: £423 - £2,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing