We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its name ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name ”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Visited around two weeks ago and it was a fantastic experience altogether. The staff were fully attentive to our needs at all times. Commuting between the two hotels was available. The food downstairs in the bar was magnificent for dinner. I recommend you try the seafood. After dinner there was piano playing and singing of typical Italian ballades. Truly a great experience and highly recommended

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    95
    32
    26
    22
See reviews for
135
518
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Dear Traveler,

Splendido in Italian means shinning, magnificent, splendid. Those are only a few of many words that describe the Hotel Splendido in Porto Fino Italy. A true oasis of class with wonderful history and let’s not forget amazing service. This 62 room Hotel sits at the top of Porto Fino Italy. A truly exquisite setting. Gorgeous manicured gardens and lovely suites offer amazing views of the harbor.

My loved one and I just recently spent four stupendous days and nights this September. We happen to be in Porto Fino for the Rolex Regatta Races which took place on Saturday morning September 21st, 2013. An exciting event where the who's who of the world congragated in this little post card of a village.

The Guests of the Hotel Splendido, International but a very good amount of Americans, were all lovely. Each evening they have live entertainment, piano playing with karaoke. After a delicious dinner and certainly plenty of fine wine you will find yourself singing out loud. Hotel Splendido is truly in a class all itself!

Whether lounging at the salt water pool or renting a boat and cruising the Mediterranean Sea, I highly recommend you consider this beautiful destination and hotel as a must do at least once in a lifetime. Something to truly add to the bucket list.

Thank you to the entire Staff from Management, Concierge, Waiters, Bellman and Housekeeping you are all Splendido!!!!!!!

Mr. Anthony Vecchione
NYC

Room Tip: Any Suite with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is really a 5 star hotel....hotel of the stars!! the view is divine....overlooks the Mediterranean Sea and Portofino....the rooms are royal and the restaurant is really delicious.....
As we ate, fireworks went off outside the window....they serve tea on the balcony in the afternoon,,,beautiful gardens surround the hotel and there are places to walk where nature spirits play.....
there really is no hotel like this one....it is expensive but way worth it for at least once in a lifetime....
wonderful, warm, Italian staff ......

Room Tip: one facing the sea of course....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Spectacular hotel in a gorgeous location. First time in Portofino. The hotels location high above the village gives great long views of the Mediterranean. A steep drive up the mountain to the hotel. We were given an upgrade from double room with water view to a junior suite. The room was beautifully decorated with king sized bed and large closet space. The marble bath was large with separate shower and tub.
The hotel facilities are great with spa, outdoor heated pool and even a tennis court. The dining areas, both indoor and outdoor, take full advantage of the view.
Staff are very friendly, service impeccable. We had dinner at the hotel our first night, breakfast each day, and lunch one day. The dinner was excellent, the buffet breakfast were great, the lunch was the only disappointment as it was merely good. Perhaps we ordered the wrong items?
Given the location and quality of hotel and services it should come as no surprise that the hotel is extraordinarily expensive but if any hotel deserves such steep fares it us probably this one.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harcapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

On my second trip to Portofino, I insisted on staying at the Splendido Mare WIth its proximity in the village, I could not have asked for a more incredible experience. From being greeted at my car to transport my luggage, through check-in, and a guided tour of my room, I could not have been more pleased. The manager who met and greeted me was one of the most hospitable I have experienced. The shuttle to the Splendido itself was very efficient and timely. I enjoyed my meals at the three restaurants immensely not only because of the excellent service, but the incredible food. The room itself was well appointed and very comfortable. If visiting Portofino, I would highly recommend Splendido and Splendido Mare. To quote Mary Kay Ash, "Quality is remembered after price is forgotten". Treat yourself

Room Tip: Ask for views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've been in this hotel for a few times. The view is incredible and the service is great!

The atmoshere in the hotel is quiet en relax and a day at the pool with the perfect view is like a wonderful dream.

The rooms are what you will expect from a 5 star hotel but not very big. I guess the expensive price you pay for the room has also to do with the view and the service you get.

Wonderfull!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were on a Silverseas cruise(which is fantastic) and stopped at Portofino. We caught the complimentary shuttle mini bus, which stops just at the bottom of the hill, by the pharmacy. This takes you up the hill to the hotel. We headed for the bar and had the best peach bellinis you could imagine. Yes, they were expensive, 18 euros each, but they were made with fresh peach juice, they were so good, we just had to have a second one! We then had a wonderful lunch at the hotels terrace restaurant. Very relaxed, not stuffy at all, And the views are unbelievable. The whole experience was something to tick off bucket list!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
580 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Property: Belmond Hotel Splendido
Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing