We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Splendido Mare and cannot say enough good things about this wonderful hotel. The welcome we received was warm and inviting - we were given recommendations of where to visit during our stay and the suggestions were very informative. We were greeted on arrival by Danielle the Hotel Manager and he is a delightful young man, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. He was there constantly it seemed throughout our stay always ensuring that we were happy and comfortable and making sure that we had everything we could possibly desire. We had lunch at the main Splendido up on the hill by the pool and this was delicious with excellent service. The service we received in the Chuflay Restaurant (see separate review) at the Mare building was excellent and attentive too, special thanks to Santos and Angelo for taking such good care of us. We have stayed at both the Mare building and the main building several times and would not dream of staying anywhere else in the beautiful little town. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If possible book a room overlooking the picturesque harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mr. Lope,

Thank you so much for your review of Belmond Splendido Mare.

I am delighted to see that your overall stay was wonderful and you were able to experience the charm of our property, as well as our great hospitality.

Thank you as well for your comments regarding your dining experiences. We’ll extend your message and positive comments to our Staff, especially to the team of Splendido Mare.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Portofino!

Kind regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

If we were VIP perhaps the reception would have been different i felt. The lady taking us to our rooms was very abrupt and did not show us the workings of the electrics,hidden t/v, shower etc. It is a grand hotel where the staff dress up better than residents but that is a positive point. They did not tell us the meals were inclusive and we ate out!!The scenery is fantastic and the other services like the maids were very pleasant. A few senior waiters were a bit' stand offish' but one young waiter and a senior lady waiter made up for this by being very helpful. We left with a feeling it was out of our comfort zone! Food good but not exceptional [ tiramasu 3 out of5].

Room Tip: surrounded by very noisy 'cricket' --no fault of hotel though! Very expensive place to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lothianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Belmond Hotel Splendido and sharing your experience with us. I am disappointed to read that you were not pleased with the Reception Staff. This is certainly not the impression we want to make with guests. I am very sorry for the issues you encountered. I have addressed this with the appropriate departments in order to prevent this from happening in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and I looking forward to welcoming you in the nearly future.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've been going to this hotel for as long as I can remember and every time is better than the last. I think it is the best place in the world to come and relax. The rooms, the restaurants and the pool all have an absolutely stunning view down into the bay. The service is absolutely amazing. You need to make sure that between 1030 and midnight you see Vladimir the piano man in the bar. He is a character and it is an absolute blast to sit and listen to him play either inside where the action is, or outside on the terrace with a cigar (available at the bar, cash only though). The pool, (although heavily salinated and chlorinated) is absolutely beautiful, with the same amazing view of the bay. Most of the lounge chairs share this amazing view, you almost don't need to bring any distractions while you sit outside for hours. The spa staff is friendly, helpful and give amazing massages. We usually walk down to Chufly (pronounced shoo fly), at the Splendido Mare and have a wonderful dinner in the center of town. I will be coming back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowser39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your beautiful words on your recent stay at Belmond Hotel Splendido and I'm delighted that my entire team went above and beyond to make you as comfortable as possible, that is what they do best and are proud to do so.

We look forward to welcome you in the future at Belmond Hotel Splendido!

In the meantime I wish you a wonderful Summer.

Kindest Regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at Hotel Splendido. We were given an upgrade from a double room to a junior suite. A bottle of prosecco was waiting in our room. The room was used in its magazine showing their rooms around the world so that says it all. The room was beautiful large with a sitting area and dining area, a huge bathroom with every amenity possible and a nice walk in closet The staff were aware we were celebrating our 40th anniversary and made every attempt to treat us accordingly
We ate most nights at La Terrazza and the food and service were perfection. Other reviewers have mentioned that the staff treats those who come often better. I agree they receive little extras but we were treated with charm and respect all the time. I'd expect the extra as well if I returned frequently
The walk to Portofino was wonderful from the hotel and there is a shuttle as well.

We have travelled extensively and this trip was a favorite . The concierge arranged a private boat with captain to take ya to cinque terre. Expensive but well worth it.
We would return. The views are spectacular.
We loved the pool area and the pool restaurant but not the pool boys. Andrea was great but the others were always looking for tips and not warm at all.
All in all well worth the expense.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My stay was virtually perfect. We stayed in a suite with a terrace overlooking the marina in the Splendido Mare. Every our request was complied with and the one hick up at breakfast service (the waiters in the restaurant got every single order at one breakfast we had wrong) was made up to us by striking the parking fees off our bill.

The restaurant at Mare is quite good but also quite expensive. The restaurant in Splendido proper (on the hill) felt like a better value for money. Overall - very much worth a visit. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Based on history, reputation and reviews, we arrived at the Hotel Splendido with high expectations. Although it is not perfect, the setting is spectacular and the service is remarkable. The service rivals that of Il San Pietro in Positano (other favorite retreat in Italy and better rooms), Villa & Palazzo Aminta in Stressa and Villa Serbelloni in Bellagio. We stayed three nights at Hotel Splendido and one night at the Splendido Mare because we wanted to experience each from every aspect.

Hotel Splendido
At the Splendido we had a room with a terrace overlooking the bay, which is a must. Otherwise, the no-frills room itself is small but adequate and comfortable. The corridors probably have not changed much since 1901. I suppose that is just part of the charm and character. A fresh coat of paint would be nice. Dinning on the terrace (La Terrazza restaurant) overlooking the bay was one of the highlights and we thought the food was fresh, flavorful and well presented. We especially enjoyed the beautiful gardens and tranquility of the Splendido. The piano music by Vladimir and singing by Antonio Beccalli at the Splendido cocktail bar each evening after dinner was a perfect way to end the day and mingle with other guests (mostly couples of varied ages). Other reviewers thought it was cheesy. However, we enjoyed the ambiance reminiscent of a bygone era and characteristic of the Splendido. As many other reviewers have indicated, the Splendido is ridiculously expensive. The mark-up on wine and liquor is unreal. We paid more for an after dinner drink at the Splendido than in Monaco.

Splendido Mare
Subsequently, we spent our last night in Portofino at the Splendido Mare in a village view room without a terrace. Again, the room was adequate and, ironically, the bathroom was more comfortable than the one in the Splendido main building. All our belongings were seamlessly transferred which enabled us to enjoy our day uninterrupted. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the Chuflay restaurant on the Piazzetta which offers a different vibe than La Terrazza. We also enjoyed the piano player and singer at the Chuflay restaurant during dinner. The Splendido Mare accommodation rates may be less, but everything else is on par with the Splendido.

When we required transportation we opted for the Splendido private luxury car which actually costs a bit less than a public taxi and is much more pleasant.

Overall, what really made our stay special was: 1) the professionalism and efficiency of the entire staff; 2) the quintessential warm Italian hospitality; and 3) the unique setting. We are pleased that we elected to experience both the Hotel Splendido and Splendido Mare with their respective character.

Thank you Splendido and Splendido Mare for another amazing experience in Italy!

Room Tip: Balcony/terrace overlooking the bay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CreativeExplorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

You get easily fooled by the magic of the location when you arrive on a sunny day, if you come for the first time you will surely get one of the worst rooms , just in front of the parking Lot and under the tennis court., same in the restaurant. Once you are known by the staff they treat you better, if they are busy they might serve you cold food , service is inconsistent and easily forgets your requests, breakfast in the room, prepare car for trip, reserve a restaurant in another town, etc, if you look for a romantic moment be aware there might be many business meetings and weddings that get priority . The rooms are small for the price and equipment is rather old, my wife almost got an electro shock when she used her dryer. Yes it is a magic place but not 5 star.

Room Tip: Main building upper floor ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Nicolas,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We just received your feedback through TripAdvisor and we are really sorry to learn that your experience did not completely meet your expectations.

I carefully read your comments about the staff, the service and the food and I thank you very much for having shared your impressions with us, as either positive or negative they are, the guests' feedback are a constant spur to improve our service.

As a matter of fact, we aim at spoiling our guests with an incredible 360° view over the sea , the warm and elegant atmosphere , the friendly and professional service combined with our tasty, traditional cuisine, for which we receive very positive feedbacks; therefore I am really surprised and extremely sorry if we did not meet what your expectations were.

I kindly inform you that all our rooms are different in size, style & décor. The Standard Rooms have a room size which starts from 25 m2. Regarding your electrical problem in your Room, after an investigation with our Maintenance team, it seems that you used your personal hair dryer and we recommend our guests to use our devices, because they are well approved for safety and are able to bear up to 220 W. Since it's a situation belonging to the past, I can only ask you to accept once again my sincere apologies and I really hope to welcome you again , as my personal guest , to let you experience a faultless visit.

Kind regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 6 in Portofino
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 6 in Portofino
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: £568 - £2,871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing