We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top dollars!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Top dollars!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the SplenMare and paid 1,650 Euro for 1 night incl. breakfast. The room was nice but did not justify the term 'suite'. No other complaints here. The very steep price was known to us before we decided to stay. When I compare this with other top properties on the globe, e.g. Post Ranch Inn, just to name one, the value for money is dwindling.
Nevertheless, the restaurant is very good and the service top notch. I prefer it to the restaurant in the hillside Splend. There, the views are probably nicer but the meals and service a tiny notch ( repeat: tiny) less great. In conclusion: it's simply splendid.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    103
    35
    25
    27
See reviews for
147
550
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Dinner was very good and service was great as well, in the beginning, but, towards the end of the meal, the quality, decreased, spoiling what was the initial expected greatness, considering the high price payed.... I would not think it would end up this way, but, overall was good.
We stayed over for a drink and a dance with a really good entertainment performed by the piano player. Really good evening.
The only think to improve, as already mentioned, is the service at the dinner table. It gets spoiled when busy even though many waiters where present.
Not well managed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ForeverTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Splendido is not the cheapest hotel in Italy but it is worth it. We stayed for six nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The staff are professional and friendly (it is rare to get both characteristics at once). The food in the Terrace restaurant was excellent and although they were busy the staff always found us a nice table on the edge of the Terrace. The entertainment in the evening was exceptional, great fun with Vladimir and Antonio getting the guests totally involved.
Our room had wonderful views over the bay and a nice terrace. The bathroom amenities were excellent. The room was not large but then one does not come to the Splendido to spend a lot of time in the room. Our one criticism of the room was an almost total absence of hanging and drawer space. This really does need to be addressed particularily for guests who are staying more than two nights.
On the whole when one stays at the Splendido you are paying for the total package, excellent food, great staff, wonderful views and a lot of fun. You get all of this at the Splendido and we are loking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Always book a room with a terrace and a good view it is worth it. if you are stayim\ng longer than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinSoutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr. Martin Soutter,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of Portofino and for sharing your great experience with all Trip Advisor´s readers.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy guest and that is having a happy team!.

Therefore, the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to out legendary Hotel for more amazing experiences!

Warm Regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The last time we stayed in this hotel was 2002 and we had an amazing time so we were anxious to find out if it was still great. We were not disappointed! Upon our arrival we were greeted very warmly and the staff was very attentive throughout our stay. Here are some highlights:

Food - We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel so we were well versed in the offerings. One of our party has severe food allergies and they were very attentive to her. They would make custom offerings specific to her needs and were very accommodating. Needless to say, she was very comfortable eating there. Breakfast was inclusive and included eggs any style and a variety of meats, cheeses, yogurts, cakes, pastries, etc... Best of all was the cappuccino and coffee. Lunch for us was normally poolside and the homemade pizza was amazing. Fish and other pasta/meat options were available, but I personally would recommend the pizza. We normally had dinner around 9pm and that seemed to be a rather prime time to eat. We never had a problem getting seated, but it being prime season (mid-August), the staff was really hustling to accommodate everyone. Dinner was included in the package (half board) and we didn't realize until our bill came and it was all zeros except the liquor. I believe that is the case for most everyone, so it pays to go to dinner at the hotel. The waitstaff worked hard and were very friendly (I forgot many of their names, but a guy from Taormina was one of our favorites). Most of the choices were quite good, sea bass was amazing. I would recommend making a reservation especially during prime time.

Pool and Town - Almost any lounge chair will have an amazing view, so I would recommend not worrying about saving a seat since they seemed to be able to accommodate people at all times. If you just can't help it and need to have a specific seat, I would recommend you get up early. The pool opens at 9:30am, but the pool staff get there I believe at 8am (although I personally never got up that early) and people start to reserve seats for themselves from then on. The pool staff was very attentive and when one of us left our Kindle behind by accident, Danielle put it safely away and gave it to us the next time they saw us. Mima, Andrea and Danielle were all excellent and made our time there enjoyable. If you would like to walk to the Portofino town (think gelato, restaurants, high end shopping, etc.) it is a quick 8 to 10 minute walk from the hotel via a path (no, you don't have to walk on the street). Coming back we were a bit winded, but really not a challenging walk.

Rooms - We reserved two rooms and both were exceptional. The better one we loved was on the 5th floor (which is a fairly new floor - it use to house the staff until it was opened up to the quests). It was a spacious suite, with amazing view and balcony and spacious and large bathroom (loved the rain shower head). The A/C worked quite well and the beds were very comfortable. I don't think you could go wrong with anything on the 5th floor (however it may require a splurge).
Karoke and Piano Man - At night they have a piano man who also gets the crowd going by having them do Karoke as well. It was a lot of fun and very hilarious at times. I would recommend sitting in to enjoy one night.

Overall, an amazing time and we hope to get back a lot sooner than later.

Room Tip: Room 494 or anything on the 5th floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our Hotel and "Splendido team", for the lovely comments you've shared.

We are delighted to know that your stay at our hotel exceeded your expectations.

We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If there was one thing that I enjoyed most about this beautiful hotel, it would have to be Flavio, the incredible tennis pro who is as good as the pesto served on la terrazza. He is the most enhusiastic, unique and fun tennis pro that I have ever played with. He makes the hour lesson go fast and I look forward to my lesson everyday. A player for all ages. Truly the best.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saskia245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Splendido Mare and cannot say enough good things about this wonderful hotel. The welcome we received was warm and inviting - we were given recommendations of where to visit during our stay and the suggestions were very informative. We were greeted on arrival by Danielle the Hotel Manager and he is a delightful young man, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. He was there constantly it seemed throughout our stay always ensuring that we were happy and comfortable and making sure that we had everything we could possibly desire. We had lunch at the main Splendido up on the hill by the pool and this was delicious with excellent service. The service we received in the Chuflay Restaurant (see separate review) at the Mare building was excellent and attentive too, special thanks to Santos and Angelo for taking such good care of us. We have stayed at both the Mare building and the main building several times and would not dream of staying anywhere else in the beautiful little town. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If possible book a room overlooking the picturesque harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr. Lope,

Thank you so much for your review of Belmond Splendido Mare.

I am delighted to see that your overall stay was wonderful and you were able to experience the charm of our property, as well as our great hospitality.

Thank you as well for your comments regarding your dining experiences. We’ll extend your message and positive comments to our Staff, especially to the team of Splendido Mare.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Portofino!

Kind regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If we were VIP perhaps the reception would have been different i felt. The lady taking us to our rooms was very abrupt and did not show us the workings of the electrics,hidden t/v, shower etc. It is a grand hotel where the staff dress up better than residents but that is a positive point. They did not tell us the meals were inclusive and we ate out!!The scenery is fantastic and the other services like the maids were very pleasant. A few senior waiters were a bit' stand offish' but one young waiter and a senior lady waiter made up for this by being very helpful. We left with a feeling it was out of our comfort zone! Food good but not exceptional [ tiramasu 3 out of5].

Room Tip: surrounded by very noisy 'cricket' --no fault of hotel though! Very expensive place to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lothianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Belmond Hotel Splendido and sharing your experience with us. I am disappointed to read that you were not pleased with the Reception Staff. This is certainly not the impression we want to make with guests. I am very sorry for the issues you encountered. I have addressed this with the appropriate departments in order to prevent this from happening in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and I looking forward to welcoming you in the nearly future.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Belmond Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
640 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Property: Belmond Hotel Splendido
Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing