We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Easy place to find, we were lucky to get a car park in the local car parking building, good accommodation. bfast was all that we needed.
we were there for 3 days , did the walks, lots of great restaurant, but more over the location and atmosphere of the village is real great.

Room Tip: we were, downstairs, still quiet and easy to get bags to /from
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    55
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
69
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Portofino is a fantastic place and the Hotel Eden has a great location. This hotel is dated and very tired-it was somewhat clean but just very dingy .. Federucci the owner...is somewhat helpful. There where ants all over ( on the terrace, in the bathroom as well as in the sleeping area) and in need of an exterminator. The breakfast was a waste..go outside and buy a croissant and espresso you will be better off. Portofino is very pricey so this B level hotel is very expensive for what it is. Would recommend staying in Santa Margarita or Rapello and day tripping it into Portofino, if staying here two days is plenty.

Room Tip: We where in room #7 with the terrace which was ok...that being said ...thank God we were not in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

There are very few places to stay in Portofino and most of them are very expensive. Hotel Eden is a very good value for money (for Portofino) and I was glad to return there. The owner Ferruccio was kind and nice as usually. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Batalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We arrived in Portofino without any reservation. Luckily we got a room in this nice hotel in the middle of everything. You can really stay 3-4 nights on the price of one night in neighboring hotels. 100 meters to the harbour and plenty of choices to park your car.

We did very nice walking tours around hills and forests. I doubt if You can more beautiful routes anywhere in southern Europe. Even if the hotels in Portofino are very expensive, food in the restaurants isnt that costly.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
000
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

If you are looking for an affordable hotel (in terms of Portofino) in a great location,Eden Hotel has no rivals. It's situated 1 min from the bus stop and less than 1 min from the port, and it's very easy to find. The owner is very nice (he helped us plan the next stop in our trip), and breakfast was satisfactory. We got a room in the ground floor - It was a nice,basic room (the bathroom somewhat small), but there was a strong smell of dampness that possibly originated in the floor-to-floor rug .We both noticed the smell whenever we entered the room, but after a few minutes we got used to it and it didn't bother us. We both felt that the room was not clean enough, which was the biggest minus in the room in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EF20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel having arrived at Portofino at sunset tired and wanting a drink ... But with no booking.

Even at 7pm on a Sunday night in late September three hotels wanted 800+ euro a night to stay in Portofino and so we were surprised that a hotel one street back from the harbour with a beautiful garden was 140 to 180 euros a night (with breakfast "of course!").

Anywhere in the world this would be a 3 star hotel and the rooms are small, particularly the bathrooms: we were given the option of a 140 euro room or a more spacious one at 180 euros - we took the "more spacious one" so I cannot imagine how small the other one was: our bathroom was so small you were banging your elbows when brushing your teeth!

It is also quite quirky: the owner spoke perfect English when we were checking-in but by breakfast and check-out he didn't appear to speak a word. Also, despite the free Wifi, he appeared to take exception to me using my laptop in the garden during breakfast to check my email!

Overall, great value (for Portofino) anywhere else not so much but .... Fantastic location and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexs_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location was great - in the middle of Portofino and an easy walk from the bus stop/taxi - though I'd recommend getting the bus in from S.Margherita, as taxis can gouge you Euro 40 for a 7-minute trip! (compared with an Euro 1.50 bus ride)
The room was nice and clean, the hosts were very hospitable, and I had free, good quality wi-fi (in other hotels in Italy I had to pay Euro 5 an hour to use wifi). I had to leave early to get the first bus out of town at 6am, and the hosts even left a generous breakfast out for me, knowing that I would leave before breakfast was served. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
815 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Vicolo Dritto 18/20, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing