We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated & Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Understated & Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

This was booked as the highlight and end of our Italy trip, we had stayed in many 2-3 star hotels and wanted to finish on a high.
We arrived by train at Santa Margarita and the taxi to Portofino was e35, just beside the taxi rank we saw a bus and the fare was e6 for two persons......easy!
We rode the bus to the final destination (20 mins), the bus did not stop at the hotel as we passed it on the way in, BUT if you stop at the church bus stop about 250 meters from Portifino there is a walkway that will take you back to the hotel above the dangerous and narrow road back to the hotel.
Arrival at the hotel was low key, we were glanced at and our passports demanded, I think this was because the staff did not speak english to a level where they were comfortably conversant.
We were shown to the room we booked and offered a ocean view upgrade (e50), as we loved the initial room we didn't take the upgrade although it offered great ocean views.
This hotel is GREAT and has access to an amazing private crystal clear beach, super yachts pass as you drink wine, really, really a special area.
Rooms are modern, and have everything except an iron but have not seen one in Italy yet. Breakfast was fabulous, loved it and the reception staff warmed up when I checked out, they wisely pointed out that New Zealand had no good tennis players for Roland Garros, I agreed but pointed out that Italy only managed a drawn against NZ in the Football World Cup.
SUGGESTION: On a guest arrival make them aware of the great facilties the hotel has to offer-beach-restaurant-or anything else.....you will make more money!
BTW: Hotel is below the Splendido so really is the next best thing in our opinion!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Socialbuttefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Socialbuttefly, we appreciate a lot the time our guest spend to leave the hotel their comments and suggestions. It's a real pleasure that you chose our Domina Home Piccolo as the highlight of your Italian trip, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guests again in the future.

Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    198
    64
    28
    13
See reviews for
113
404
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I treated ourselves to two nights here on the way down to Tuscany.

We had a sea facing room which had a wonderful view and we found the traffic was minimal during the night so you could open the windows and go to sleep listening to the sea lapping the beach.

Good selection for breakfast as you'd expect and we enjoyed our evening meal in the hotel restaurant, in fact almost reasonable considering it's Portofino and the type of hotel it is.

It was a real pleasure to stroll over to one of the loungers on the beach opposite although on the last day it seemed like we were followed around by a gardener with a noisy leaf blower - what's the point of those machines?

But all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: having a room looking out on the Mediterranean is surely the whole point of staying here - you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear SteveStead, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Domina Home Piccolo. Thank you for the time to leave us your comment that help us to improve our service. The pleasure and the relax of our clients is very important to us.
We’ll be happy to welcome you back again in our hotel in the future.

Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel! We stayed here for our honeymoon. A good short walk to Portofino. we had a deluxe room on the first floor, noisy from the street and the staff who smoked downstairs prevented us for from having the window open to enjoy the beautiful view.

Breakfast was great and the service was also excellent. Overall a lovely new hotel to stay.Nothing special. It's roughly a 30 minute walk flat out to Santa Margharetia, or $40 euro in a cab.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Carl S, we’d like to thank you for having chosen the Domina Home Piccolo to stay for Honeymoon. We appreciate our guests’ comments as they help us to improve our service and meet customers’ needs and expectations. We wish you all the happiness in the world and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The views from our terrace were sublime, the private beach a stones throw away from the hotel - which was pretty special - and great service. It's only a 5 min walk to the harbour and Portofino itself is gorgeous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear suzic128, thank you so much for speaking highly of the hotel. We agree with you that Portofino is a marvellous place to stay and we are lucky to be there. We are very glad to offer our guests the best service that they deserve. We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcome you back again at the Domina Home Piccolo.
Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a wonderful couple of nights at the Domina Home Piccolo. The view from the (seaward facing room) was sublime, the bed was comfy, the room was clean and spacious (for European standards) and the breakfasts were excellent. You should know that the rooms with water views are also over the street, so you'll probably hear a bit of traffic, but we didn't find it too noisy.

The staff was very nice and all multi-lingual. They were very willing to answer questions but not particularly forthcoming in sharing general information about hours of operation or WiFi access. It wasn't a huge problem, but just know that you'll have to ask a lot of questions if you want to find out how to get around, log-on or know when breakfast is served. Otherwise, enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfbrutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Richard M, thank you very much for your positive comment on the Domina Home Piccolo hotel. It is greatly appreciated, as your feedback helps us improve our service to meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Domina Home Piccolo.
Kind regards,
Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend stay at Portofino including two nights at the Hotel Domina Home Piccola. Our room was very recently decorated, cleanm bright and with lots of space and the most fantastic voew (room 208). We ate breakfast and one evening meal and found the quality of food and service very good. The evening meal was very good value.
This is a great hotel from which to explore Portofino, it's an easy 5 minute stroll to the Portofino piazetta.

Room Tip: Definitely choose sea facing and enjoy the view. We stayed in room 208 and loved it! You overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Mr. Richard S.,
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Many thanks for finding the time to leave us a great comment. We’ll be very pleased to welcome you again at the Domina Home Piccolo.

Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We booked a sea facing room. It was fantastic. Most beautiful view. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Food is good.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominaHome, Direttore at Hotel Piccolo Portofino, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Anien,
we really appreciate your positive comment on Your stay with us. It's very important for us to provide our clients with the best service and to know that we have achieved in it. We look forward to having You again as one of our clients.
Best regards,

Roberto Tiraboschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
190 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Portofino

Property: Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Address: Via Duca Degli Abruzzi 31, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccolo Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piccolo Portofino is located in a privileged position, set on the slopes that characterize this exclusive stretch of the Ligurian coast overlooking the Gulf of Tigullio. During the sixties this location became very famous thanks to the protagonists of the star system, the nobles and aristocrats began to populate this fascinating locality to enjoy its exclusive parties and its fantastic scenery. The town of Portofino has remained unchanged all over the times, beautiful to live and to see as well. Hotel Piccolo Portofino, surrounded by the typical luxuriant vegetation of the Liguria Riviera, among the crystal clear water of Portofino and the blue sky, is a piece of art of the reception, unique of its kind. A hidden jewel, that has to be searched end discovered. Obtained from a refined period villa, today it is a boutique hotel, and from its generous terraces a breathtaking view onto this exclusive stretch of coast can be enjoyed. Inside, the contemporary design plays on strong contrasts, with combinations of marbles in white and black, and red velvets, crystals and soft fabrics. The set offers sensations of a refined, exclusive equilibrium and a romantic intimacy. Feelings that find their highest expression in the only 23 rooms of the hotel. Here, among all the comforts suited to the modern traveler, the contrasts are reduced, giving way to the softness of pastel tones, the whiteness of beds and enveloping pillows, to the transparency of the curtains behind which the gaze is lost onto the renowned beauty of this location to emphasize the stunning surrounding landscape A superb touch of exclusivity is added since this year to the range of services which Hotel Portofino is proud to dedicate to its guests. Just five minutes from the Hotel there is the legendary Piazzetta of Portofino, for a walk, a coffee or for a moment of pure relax . Or for shopping in the renowned brand stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Piccolo Hotel Portofino
Domina Hotel Piccolo
Domina Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing