We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were in Room 10 of the Nazionale. It is a large suite with a sitting area, mini-fridge, table for 4 and queen sized bed. The bathroom was pretty spacious with all the needs you could need in it's all tiled design. This Queen of Hotels is an old fashioned friend. All your needs are met well albeit in an old fashioned way, A curtain separates the sleeping area from the living area. The bed is old but the mattress is not. The front desk is helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Here's the catch- you have your own space on The piazza of the Portofino harbor. Sip your cocktails and watch the parade as the sun sets over the harbor and the castle becomes a handy prop for the rising moon.Use room service for your wake up treat. They set the table from the outside. In the morning have your breakfast here, watching the town prepare for the hundreds of tourists. You get the best of Portofino here- before and after the hubbub of the visiting day tourists.

Room Tip: Room 10 and 11 are on the ground floor on the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Albergo Nazionale is a great location. We had room 20, no views there except of the alley and somebodys laundry/rooftop. The room itself was large enough to spend a week or more (we were there 3 nights). Very expensive even off season, but most places in that area are pricey. Breakfast is nothing special - only yogurt, bread and coffee/juice. The shower had incredible water pressure but the towels were sandpaper - never had towels so stiff, haha. Very clean and quiet, no complaints there. Some of the staff was very helpful, Nicholas in particular told us about San Fruttuoso (accessible by water taxi not car) and since we really had no plans after Castle Brown we spent 1/2 of the next day on the beach in front of the monastery. I was happy as a clam picking up sea glass and then we ate clams at Ristorante Giorgio!

Room Tip: I read in other reviews that you don't want the first floor. We had rm 20, no views but good ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oppsadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nazionale is a small, cosy and charming hotel perfectly located at the center of Portofino. The rooms are large enough for two persons and very clean. Our room was made twice a day, wich was quite impressive. Few rooms have view to the plaza and to the port but we were not so lucky to be in a such room. The staff is very gentle and helpful. Breakfast is more than satisfactory and the croissants are fresh and delicious. The hotel is a bit noisy as the building is old (normal, given the location) and we could hear the noises from the neighboring rooms, but there wasn't a reason to complain. Last but not least, it is a rather expensive hotel, as everything in Portofino, by the way. Anyhow, we had a great stay in this charming place and would be happy to return here one day.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Stanislav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We where in Genoa and same friends recomand us to go in Portofino for the week end. We arrived by train in Santoa Maegherita Portofino by train, opposite the station we catch the bus to Portofino. We look around for an hotel and we try Hotel Nazionale. Surprise very small hotel but very sweet. A fantastic room looking the lifly square of Portofino. Gently staff and surprise in the surpise a super resturant with frsh fish Fished by Stefano son of the howner Nicola.

Room Tip: ask of the room front sea at the first floor directly to the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cibi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is worth 4 stars and I will be staying here again. I will start with the cons and they are outweighed by the pros.
Cons - overall hotel is a bit dated but not offensive. Sort of suits the area. Bathroom was cramped.
Pros - the staff were brilliant. Excellent customer service which made the stay. Room 20 was large, it had it's own sitting room (this was considered a standard room - could fit 3-4 people) although this did not have the best view. Breakfast (included) was a continental and was of generous proportions. You cannot beat the location of this hotel as it is situated in the middle of the Portofino port. Staff showed us one of the sea view suites and you will definitely not be disappointed if you chose this room!
Would highly recommend as long as you are not expecting the brass, glass & marble.

Room Tip: If you are choosing the standard option, Room 20 was very large. Had 1 king bed and a fold out couch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MPP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

You cannot get a better location than here. you are steps from the harbor with views toward the water, boats & castle. The room was large and efficient - very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was traditional in a very comfortable patio. Great restaurants near by and plenty of easy walks to take near by.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (one story up) facing the harbor - a perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussZink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

In the best location , in the heart of portofino..Actually the view of the rooms from the balcony gets you another world when you open the windows..It is a small bouitique hotel with very helpfull staff..The rooms are very big, and two floored rooms are very boutique.. You can feel the comfortable sides of this boutique hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ckorayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
2.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Address: Vico Dritto 3, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: £168 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino: the little piazza with its quaint features, the sheer cliffs above an emerald sea, but devoid of sandy beaches. In the heart of these surroundings stands the ALBERGO NAZIONALE. Here you will enjoy occupying one of the 12 double rooms ncorporating bath, mini-bar, telephone, TV, central heating and/or air conditioning; in short, everything to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. You may also be fortunate enough to occupy a room offering a splendid view of the harbour.Breakfast is provided; the hotel is served by the Restaurant "da Nicola", in which is possible to order a la carte the best specialties of the Ligurian cooking based on fish and superior quality ingredients. Lunch and dinner can also be taken in any one of the many well-known restaurants encircling the piazza.Family management by the proprietors dates back to the early 1900's and their experience ensures an atmosphere of friendly and unpretentious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Portofino
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing