We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eight Hotel Portofino
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2005

This is the third time I stayed at the Hotel San Giorgio, and it has become one of my favorite hotels in Italy. Each room is a different size - standard rooms tend to be small- but are all very well-equipped with great mattresses, linen sheets, plush slippers and robes, lots of local stone(slate) in the bathrooms and nice toiletries. Great breakfast with focaccia as well as warm croissants, fresh fruit, cereal, etc, and excellent cappuccino. There are no sea views as it is up the street from the port, but it is quiet and a 2 minute walk to everything, including the 1 euro bus to Santa Margherita! But the best thing of all about this hotel is the wonderful staff that is welcoming, helpful, friendly - it feels like a home rather than a hotel. They will assist you with restaurant recommendations & reservations, park your car, carry your luggage, and while the hotel does not have a restaurant per se, it does offer a limited menu, and they can always make a delicious plate of risotto at dinner. I arrived late after a long journey and they whisked me to my room and offered to bring me something to eat in the room with a glass of wine. They essentially offer 24 hour room service - this is the kind of coddling that is hard to find and it's all done with a smile. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
21  Thank soxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Eight Hotel Portofino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2005

We stayed just one night before boarding our charter but the hotel & Portofino were just lovely and we hope to go back soon to stay longer.

The hotel was ideally located, a short walk to shops & the waterfront. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a nice bed & private bathroom. There's a pull-string in the shower; it alerts the front desk in case you fall or have some emergency (I didn't realize this; thankfully the front desk was understanding).

Although we didn't use them, there was a television, internet access and other amenities.

They have a sunny breakfast room. The lack of lunch/dinner accomodations didn't bother us at all as we enjoyed venturing into local establishments.

That staff was friendly and helpful.

All in all, a good value and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PortlandORGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2005

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in July and we were very happy with our decision for the hotel. Our travel agent italiagastronomica suggested it to us and we were very grateful. We heard so much about overpriced small rooms in the hotels of Portofino so we decided to go for a newly built hotel. The rooms are spacious (huge if you get a Superior) and the bathrooms are just marvelous. It has all possible modern amenities (including e-mail access on your TV set) and prices are not as steep as with some of its neighbors. Guess it was not awarded 5 stars because it lacks a proper restaurant (has just a breakfast room) and a swimming pool, apart from that it's an excellent boutique hotel.

Stayed: July 2005
24  Thank Mob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alexey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre spacieuses, agréables et bien meublées. Top
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Harleybraut2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
2.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: £355 - £830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing