We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Hotel if you like 660 Euro per night in the attic with a”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eight Hotel Portofino
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2007

A room in the attic with a shower I had to kneel in and hold the wand with no place to mount it. No view and no deck and everything very tight and 660 Euro which was around $1000 US at the time. Sorry just not good enough. Also to get extra blankets at night found no answer at the desk and to get the wi-fi needed a visit to the desk also even though it was available, you had to go down at 11pm to the desk to sign up for it and pay or charge the 10 Euro per day and make the big signature deal before you could get connected. Silly when you could simply do it on line.
Biggest problem was small tight room with way too big a price tag. I paid 5000 Euro per night at the Splendido for three nights before staying here but could not extend as they had a full house and that might have had something to do with my disatisfaction but I will let you be the judge. Never again San Giorgio. You have received your last Euro from me. You are too tight in every way.
B
PS
Very Comfy Bed.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank breffnicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2007

We booked a two-night package at this lovely hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary and found it perfect. The rooms are comfortable and well-equipped. We were upgraded to a junior suite and had a reasonable view of the harbour. The hotel staff were helpful and made everything easy - from parking the car to finding a harbourside table for dinner. The hotel is a two-minute walk from the harbour. Portofino is a small but extremely pleasant place to stay with short walks to the nearby lighthouse and other points, as well as lots of people and scenery to observe. It is also a very easy bus ride to nearby Sta. Margherita, where you can get a 6-minute train ride to the captivating seaside town of Camogli, or the other way to Cinque de Terre. Portofino has a number of very good restaurants - a highlight for us was O Magazin. A dinner at Splendido de Mare was included in our package but it was not as good and much much more expensive than O Magazin, although certainly made for good people watching.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JLDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our trip to the area to celebrate our 21st Wedding Anniversary and really enjoyed our stay in a superior room at a cost of 420 euros per night. This had a canopied bed and small sitting area with sofa - what would be termed a 'junior suite' at other properties! (We are not cheapskates but are so not prepared to pay the Splendido prices!) Located on a little side street just up from the harbour - not much of a 'hike' at all for us! No, there are no views from the rooms (shutters are partly closed all of the time to hide the pretty basic street scenes) but you are basically paying a third of the cost of one of the 'grand' hotels in Portofino. The fittings are very high quality, plasma tv, fresh fruit in the room replenished daily, nice toiletries - and relaxing candle - in bathroom, small arrangements of flowers in the rooms, an American bar downstairs and nice helpful staff who can provide ferry schedules etc. at reception. The only reason we didn't stay longer was due to the lack of outdoor space - if the Hotel had a roof terrace or any type of garden / sundeck at all it would be ideal as the weather was beautiful while we were there.
Portofino itself is smaller than we imagined and with not such a great selection of 'non touristy' bars and restaurants but is very pretty and we also enjoyed our day trip to Santa Marguerita by ferry.
All in all very good quality for the money in an expensive area - recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank newboldbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

then stay here. No views but otherwise flawless. 2 min walk to center. Room, staff, breakfast were all great. We kept some odd hours and they fully accommodated us. Didn't feel cheap at E320 but suspect you won't do much better right in Portofino.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank barow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Not wanting to blow-out and stay at the Splendido's, yet still used to luxury, we're glad we chose this charming hotel. It is in a great location only about 250m walk to Portofino Harbour. Although it has no views, having a base in this beautiful port is more valuable. Our room (70) was large (est about +30sqm) and had a juliette balcony. All the decorations and amentiites of a 5 star hotel room and fresh and light as the website shows. The staff were attentive and able to help with all local tips etc. Breakfast was great with a wide selection. At about a third the cost of the Splendido's, this was definitely the right choice and having now seen the few other hotels in town this would be our choice again. We had dinner at the Splendido Mare which was great food and service. We also had dinner at the Splendido which although beautifully located, was shabby on the service side. They tried to rush our meals at us so they could resell the table and when we asked to for a 20 minute wait between entree and main, we were virtually ignored for the rest of the night.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dppsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

Great hotel. Modern, airey and very quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Justifies its recommendation as one of the 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World'.
Do make time to walk up to Castello Brown. The view is fantastic and the interior is fascinating. The 'must not miss' restaurant is 'O' Magazin on the left hand side of the harbour - you must book. The 'MUST miss' restaurant is Delfino on the corner of the harbour - food ordinary, service offhand, lighting lousy, and expensive.

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank Ronwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

This hotel shows a real pride of ownership. The rooms are modern and are a good choice for the tech savey traveler. Rooms have flat screen TVs and internet access. They are nicely equiped with lots of closet space, towel warmers and fine linens. The breakfast includes a nice assortment of fruit, yogurt, breakfast rolls and juices. Elevators here are small even by italian standards so if this bothers you stay on one of the lower floors and take the stairs. We would defintely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2006
9  Thank birdhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 6 in Portofino
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 6 in Portofino
186 reviews
2.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: £413 - £832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing