We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive Chic Hotel with not much going for it except a Portofino address” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eight Hotel Portofino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eight Hotel Portofino
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive Chic Hotel with not much going for it except a Portofino address”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Was supposed to stay at sister hotel located on the water just outside of Portofino; however, eventhough, we had confirmed reservations the sister hotel decided to close early for the season and we were redirected to the San Giorgio (Hotel 8) for our two night stay. Although they apparently notified us by email we did not receive the email and was unaware of the change until we arrived at the sister hotel.

The San Giorgio is chic and trendy and located up the hill from the Portofino shopping area. It has no views and construction going on around it.

Overall the hotel is okay, but I do not believe it is worth the expense of 400 plus Euro per night. As another review said, if you want to see Portofino you could easily do it from Santa Margherita Ligure and stay at one of the grander and less expensive hotels there. We have done this before and had a far better experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    58
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
163
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

it seems this hotel is still called san giorgio eventhough it is now called hotel 8 ,
even my car's gps new it since it could not recognize the old name. i requested a triple room and a few days before i was informed they would give me two adjacent double rooms and honor the price of the triple since it would not be available during my dates. breakfast was very decent with great cappucinos and croissants. there was no internet signal in both of my rooms and the only place wifi was available was inthe lobby therefore they agreed not to charge the 10euros daily. overall it seems with the new name there is a new inexperienced management and personell. the hotel was totally understaffed just making every request very hard to get. great location walking distance to the port. parking was available.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcp04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We had a very good stay but must highlight the inflexibility and rudeness of management when wanting to check out earlier than planned. What a pity as it left a truly bad taste in our mouths.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Having had 3 nights at the Domina Inn , I wondered how the San Giorgio would fare. I need not have worried...though a little off the beaten track the room was fantastically furnished with high quality threads..Bathroom huge and also we had a balcony.
The outside Garden with chill out area was great with a jacuzzi, hammocks and sun beds....
One downside was breakfast served in the garden at breakfast time, the selection was not that great although many insects seemed to be enjoying the fruit and the wasps were particularly fond of the croissants.........Would have preffered an in door area with no winged beasts..However overall , lovely quiet and chic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here for one night in September, 2009. The staff were very friendly, the room was absolutely excellent with a huge bathroom/wet-room and the breakfast on the roof garden was lovely. Excellent place to stay in Portofino. We didn't eat dinner here so cannot rate the food but can recommend the hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Portofino is expensive and exclusive, so any review of a hotel there has to be contexted around this. The San Giorgi hotel is (in our view) simply the nicest place to stay in this charming location. Yes it is expensive, and yes the rooms are small (much, much smaller than they appear on the photos) BUT everything is QUALITY. Decor is a good mix of contemporary and local, location is fantastic and the breakfast on the terrace was always a favourite part of our day. Staff were helpfull but not intrusive, housekeeping came twice a day and the fruit bowl in the room was constantly replenished.
We had a Junior Suite, and you would not want anything smaller. Manage down your expectations around value for money (this just does not exist), accept that everything is expensive and simply enjoy the great ambience of the hotel and Portofino.
For us, the memories of a wonderful time, in an achingly beatiful town, at a charming, first class hotel will last far longer than the sting of the credit card statement.
We highly recommend this hotel, and the whole Portofino experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBHK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

LOCATION: Good location. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to/from the port. Portofino is a tiny city, so any location is pretty good. The hotel is just steps from the bus stop that takes you to/from Santa Margherita Train Station.

ROOM: Room size was adequate. Bathroom and amenities are good.

STAFF: Very friendly staff.

HOTEL: Hotel is very modern and clean. Small and cozy.

CITY: Portofino is a postcard perfect city. You can see it easily in a day. We spent our extra day with a trip to Cinque Terre, which is filled with tourists, but a must see. Portofino itself is very relaxing and quiet, especially if there are not too many tourists.

FOOD/DINING: Hotel breakfast was included in our rate. The breakfast was good and filling. Great cappuccino! Eating out in Portofino is very pricy, probably because of the town being so small and seemingly touristy. However, the seafood and pasta is very very good. Go ahead and indulge! Try Ristorante Puny, excellent!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dal-n-lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Property: Eight Hotel Portofino
Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing