We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Tre Mari Portofino
Ranked #1 of 1 Portofino B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

First, to find it: There's an arch next to the Caribinieri Station on Via Fondaco with access to a block of flats. Ring buzzer, go through and out the back, turn right then take the 175 steps up. Pack light as it's a fair old climb!

To achieve such a view you've got to go up so the 175 steps won't be for every visitor but once at the top the view and house are beautiful. There's no parking at the property or car access, parking is in the one multi-storey charged at €21/day (July 2013). Perched on a steep cliff with terraced gardens of flowers, lawns and fruit / vegetable / herb patches the place is lovely. The period house has high ceilings in the bedrooms with a ceiling mounted fan but no air conditioning and a mosquito net for the very comfortable large bed, large windows (in our room) gave a sideways view of the Harbour and opposing hillside. Our host and matriarch of the home was extremely welcoming and, on the second night, provided drinks on the terrace and delicious local canapes prepared by herself at no additional cost with produce from her garden. Breakfast also had homemade tarts / cakes, pastries and good coffee. The views are stunning from the garden. There's very little accommodation in Portofino and it comes at a massive premium. We paid €170/night for July 2013 which only makes sense when you compare it online to the other options in the 'village'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyLWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have never stayed in a more perfect B&B. Everyone involved is delightful, the rooms, the views and even the journey up (50 steps through planted terraces) to the B&B are amazing. Portofino is lovely and there are stunning, well sign posted walks to local monasteries, Sta Margerita and around (all worth exploring).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnaby5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed there just one night but unfortunately, it was rainning hard when we arrived and it was quite impossible to find the entrance (which was just aside the "carabinieri" office).
Once we finally figured out how to enter the B and B (completely wet), the welcoming was pretty shy, disapointing us a little bit...
Concerning the room, we found it old fashionned but clean and confortable, just as the bathroom. The view from our room and more generally from all the windows and the garden was just outstanding, it's really the first quality of the BB Tre Mari.
The breakfast was very simple, of average quality, absolutely not unforgivable...

Finally it was a pretty good place, expensive for the accomodation (but Portofino is Portofino...), which is worth going for the wonderful view on the bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This B & B is difficult to find from the road. I asked a few local store owners but none new about Tre Mari. If is new this year...previously private residence. After walking to top of hill on wrong path, I finally found the CORRECT 150 steps. The adventure was well worth the effort. The lounge chairs on green manicured lawn overlooking Portofino harbor was heavenly. The owner was not here this weekend but caretaker / cook / innkeeper was helpful and courteous. After the walk I needed water and a glass of wine. He met every need.

I highly recomend. I will bring my wife to Tre Nari next time on business in Torino.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Wow. A simple word for a place with such a big impact. This bed and breakfast is one of the best places I have ever stayed, above and beyond the 5 star 'luxury' places i've been to. Tre Mari has character, warmth, serenity and a view to die for. The only down side (and to me it was a major plus after all that amazing pasta) is the hike up to the property from Portofino. There are about 150 stone steps you have to climb to reach the top so if you're less able bodied, it's not for you. However if you love to walk and like to exercise then this is actually really fun and makes it all the more special. How else can you get those amazing views? Niro was our host and he was so kind and attentive. He carried our bags up and made an incredible breakfast each morning. On the last day the lady owner had made a yoghurt cake which was wrapped up for us to take away when we left. It was one of the best cakes ever! The beds were insanely comfy and the bathroom was huge! Beautifully decorated with antique furniture and glamorous 1970's italian furniture. One of my favourite experiences was eating breakfast with a view of heaven below. Honestly could not recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livi_6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I strongly recommend this B&B if you are looking for an affordable place to stay in Portofino. Breakfast was really good, comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms and amazing and quiet view over Portofino bay. It's not easy to access it and it's worth it while there. The owner?!? Wooowww...she is fantastic!! Service? excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed two nights in one of only three rooms at this charming B&B. It is small, secluded and offers fantastic views as it is located high up on a hill behind (but still in) Portofino. It was not easy to find and the steep walk up was rather gruelling in the heat and with suitcases, but once we got settled we were fine.

There are two bathrooms which are shared between all three rooms. One was much larger and brighter than the other, but both were clean and were stocked with really beautiful handwash, shower gel and room spray.

Our room was of a good size, was very clean and was tastefully furnished in a typically Italian/mediterranean way. I noticed there was heating (which of course we didn't need in August) but there is no airconditioning. We thought this may be a problem but we slept well due to the effective ceiling fan in the room.

Portofino is expensive and then some! But this B&B offers value for money and an affordable stay in a town that otherwise prices out many people. The view really is astonishing and the owner, the charming Signora Augusta, was very accommodating. She invited us on our second evening to join her for aperitivo (pre-dinner drinks and snacks) and spoiled us with lots of sparkling wine and lovely food. Really delicious.

I highly recommended this B&B to anyone who'd like to stay in Portofino but thinks accommodation there is too expensive. This little gem of a place is the answer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou80London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tre Mari Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tre Mari Portofino

Property: B&B Tre Mari Portofino
Address: Via del Fondaco 1 | Localita Castagneto, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Tre Mari – Portofino" B&B is a country house in typical Ligurian colours, located on the first hills of the Portofino promontory, surrounded by 4.000sqm of protected green. You can reach it walking from the "borgo" thanks to a stairway which leads you from the famous "piazzetta" to the hill.All the rooms have a superb view over the "piazzetta", the terrace overlooking the borgo is perfect for sipping an aperitivo surrounded by the warm colours of the sunset and cradled by the sound of the sea."Tre Mari – Portofino" B&B is perfect not only for those who would like to visit the Gulf of Tigullio and its Pearl but also for those who would like to have a walk among the coastal tracks surrounded by the green of the protected park or for those who prefer to plunge into the crystal clear waters of its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Tre Mari Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing