We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
77
89
15
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
89
15
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan railway station first floor roof terrace hot water great location cinque terre wifi portofino boat sea
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The reception staff are very attentive and happy to help with *anything* and we had some nice chats with a whole array of their staff.

The breakfast was a continental buffet, plenty enough to satisfy us and not over the top. It’s close to the station, the beach, and all other towns (access via walking if you’re feeling up to it or via buses and trains) - as mentioned earlier, the staff are happy to help with any transport queries. The room is satisfying enough, when you’re exploring the area, all you need is a bed. Large enough to move around and be comfortable.

Thanks!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gooddaytoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

A short walk from the train station and very close to the main town and sea front. The room was large although a bit dated; the mattress was a little bit challenging. The staff at the reception desk were quite friendly and anxious to be helpful. The restaurant that they recommended for dinner was excellent! The breakfast was very nice.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Having booked this hotel because of available parking and free wifi I arrived to find that the parking was in fact on street parking and the wifi was not working. Having travelled all day to get there and after repeated attempts by the receptionist to help me connect to the wifi (unsuccessfully), I made an offhand comment 'what a nightmare', then decided to give up and go for a stroll around the town.

Upon returning to the hotel at 11pm, there was a burly man waiting for us who informed us that we were no longer allowed to stay at the hotel. We had to immediately leave the hotel at 11pm in the evening with no where to go. He made a comment around 'we don't want people who think our hotel is a nightmare'. We immediately packed our bags and left as we felt very threatened by this man.

This completely ruined our holiday. We had nowhere to go, nowhere to charge our phones so we had to drive to the next town to find somewhere to stay therefore missing the monastery, which was the one reason we had decided to stop in Rapallo.

Having been fortunate enough to travel a lot in my life, I have never experienced treatment like this. As a customer here you cannot even complain about the wifi not working without being treated like a criminal. I booked through booking.com (who sided with the hotel and said that as we hadn't stayed at the hotel they couldn't consider our complaint) so could not leave a bad review about this place.

This is the most traumatic hotel experience I've ever had so please avoid but if you do decide to stay here, watch what you say, definitely don't say what you think or speak loudly enough for any of the staff to overhear you.

Room tip: Don't stay is the best tip I can give you!
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jojo3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro G, Proprietario at Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear guest,
we are sorry to read this comment about our Hotel.
As written on Booking, Tripadvisor or our Website, we don’t have any parking. Of course we can support you giving information about the available public parking areas. We can give you an authotrization to park on resident’s parking as well – as we did.
We have 4 boxes Internet to make sure that every guest can dispose a good connexion to internet - fiber optic connection ! We supported you in that and you were connected – it was enough to add the password that is the same in all the connections.
Said that you declared us that our Hotel is a nightmare –to nobody (never) is allowed to insult us in that way – and offend all the effort we spend every day to accomodate all and improve day by day our hotel - any guest give us this type of feedback are pleased to exit from our hotel, as we gently suggested for you – without paying anything. Indeed you forget to say that you didn’t pay the room - so you never stayed at our hotel. This is the reason why your review is frankly not respondent to anything about the hotel.
We never host people with this terrible approach – and we’ll never, simply because it is not acceptable to receive such offensive free sentences.
Have a great day,
Hotel Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The owner of this hotel is very accommodating, giving advice and suggestions to allow you to get the best out of your stay. Perfect location to get the boat trips to Portofino and neighbouring harbours. Comfortable room for the money and a good continental breakfast. Excellent value for money.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerian1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We don't normally stay in 2 star hotels but Italy is expensive and the reviews are so good. Alessandro rang me to make the booking for 3 nights and arranged a airport transfer at at an exceptional price. Alessandro and Valentine are very friendly and helpful staff, they recommended restaurants, trips, everything. The hotel is basic but very clean. Shower is small but pressure good and hot water. Bed very comfortable. A huge thank you to Alessandro and Valentine for being so kind and helpful, your kindness has played a large part of our trip being happy and successful.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Denise_smitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews