We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with wonderful vies and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed fro 7 nights from 18th May in a sea view room with balcony. The room was comfortable and housekeeping of a high standard. The location was perfect, a short walk into Rapallo. The bar and restaurant were well appointed and the food delicious. We enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pools and had a nice massage in the spa. My wife had a small problem with the heated bed causing a slight burn. the only downsides were the endless piped music on loop and the standard of the shower in room 320. A 5 star hotel should not have shower curtains and poor water pressure with inconsistent temperature. All in all a good experience and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with shower curtains.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdcboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Please let us thank you for writing your comments on the occasion of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience of being our Guest during your stay.
Furthermore, we would like to inform you that we have taken good note about your remarks as your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week in early May. The staff were excellent and offered us another room when we did not get a good night's sleep . Staff could not switch on the air-con yet but we found it very warm and opening the balcony doors meant a lot of traffic noise. We moved to a much cooler and quieter room at the back of the hotel but still had a beautiful view of the marina, the hills and the town. We had a double deluxe room which was lovely but when we viewed some alternatives to our first room there was quite a variation in quality. The breakfast was fairly basic and repetitive but adequate. It would have been nice to have something freshly cooked though you could order an omelette or a boiled egg. We had dinner here twice which was very expensive and not really great for a five star hotel. A sandwich by the pool at the beach club was also poor and very expensive. All around the hotel, the gardens and views were superb, staff friendly and provision of towels, services, etc was great. The location ensured these wonderful views but it was quite a hike back up to the hotel from the town. A courtesy bus or golf cart would have been great!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very warm as they get sun all day. They are also noisy from traffic. We foun...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetotravel664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your recent seven night stays at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the deluxe room offered you in alternative to the room booked, with a beautiful view on the Rapallo harbour.
Furthermore, we are sorry you did not fully enjoy our Buffet Breakfast, as we have lot of choice also from local specialities, low calories products and also food intolerant pastries.
We read that you had dinner at our Lord Byron Restaurant and a quick lunch at our Bar, we inform you that the quality of our meals is always in respect of a 5 star luxury hotel standards.
Finally, we are more than delighted to see that you appreciated the position of the property and its view and we take good note about all your suggestions and remarks in order to better understand our Clients' needs.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

There are very few rough edges at the Excelsior. The place is immaculate and rooms are well appointed, some with a sea view. The lobby area is large, although on a single floor with no central staircase, which robs it of an element of grandeur. There are still plenty of areas to retreat to and read a book or enjoy a drink. Our deal included access to the Beach Club, which has a wonderful panaoramic pool overlooking the sea. There is a small sauna and steam room in a downstairs area, along with a very small indoor pool.
We had a great meal in the Lord Byron restaurant, again with a good view over Rapallo harbour.
Prices are equivalent to a five star London hotel, so not cheap but you felt you were getting what you paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it is stunning and will really enhance your stay.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comment written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay appreciating above all our lobby, the Beach Club area with the infinity pool and also your meal in the Lord Byron Restaurant.

Hoping to welcome you back again in Rapallo, we thank you for your attention and we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

A fantastic hotel in a beautiful part of Italy. Well worth the trip from Milano. Views to die for, one road to possibly die because of, but all in all magnificent

Room Tip: Get a balcony - we didn't and it would have been nice
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Perdsonally I do no think this hotel deserve 5 star, maybe in the old times !
Rooms are good size, however the furniture & upholster very old and tired. Bathroom in desperate need of a refurbishment ! I can't believe that a 5 star hotel can offer a dirty curtain as for a shower box ??? I was also shocked by the pedestrian entrance...on a busy turn of a road where cars speed down to the town, with no pedestrian crossing !!! Simply unacceptable ! When I asked explanation to the reception, they suggested to walk to the next pedestrian crossing few hundred yards away...shame that there is no pavement where to walk !
I had dinner and lunch at the restaurant and I was embraced in front of guests coming from all over the world, food was really poor quality! Breakfast probably the best option.
Positives notes : a wonderful view, lovely infinity pool and decent indoor pool. Small gym is also a benefit. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weddinginrome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time of written your review about your stay with us on the occasion of an event in our hotel you attended together with other participants.
First of all we would like to inform you that in Italy hotel ratings are determined by a national institution after a full property inspection and they are verified each year.
Furthermore, concerning the comments on rooms, as we do not know to what rooms the may refer to apart from the one assigned to you, we can only inform you that the room you stayed in is included in the number of rooms which will be refurbished in the not too distant future. For your information, every year renovation works are regularly planned to keep the property up-to-date.
With regard to the crossing of the road, the blame of its dangerousness can’t be put on the hotel property, we have also contacted local authorities for a solution, even though an improvement cannot be immediate. Normally, Guests follow the same suggestion you received from the Reception Staff in order for them to feel safe and it generally works.
Additionally, as for your remarks about the quality of food, we are sorry you did not like the menus chosen by the event organizers and feel that your opinions might have been expressed in a more polite way. We wish to inform you that we received positive formal comments from other participants both about service and quality, therefore we are sorry for your personal negative experience.
Finally, we thank you for finding at least a few positive notes which we strongly believe are not the only ones as many other reviews lucklly show.

Best regards,
Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have just returned from a short stay at this lovely hotel. The views over the coast are beautiful,
we had a room with a view over the sea with a small balcony and we loved just looking out at the view. The room wasn't huge but it was well appointed and housekeeping was excellent. I had a medical problem whilst there and the staff were very helpful and did everything they could to sort my problems.They obtained a wheelchair for me, contacted the airline for assistance for me and never made me feel I was a problem. We will definitely return and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, its beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guests during your stay in Rapallo appreciatingabove all the views, also from your room.
We still are awfully sorry about what happened to you during your stay and we hope that now you feel better, please note that we passed your appreciated thanks to our Staff.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in November and it was wonderful. The hotel was almost empty and they upgraded us to a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean, In the winter it was a great value. We felt like we were royalty. The location is just beautiful over looking the water and local marina. It is just a short walk to Rapallo and you can take the train to other town including Cinque Terre. Food was fantastic and they had a true breakfast buffet each day included in our room price. Service was excellent and staff extremely friendly. Can't wait to return one day!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherriP1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all we thank you for your precious comments on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior Palace last November.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and its position, Rapallo is really a very strategic town near Potofino and the Cinque Terre.
Furthermore, we are happy to hear that you appreciated your seasview room with balcony, the Buffet Breakfast at our Restaurant and, not least, our Staff service.

We thank you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you again one day, we send you our best regards from a sunny Rapallo.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £99 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing