We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Liguria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Liguria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in this fantastic hotel for 8 days. The view from our room was breathtaking. The room is well equiped, the staff is friendly and helpful. The food is excellent.
The hotel is about 10 minuteswalk from Rapallo, but be careful, it is on the top of a low hill.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with view to the see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your long stay at the Excelsior last July.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating above all the view from your room as well as our Restaurants and the staff.

We thank you again for your preference in choosing our property hoping to welcoming you back again sooner.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    378
    99
    40
    20
See reviews for
196
737
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We only were able to stay for one night during our honeymoon tour of Europe, but as a stop over goes this was a lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly, and the hotel overall was very classy and luxurious in feel and style. The room we had was of a good size, and the champagne provided to us as a honeymoon gift was most welcome. The view out to the bay was delightful especially at sunrise. Cleanliness and room presentation was very good.

We dined in the restaurant for dinner, and the food was to a good standard if a little pricey. As it was low season when we stayed, the main restaurant was closed and all diners were asked to eat in a section of the bar area, however this was done well and it didn't feel like we were shoved in a back corner. Service in the restaurant was also good.

Notable was that this is one of the few hotels we stayed at in Europe which had a cost for WiFi (which was quite a bit) however other than this, we enjoyed our time at Excelsior.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for your review written on the occasion of your short stay with us during your honeymoon around Europe.
We thank you for your comments about our Staff as well as the room assigned and the gift found at your arrival.
Furthermore, we wish to thank you for your comments about your dinner at the Yachting Bar Veranda, as sometimes during the low season we decide to close the Lord Byron Restaurant when we have only a few rooms occupied.
Finally, we wish to inform you that from the beginning of this year we completely changed our wifi policy as now the wifi connection is free of charge in the common area like looby, main restaurant and main bar and for Guests who book an exclusive room or Junior Suite or Suites.
For Guests who book a classic, superior or deluxe room the cost was cut down to € 5.5 per day.

We thank you again for your comments and we send you our warmest regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a lovely week at this hotel. It is well situated as it is just a five minute walk from Rapallo. Service is excellent and the hotel is clean and well run. We were able to get information readily which meant we were able to get out and about easily. Marina was excellent and went out of her was to make sure we were well informed. My only criticism is that the food and drink are very over priced. This means that there aren't many people in the bar in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be small and most have a balcony. Some balconies are very small especially on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane268_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your week of holiday at the Excelsior last July.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay appreciating above all the position of the hotel as well as our service

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs

Thanking you again for your preference and hoping to welcoming back at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Absolutely the best choice of location and accommodation! Perfect service (special thanks to Antonio and Marina for preparing my wife's b-day surprise cake, flowers and breakfast with prosecco!)! Beach club, fitness, breakfast, lobby bar, Eden Roc lunch, parking - all went perfectly alright! Many thanks again for great attention! Strongly recommended for couples and families! Mille grazie! For joggers: try marina port and slopes to Santa Margherita ;) For eaters: Luca and Rapallo Vecchio :) enjoy...

Room Tip: Sea view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ildarushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice review written on the occasion of your recent holiday at the Excelsior with your family.
We are very pleased to read your satisfaction about the surprises prepared for your wife's birthday, enjoying your stay and appreciating our Beach Club as well as the Health & Fitness Centre.
We also thank you for your comments about the Lord Byron Restaurant for the Buffet Breakfast, the Yachting Bar in the lobby and the Eden Roc & Lounge Restaurant for your lunch.

Finally, we thank you also for your precious suggestions to joggers and eat lovers.

Thanking you again for your attention and hoping to welcoming you sooner again at the Excelsior, we send you our warmest regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
229 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

It's important for hotel in Liguria to have a private beach! Excelsior does have it!!!
Breakfasts are nice. Rooms are big enought and clean. The Beach Club is comfortable and big! The only problem - very poor internet connection in rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.

We are so pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating above all our Beach Club, a plus for our property, with the infinity pool, the Jacuzzis and the floating pool at sea offering a Beach Bar and the Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this property as one of the last stops on our honeymoon. Coming from Santorini and Positano where the service was impeccable I am having mixed feelings about this resort. The hotel and property as a whole is lovely but the service is very average at best and even below considering this is a 5 star hotel.

The hotel itself was lovely, with a very sophisticated feel and clientele. The decor was nice and felt very rich. The beach club was spectacular. It had a great infinity pool and the views of the sea. It is worth spending some time there and relaxing by the sea. The facilities for the beach club were equally wonderful so that afterwards one could take a nice shower in their very clean facilities (they gave you slippers, towel, body wash, shower cap etc.). Overall it definitely was a luxurious hotel. The big negative was no complimentary wi-fi in the rooms, which is surprising because most of Italy grants even free wi-fi in the restaurants. The staff was courteous but were not above and beyond what was expected form a 5-star hotel such as this. They did place prosecco and strawberries for us in our room upon arrival as it was our honeymoon, which was a thoughtful gesture. The breakfast was phenomenal, an enormous spread/buffet in their beautiful restaurant overlooking the sea. One could eat indoors or on their grand terrace. The options were seemingly unlimited as it was a buffet with wonderful choices. Very delicious.

The major deal breaker for us in this hotel was this: We arrived very late the night before and thus were told we could only use the beach club until 12p the day of checkout. This was very disappointing as we arrived late because of a delay in travel and the staff knew we were on our honeymoon and yet still would not be kind enough to make an exception. Also when we did check in one agent told us we could use the beach club all day as we had asked for a late check out and they would not grant us that. He never informed us the beach club access expires upon check out even though we made it very clear that's what we were interested in doing for most of the afternoon. Thus the day of check out arrived and when we went to the beach club at 11:30am we were told at noon we must pay something like 60 Euros. We thought this was absolutely absurd considering we paid to stay at this hotel with this beach club as one of our plus points. We were astonished that they knew we were on our honeymoon and despite our late check-in would not be gracious enough to let us use it complimentary. We ended up pleading with the manager and she allowed an extension from 12p to 1:30p, which I still think is ridiculous. We were off to Portofino later in the afternoon anyways but the fact that this manager and hotel's staff were so inflexible shows their lack of understanding on how to make their guests truly happy and comfortable. This truly reflected negatively on the property as a whole.The customerer service was not up to par with their 5-star reputation so for that reason alone we will likely not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your review written on the occasion of your honeymoon stay at the Excelsior last month of July.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the property and above all our welcome gift in your room with Prosecco and strawberries as well as the Buffet Breakfast served on the Lord Byron sea view Restaurant terrace and the Beach Club with the infinity pool, the floating pool at sea and the 2 Jacuzzi on the sea view terrace.

Furthermore, regarding the Wifi connection, we wish to inform you that this service is completely free of charge in the common area like the lobby, the Lord Byron Restaurant and the Yachting Bar as well as in rooms starting from the exclusive one. For Guests who book a classic, superior or deluxe room costs are cut down from € 22 to € 5.50 per day as we changed our internet provider at the beginning of the year and now we can offer this service with a right cost.

Finally, regarding your complaint about the access to the Beach Club within the check-out time, we are awfully sorry if you think that our Staff has been inflexible, but they have to respect the hotel policy, above all during the months of peak season as July and August with 100% occupancy, having 128 rooms and so more than 200 Guests at the Beach Club. Unfortunately for this reason we can not do any exception, otherwise it would be impossible to manage the Beach Club with an high number of Guests. Please accept the effort of the Beach Club Manager inviting you to stay 2 hours more without any supplement and please do not consider his proposal ridiculous.

Our check-in time is at 2 p.m. and normally Guests who book 1 night stay can take advantage of the Beach Club and Health & Fitness Centre the arrival day from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m., unfortunately you arrived late in the evening and you miss the opportunity to use our services.

We thank you again for your comments and we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our 6th time in Excelsior. We love this place and the staff who work here all these years.
Views are amazing, our room (exclusive room on 3rd floor) was bright, lovely decorated and had 2 windows and balcony.
Breakfast is very good and rich, served on a lovely terrace. Also wonderful the Eden Roc restaurant both for lunch and dinner.
Now the internet is free in the lobby that is a nice touch.

BUT there are few things that upset me.

They changed the internet system this year, and the wi-fi signal was inconsistent in our room, I couldn't find the net. Besides, the lady on reception was trying to convicne me that I had to pay for the internet voucher, thought the internet should be free in Exclusive room. Finally she gave me the free voucher but it was almost useless as I couldn't connect from my room.

The other thing that unpleaseantly surprised me - almost all deck-chairs in the beach club were "reserved" with lying towels alreday at 9:30 am (though the beach club opens at 9am) and there were no people on these deck-chairs, sometimes for several hours. As a beach boy told us - some people are making a queue at the door of the beach club at 9 am to reserve a chair and then go away... I aknowledge that it isn't the hotel's fault, it is the lack of culture of some of the guests. But still hope the hotel can influence somehow, asking guests not to reserve the deck-chairs if they are not planning to use it for several hours.

Also I was little dissapointed that this time the hotel didn't welcomed us with the bottle of prosecco as it always did it before. It was such a nice touch and a lovely beginning of the stay. Especially beacuse we're coming back every year to celebrate our wedding anniversry since our honeymoon here.

Overall impression is that the atmosphere in the hotel is getting worse over past years, the air of "dolce vita italiana" is disapperaing, mostly because of some guests (many of them russians) who think it's appropriate to come to the breakfast in a swimming suit and a transparent tunic, or walk on the floors with a naked torso...

Really hope the Excelsior won't follow tastes of such kind of guests and will keep it's own face and the spirit that is had for 100 years...

Room Tip: Only sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for choosing the Excelsior Palace for the sixth time coming back every year to celebrate your wedding anniversary since you spent your honeymoon here. This is a great satisfaction for us and normally our repeaters Guests has a particular treatment, for this reason we wish to apologize as our welcome gift was only the Limoncello bottle and we forgot to offer you also the Italian Spumante.

Furthermore, we are awfully sorry about the misunderstanding with the Reception Staff, as booking an exclusive room, you have a free voucher for the wifi connection. You are right when you write that this year we changed our internet provider in order to cut the wifi costs, which were too expensive and we received lots of complaints about this. By the other hand it’s the first time that we received complaints about the low connection from the room and we are very sorry about that.

Regarding the reserved deck-chairs at the Beach Club, this will be a continuous and an endless fight between our Beach Club Staff and Clients who “reserve” the deck-chairs putting some towels from the early morning. Normally we can manage the situation during the months of June and September, but in July and August we reach an occupancy at the Beach Club of 200/250 Clients and it is quite impossible to verify everywhere. As you properly right it is the lack of culture of some guests.

However, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs

Finally, we are pleased that you enjoyed your beautiful exclusive room with balcony and sea view as well as our Lord Byron restaurant for breakfast on the terrace and the new Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant both for lunch and dinner.

We hope you will come back again at the Excelsior in order to feel the atmosphere you got in the past years as our Clients satisfaction is our goal!

Thanking you for your kind attention, we assure you of our personal assistance at all times and we send you our warmest regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing