We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed for a long week-end in May with friends. The location is great, the rooms overlooking the sea are amazing (room 411) and the staff could not be more helpful and gracious.
If I have only a tiny regret, it would be the wifi that is not working properly in the rooms (ok in the public areas).
Special thanks to Angelo Cipollina, Head Concierge, who has been fantastic by helping us during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 411 (junior suite) has an unbeliveable view over the bay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chabert92400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your long weekend last May.
We are so delighted you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating the location, your Junior Suite with the bow window and the full view on the Portofino Coast and last but not least our Staff.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you again for your preference, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is our second visit, which in itself is a recommendation. Staff (under the direction of Angelo) are not stuffy for such a prestigious hotel, yet they are light but very attentive, and their attention to detail is superb. Beautiful views and there is a lovely terrace for breakfast and dinner where you will find good choices of good food from local produce. Our room was lovely with very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water for showers, a bathrobe each to mooch around in, and stunning views toward Portofino. Fish and pasta excellent for dinner, and a wide range of choices for breakfast. The drive up to the hotel is sharp, and after a certain time the gate to the swimming pool is closed for security reasons which could prove problematic for disabled visitors or elderly visitors on foot, but lovely access without the crowds and hassle by ferries to portifino and cinque terre are available from the port below. Road below can be noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get. view of the port or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your second stay at the Excelsior Palace.
We are honoured you decided to book again our property, appreciating one more time our staff and the Lord Byron Restaurant terrace during the rich Buffet Breakfast as well as for your dinner enjoying pasta and fresh fish.

Furthermore, we are delighted to read that you appreciated the town of Rapallo as strategic point for excursions to the wonderful Cinque Terre and to Portofino.

Thanking you again for your continous preference, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Don't know if you have read some of my reviews before, but are in a long vacation, 2 months stay in Florence traveling around, Venice, Austria, Munich etc. this Hotel was a vacation from our vacation. It was EXCELLENT! The service, the rooms, the amenities, the facilities, so close to everything. Did I mention the VIEWS! The terrace where we had breakfast was amazing, the infinity pool. Well I think you have to go to experience what we just experience ourselves. Is good for your honeymoon, to go with your family including your pet, and even to go with a group of friends and yes if you just want to go solo. Make a point to go to Rapallo from there to Santa Margarita and Portofino!

Room Tip: All rooms are great with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your very recent stay at the Excelsior Palace Hotel during your long vacatio through out Europe.
We really appreciated your compliments regarding service, rooms, the great sea view from the Lord Byron Restaurant during your Breakfast as well as the outdoor infinity pool at the Beach Club. You are right when you write that our property is ideal for every guests type like honeymooners, families, groups and also guests with pets!
Rapallo is definitely the strategic location to reach immediately Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino for an unfogettable excursion, Rapallo itself proposes several excursions to experience, like the Montallegro sanctuary on the Montallegro hill, reachable by cable-car, from where you can enjoy a breathtaking sea view often as far as Corsica island!

Thanking you again for your preference and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. We were fortunate enough to have a room with a sea view and it was truly magnificent!! Comfortable and modern room and amenities. The provided us with a lovely bottle of prosecco and strawberries on our first night. The hotel has a beautiful perch at the top of a hill. However, this can also be a downside since the walk back to the hotel from town is up a steep hill and up a large staircase. My mom had broken her toe in Florence so we had to take a lot of pricey cabs back and forth to town and boat launch. Angelo at the front desk was amazing and friendly as was a lovely trainee. However, there were a couple of people at the desk who seemed a little snooty and aloof.

This is clearly a beautiful hotel and well-maintained. The terrace where you eat breakfast is amazing and the service is wonderful. The pool is also gorgeous. However, the town of Rapallo is not as upscale as I had hoped. I might consider staying in Santa Margherita next time. If you stay in Rapallo this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for your time spent to review our property.
We thank you for your compliments to the Hotel, we are pleased to read that you appreciated your room with the sea view, the terraces, the service as well as the pools.
We are so sorry to read what happened to your mother, but happy to hear that she could move with cabs and that you appreciated our Head Concierge professionalism.
Finally, regarding your note about Rapallo, the town is situated in a strategic position as very close to Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino, generally speaking, even though it is situated in the Portofino Coast, it can also offers competitive solutions.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel looked rather imposing, up a steep drive. The reception seemed a little stiff and formal. We wanted to eat out and realised it would be quite a walk there and back to the town. The room was large and comfortable and the view was good over looking the harbour. It didn't seem a very friendly place however.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, appreciating above all your room, comfortable and with the sea view on the harbour.
We are sorry to read about your comments rearding Rapallo and the Hotel position, please be so kind to note that the Hotel is quite 5 minutes walking far from the promanade and for the return, to avoid the climb, we suggest to our Guests a mild walk on the main road, direction Santa Margherita Ligure, till the historical entrance situated in from of the Beach Club entrance.
Rapallo is a nice town on the sea, it is situated in a a strategic position, as very close to Santa Margherita Ligure and the well known Portofino as well as near the marvellous Cinque Terre, with several excursions to experience. It is a pity you did not appreciate it.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, and had an incredible experience. The hotel is elegant and classic, and the view from our room on the 6th floor was absolutely amazing. The hotel also has a great infinity pool overlooking the ocean that we took advantage of for a few hours. The bar downstairs was convenient and well stocked, although a bit pricey. We paid about 25 Euro for a meat and cheese plate (although I will say it was delicious). I thought the price of our room was very reasonable, given the incredible facilities and view. Breakfast was included and the spread was fairly large and had a decent variety of typical breakfast buffet fare. The front desk was also very helpful and friendly.
Rapallo is a bit sleepy and the main harbor is mostly touristy restaurants, but it is about 45 minutes to Cinque Terre and 15 minutes to Portofino, which are both incredible.
Excelsior Palace was a great find and beautiful escape!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior Palace for your honeymoon.
We are so pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Hotel particularly appreciating the view from your room at the sixth floor as well as the Hotel décor and the front desk staff. We are also delighted to hear that you visit also our Beach Club (officially open from tomorrow) and the Sporting Bar for lunch.
Rapallo is situated in a strategic position as it's very close to Portofino and near the Cinque Terre, reachable by train or by ferry boat in the summer season. There are lots of excursions to experience leaving from Rapallo.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The setting was beautiful, the view from our room was fantastic. BUT there is no air conditioning after 5pm ( which I think was pretty stupid given the price we pay.) we had a warm uncomfortable night. Further more when I pressed the door bell I was ELECTROCUTED! The staff was cold and did not even ask if I needed medical assistance. Though when we requested a different room, we we're upgraded. ( I guess to compensate.) over all after everything I would not go back and would rather go to the other luxury hotels in the area.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank varr808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review published on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the setting as well as the view from your room.
Regarding your note about the air conditioning, we inform you that it officially works 24h a day starting from June 1st, in this particular period of the year at the end of the spring time it is working 8 hours a day from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Furthermore, we are awfully sorry about what happened with the door bell, sometimes it could happen that Guests walking on carpet floor could assimilate electricity and we are so sorry if the staff did not assist you, but they proposed you an upgrade and you kindly accepted.
Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
688 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
705 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £87 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing