We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel but not 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but not 5 stars”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Beautiful setting with stunning pool area and swimming. Hotel is nicely decorated and rooms are good size. Our complaint was that we were put in a room with very poor views on the 1st floor (and we paid full price through a travel agent). The air conditioner didn't work and the staff member initially said- "open a window". Finally the next day we were moved to an excellent room on an upper floor. Front desk seemed understaffed although the staff were cordial. The concierge was helpful but very busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor above level 1 on the water side.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for the review about your experience during your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying at our property as well the Beach Club area, our infinity pool with the stunning view overlooking the Portofino Coast and we thank you for your compliments to our Staff.

Unfortunately, you had issues with the air conditioning in the first room you stayed in and we are sorry for that also considering that we had assigned you an upgrade from the Superior room you had originally booked. A Staff Member came to your room to check the system and then we decided we had to move you to another room as soon as possible. With regard to this, we would like to point out that the new room on the fifth floor was again an Exclusive room, thus keeping you upgraded.

Lastly, concerning your remarks about our Staff, we are happy that you appreciated they were cordial and helpful, the fact that they seemed to be busy is absolutely normal during this period of the year during which the hotel occupancy is quite high.

Thank you for your precious comments and warmest regards from the Italian Riviera,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    396
    100
    41
    20
See reviews for
205
774
31
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had 9 wonderful nights in this Hotel. Amazing views all around. Reception staff are the most helpful and friendliest we have ever had, they know the answers to any question. Restaurant staff are also very good. The bedroom and bathroom (room 305) was very spacious, spotlessly clean and most importantly for me a comfortable bed. A short walk down to the town gives you a variety of very good restaurants, and of course several ice cream shops and patisseries. Rapallo is a v. good base for boat rides around to Portofino and Santa Marguerita, or further afield and also not far is the train station where you can buy a reasonably priced ticket to get on and off the trains to explore the Cinque Terre area. The only gripe we had was the cost of dinner in the restaurant, quite pricey and not good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMyH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you in choosing our property at the Excelsior Palace Hotel for your long stay of 9 days.

Let us thank you for the review about your experiences with the Excelsior Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guests in one of our Classic Rooms overlooking the port of Rapallo and we thank you for your compliments concerning our Staff and the Service we have offered. As you have written about the cost of dinner at our Lord Byron Restaurant, we would like to mention that we have to maintain high standard in quality and service, for this reason the price should be justified for our 5* L Excelsior Palace Hotel.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, NJ
Level Contributor
194 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Indeed it is a Palace, and a grand one at that. Its beauty, location and charm, not to mention its luxuriousness envelope you as soon as you come into the courtyard. To say the staff is professional is putting it mildly. They all are trained to perfection and perform their tasks effortlessly and flawlessly. The rooms themselves as you enter them are filled with the strains of classical music and are airy and exquisite. Our room overlooking the bay was perfect, a delight to be in and behold. For an unforgettable dining experience try the Hotel restaurant, The Lord Byron. breakfast on the Terrace is a must as well. You will be transported. All in all staying here is a transforming experience. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose the Bay or the Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the review about your experiences with the Excelsior Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guests, especially at our Lord Byron restaurant. With the romantic terrasse and the stunning view overlooking the Rapallo harbour and the Portofino Coast, it is a perfect place to savor breakfast and dinner, as you have decided to do.
In addition, we thank you for your compliments to our Staff and property.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel ratings in Italy are often frustrating and not at all what you expect in North America. The Excelsior Palace beat all my exceptions. The property itself is stunning as are the views from the rooms, communal spaces, restaurants and bar. The entire place has the feel of elegant old world charm from the hardwood floors in the rooms to the furniture and chandeliers. The only thing to note is that the pillows are hard foam so if you like a soft pillow bring your own or ask if they can change them. I was in a Deluxe suite which was bigger then my first apartment and the twice daily maid service was perfect. I was also impressed with the English skills of staff at every level in the hotel.
Room services was fast and food in the hotel is great.
The pool area is gorgeous and offers so many choices that you can't go wrong. You can sit at the pool or on a quiet terrace overlooking the water or on a terrace near the two over sized Jacuzzi's or even on chairs set up right on the rocks in the water.
The desk staff and concierges are full service with a smile and really do their very best with all and any request.
The hotel is well located but up on a hill so when your return from shopping or dining or from any of the near by towns you have a drive and stairs to walk up, I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I prefer the ocean to the bay view although they are both gorgeous and always ask to make sure the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlynne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the review about your experiences with the Excelsior Palace Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guests in our Deluxe Suite with the stunning view overlooking the Portofino Coast and the fabulous Jacuzzi on the terrasse. We regret that our pillows weren’t soft enough. Unfortunately our standard includes two synthetic and two feather pillows.
In addition, we thank you for your compliments to our Staff, our Service and the Beach Club with its infinity pool, Spa facilities, the Sporting Bar and spectacular view.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY,NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel has stunning views of the sea. Cannot be beat!! The location is great--a short walk to town. The staff is very helpful. Very romantic setting. The terrace is beautiful and a nice place for an afternoon or evening cocktail.

Room Tip: Worth spending the money for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reloga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the review about your experiences with the Excelsior Palace Hotel by TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guests and we thank you for your compliments to our Staff and property.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed for a long week-end in May with friends. The location is great, the rooms overlooking the sea are amazing (room 411) and the staff could not be more helpful and gracious.
If I have only a tiny regret, it would be the wifi that is not working properly in the rooms (ok in the public areas).
Special thanks to Angelo Cipollina, Head Concierge, who has been fantastic by helping us during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 411 (junior suite) has an unbeliveable view over the bay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chabert92400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your long weekend last May.
We are so delighted you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating the location, your Junior Suite with the bow window and the full view on the Portofino Coast and last but not least our Staff.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you again for your preference, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is our second visit, which in itself is a recommendation. Staff (under the direction of Angelo) are not stuffy for such a prestigious hotel, yet they are light but very attentive, and their attention to detail is superb. Beautiful views and there is a lovely terrace for breakfast and dinner where you will find good choices of good food from local produce. Our room was lovely with very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water for showers, a bathrobe each to mooch around in, and stunning views toward Portofino. Fish and pasta excellent for dinner, and a wide range of choices for breakfast. The drive up to the hotel is sharp, and after a certain time the gate to the swimming pool is closed for security reasons which could prove problematic for disabled visitors or elderly visitors on foot, but lovely access without the crowds and hassle by ferries to portifino and cinque terre are available from the port below. Road below can be noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get. view of the port or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your second stay at the Excelsior Palace.
We are honoured you decided to book again our property, appreciating one more time our staff and the Lord Byron Restaurant terrace during the rich Buffet Breakfast as well as for your dinner enjoying pasta and fresh fish.

Furthermore, we are delighted to read that you appreciated the town of Rapallo as strategic point for excursions to the wonderful Cinque Terre and to Portofino.

Thanking you again for your continous preference, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing