We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely people.”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely people.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I discover this hotel overlooking the sea and walked in the door looking for a room for the night. Sara was so warm and welcoming, allowing me to see their only room available. What a great view and sea breeze. It was a lovely stay...but just to short.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    155
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
351
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with excellent, knowledgeable owners who ensure that guests are treated superbly. The rooms are spacious, spotless and comfortable. Guests are made to feel very welcome from the moment they arrive. Well priced for the location. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PCGIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were a party of 16 in search of our roots in Rapallo and stayed 4 nights. We were treated amazingly by all the hotel staff who were without exception friendly and helpful throughout. The rooms were great and the service outstanding. Buffet breakfast varied and plentiful. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on. I have no doubt we will be back. Thank you for your contribution to making our stay in Rapallo so memorable .

Room Tip: 4th Floor facing the bay has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Alessandro and Sara, owners of Hotel Astoria, are most gracious, friendly and pleasant. They provided terrific suggestions to Camogli and Portovenere. Their Hotel is tastefully decorated, immaculate and has a very convenient location to the train station and promenade were you hop on the ferry to Santa Margherita and Portofino. We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Astoria. Also, the breakfast was ample and the woman serving was efficient and remembered our coffee order after one day. Email responses were immediate. Seaview rooms have a very nice view of the sea. There was parking for several cars if arriving by vehicle and the price was rather inexpensive for the Italian Riviera. What more would anyone want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERK616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our second visit to Rapallo and after staying at the Tugillo Royale the previous time we chose Astoria because of the better view. We stayed on the first floor, with a direct view of the sea and a large private terrace attached to our room. Although not as large as some of the other hotels we stayed at, it was very comfortable. The service was top notch and all the managers there were extremely helpful for any advice asked
It is a 5 minute walk from the Train station so there is no need to take a cab, we took one on the way in and in a very short time the meter rocketed to 14 Euro (a similar distance in Milan would only cost 5-6 Euro)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A wonderful holiday. All the staff were very welcoming, helpful and efficient. The room was comfortable with a lovely bathroom and a first class shower. The room also had an adjoining terrace at least as big again as the room itself overlooking the seafront and the bay. The terrace was equipped with table, chairs, sunbeds and umbrella - a perfect place to relax. Very wide choice of food at breakfast (served from 7 to 10) and nothing ever ran out however late you got there. The hotel is in a perfect position right on the waterfront and five minutes walk from the centre of town and ten minutes from the railway and bus stations. Can't recommend it too highly.

Room Tip: 1st Floor corner rooms have terraces (see review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertA19522014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had traveled by car from Nice to Rapallo and arrived in Rapallo at midday, when it was quite busy, with a lot of traffic. The staff were very extremely helpful and pleasant and made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived.
The hotel is in an excellent situation, close to the water front and amenities, including water front restaurants and the ferries.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, and of good value.
The buffet style breakfasts are of good quality, again with friendly and helpful staff.
We would definitely stay at the Astoria again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 755Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelastoriarapallo, Owner at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about us.
We try to improve day by day and to do our best to make our Guests "feel at home" : surely reviews like yours are the best reward for our efforts.

We strongly hope to have the chance of meeting you again and in the meanwhile we send you our best greetings from Rapallo.

Kindest regards

Sara&Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 4, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Business Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing