We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great views but a short distance from the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the GHB. It appeared that the hotel was pretty quiet which was probably due to the main holiday season not starting until the 1st of May. Our spacious room was on the 3rd floor with fabulous views over the bay to Portofino from our small balcony. Pay the extra for a front facing room as it is certainly worth it. Over all the hotel is very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included and was good although we found the choice slightly limited. This was probably due to the emphasis being placed on the "continental" style of breakfast. We had lunch one day and it was very good however dinner in "Le Cupole" was fabulous. This restaurant is on the top floor with even better views over the bay as the sun sets ... .bliss! Other writers have mentioned the walk into the main town of Rapallo. This does take about 15 minutes however it is along a pleasant path which may not suit those with limited mobility. Once in Rapallo there is an excellent selection of bars, restaurants and gelateria for the daily ice cream!. The other towns along the bay are easy to get to by bus, ferry or train. Portofino is the star attraction of this area however a word of caution is needed. We sat down for a drink on the waters edge and left feeling that we had been mugged! The costs of food and drink here are exorbitant! This may be of no consequence to the owners of the enormous luxury cruisers anchored in the bay but may not suit all travellers. Genoa is well worth a visit as the attractions are world class. The Cathedral of San Lorenzo is stunning and the museums along Via Garibaldi are superb. There is also a great aquarium and various other attractions at the sea front.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view if possible, well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice hotel. Breakfast was included and excellent. Dinner overpriced. I walked down the coast path and found a restaurant called "Sole" address is Lungomare Castelllo 10, 16035 Rapallo. Nice view, price reasonable and excellent food. .

Room Tip: Room 306 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyfb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were lucky to stay here before the start of high season with attractive rates and fabulous weather. The rooms with sea view were very nice, well appointed, and worth the extra cost. Breakfast was very good in a lovely dining room also overlooking the sea. One of our group used the spa for a massage and was very impressed with the quality of the service. Plenty of free parking was also an attractive benefit. We were not so pleased that internet was not complimentary but that meant we needed to spend less time on the internet and more time enjoying our holiday! Not being in the center of Rapallo was less of a disadvantage considering the beauty of the resort. We were able to walk to the center in 20 minutes on a lovely foot path. The return could be by taxi or walking also--good for exercise!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanLipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel was lovely. The rooms were nice, and clean, although some needed a little TLC (wrought iron balcony and shutters needed work). The staff was very accommodating. The downside is that this hotel is not close to the town center. I wouldn't walk because of the winding road and shallow walks and it is at least 15 minutes to walk to town. I wouldn't want to do it at night. Unfortunately, there really is no place to eat other than at the hotel. One night, the restaurant was booked and there was no where else to go to eat. The chef made us some sandwiches in the bar. There was no where else to go unless we wanted to call a cab to take us into town to a restaurant. The restaurant, Le Cupole, was wonderful. Service and food were excellent and it has a great view. It's actually the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

this grand hotel offers an INCREDIBLE view and lots of space. me and my family enjoy a lot to stay there for the friendly staff and clean and large rooms. the swimming poll is really nice. The thing I liked most was the restaurant which has an amazing view on the sea and we ate delicious meals. i will coming back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fil i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This grand old hotel offer space and incredible views. We had two large suites for our family of five and loved the size of the rooms. The walk in robes were the size of my kitchen! Yes it is an old hotel but also quite majestic. The views were just incredible and we quite enjoyed the stroll into town -good way to burn off the gelato! The buffet breakfast was great and the kids loved the pool. Great gym too. Staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed at GH Bristol for a wedding, great place and atmosphere.
Rooms are big, classic and not modern at all but are functional and clean.
Service, breakfast, food, ..., everything is perfect, also the huge pool. Little downside maybe is that the hotel is not very close to the city center (about 15mins walking)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilot_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
724 reviews
1.4 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
814 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa

Address: Via Aurelia Orientale, 369, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £72 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views, amazing service in one of the most beautiful corner in the world, Tigullio Gulf.In a 1908 Belle Epoque Hotel, completely refurbished, the atmosphere is always happy, colours are light, Staff is smiling.Perfect spot to visit Cinque Terre, Forte dei Marmi, Portofino, Genova and the entire Riviera Ligure.Amazing food, local and international, Staff attentive and pleased to be useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rapallo
Nh Hotels Rapallo
Grand Hotel Bristol Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing