We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building poorly managed”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Hotel Europa has been recently refurbished...and that's just as well because, had it not been for the beautiful, comfortable rooms and beds, we would have given it a much lower rating. i.e. TERRIBLE customer service. Mr Alberto and Miss Ecaterina could NOT care LESS about the customer's needs but, above all, they went out of their way to show us that they REALLY couldn't care less. Ecaterina looked and sounded as a totally unhelpful robot and Alberto was the epitome of VERY BAD customer service: UN-helpful, aloof, stuck up, self-important and obviously poorly paid (judging from his VERY poor attitude).
Despite that, the hotel is very nice, beautifully refurbished and comfortable. Do go...but don't except much from Alberto, nor from Ecaterina, at reception.

P.S. ONE exception is a lovely lady managing the SPA on Saturday 8th. Poor English but lovely attitude...thank you for your simpathy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salvina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Travelling in the off season, you often get short changed on service and convenience. Not the case with this wonderful hotel. Close to Cinque Terra, and many places on the gulf of Liguria, it's the perfect spot to call a home base to explore this amazing area. After a long drive from Provence it was great to work out in the exercise room, where the gal on duty made sure we had water and were comfortable with the workout equipment. The dining room had a wonderful set menu, with local and international specialties. Breakfast was light and tasty with rolls, cheeses, sliced meats, fruit and a bottomless pot of coffee. The rooms were large by most European standards, and very well appointed. We will stay there again when in that area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but lack the view of the square outside the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely hotel in excellent location. On arrival reception staff friendly. Room very comfortable luxuriously fitted out. Bathroom very good and maid service excellent. Restaurant was good although we ate out in Rapallo most nights. Breakfasts were good but found staff did not speak very much but I think this was due to them not speaking much English.

Overall hotel very luxurious but I would say more 3 star due to very small gym and very intermittent wifi and computer they had was out of order. We went in September and it was still quite hot but the aircon was turned off for the winter....

Also we suffered with church bells and trains passing at night as we were at back of hotel due to window been left open due to the heat at night.

Overall we had a good holiday Rapallo is a charming place we loved it and took trips to portofino and cinq de terre a beautiful part of Italy

Room Tip: Sleep at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We visited for lunch and it was really good value, we had roasted pork in a lovely fruity sauce with potatoes, followed by tiramisu !! perfect. We had a very relaxing lunch on the outside terrace. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After a 5 day trip around Italy, our last night was at Rapallo at this hotel. It was a splash of luxury for an otherwise budget-limited holiday. But it didn't break our bank. It was a beautiful hotel, clean, friendly, the food was incredible and the restaurant staff were the friendliest we had encountered all holiday. They spoke to us in friendly Italian and never once tried to speak English - which for us was a bonus as we were trying hard to improve our Italian! Nothing was too much for the staff here. I wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is ideal because it is slightly off the sea promenade where there are often too many noisy tourists. We still enjoyed the view of the sea and the Castillo, a ruin at the beach, from our hotel window. The room was clean and large enough. The breakfast was fresh and rich. The hotel building is a kind of 18th century Italian style in pink but it is rather modern and minimalistic inside of the hotel, with some nice pieces of modern art. The people at the hotel were all kind and helpful and spoke good English. It is also worth mentioning the fact that the Rapallo railway station is only 6 minutes on foot from the hotel, which is convenient for visiting Cinque Terre villages and for our return trip to Milano.

Room Tip: there are no rooms directly facing the sea at this hotel. The rooms facing the road can be noisy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VincentePaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A fantastic holiday was enjoyed by my wife and i in rapallo and surrounding area. the hotel was 2 minutes from the railway station and waterfront. the a greeting on arrival was almost overwhelming. The staff were so friendly and couldnt do more to make our stay so enjoyable.The rooms were spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean.
a very comprehensive breakfast was served each morning.
a pleasant garden for relaxing and having a drink rounded off the experience.
one of the best and friendliest hotels we have stayed in.
Only disappointment was that there was no awimming pool.

Room Tip: Although near the station the front facing rooms afford a side sea view and not to noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangorBeertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#10 of 28 in Rapallo
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vesuvio
Hotel Vesuvio
#5 of 28 in Rapallo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Milite Ignoto 2, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#6 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £69 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rapallo
Rapallo Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing