We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exemplifies the Italians that take advantage of you...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exemplifies the Italians that take advantage of you...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Claudio Gambero (Owner) is the type of Italian business person that you were warned about that will lie and cheat to make more money. This included (at the very 1st) trying to give you a lower quality room that is not what you reserved, not providing Air Conditioning (because it is cold at night or broken or, or, or) and turning off the Hot Water Heater to save money. It does not do any good to go down after your cold shower to hear him say it will be hot in 10 Minutes. He also lied about the parking rate in his lot that he quoted 5 Euros per day and charged us 12 Euros per day. You will note that he speaks excellent English until you complain about something and then he says “I do not understand what you are saying….” The location is on a very noisy street so leaving a window open at night is not an option as he decides you should do. The breakfast served will be a minimalist service and does not even include eggs – It was the worst of all “included” breakfast meals we had in Europe.

Be very cautious and understand fully that he will lie to you about whatever suits him especially if he can save Money. Also note that in the picture of the Riviera, the twin building to the left is not part of Riviera Hotel. His attitude and service spoiled our experience in Rapallo and we would suggest other Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KRPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    99
    17
    10
    11
See reviews for
54
98
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Where do I begin - the owner was crooked. When we checked in, he tried to give us a lesser room saying it was all that was open. When I showed him my confirmation, he gave us the type of room we had requested. Our second day there, we had no hot water in the morning. It had been turned off. Every day we were there, we told him the A/C was not working. He kept telling us it would be fine later. On our last day, when my husband asked him to come to our room to show him, the owner said to go and check it again - that it was working. As soon as my husband turned to go to the room, the owner went and flipped a switch to turn on the A/C. My friend and I both saw him do it. He had deliberately had it turned off to save money. The breakfast (provided with the room) was minimal, and they actually charged extra if you wanted eggs. Then as a final slap, when we checked in we were told by the owner that the public parking across the street was 12 Euros per day, but that he had two spaces and we could have one for 5 Euros per day. We parked in his space. When we checked out, he charged 12 Euros per day and he denied telling us otherwise. I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RJR612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Good location is 1+ block away from bay-sidewalk & many restaraunts. Good size room w/ terrazzo flooring. Helpful w/ parking but it is very limited locally. Comfortable bed. Did not eat at restaraunt - minimal people there at dinner ?? quality.

Would NOT recommend hotel: 1) Not informed you had to ASK to have air-conditioning "turned on" - had to call desk as manual setting did not work; they have to turn it on for the room. 2) Air conditioning shut down (even tho asked to have it on) when called desk @ 230am, was informed "it was broken" (hmmm!!) 3) Bathing: tub w/ hand-shower & no glass partician to retain water spray as such water every where! and very low so difficult to hold hand shower head shampoo/ rinse hair. 4) NO hot water in morning to shower - minimally luke-warm (therefore very quick shower) and had to use liquid soap to make it easier to rinse. 5) Very noisey- shudders open for air but can hear everything; plus no screens - thus bugs (mosquitos) do enter (scratch/ scratch!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located on main road if you do decide to book. Ensure to ask that air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo g, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Regarding the negative comment would keep the customer to specify that it is due to the fact that having booked for 5 days and wanting to leave a day earlier, he had to pay for all nights booked. At the end of the stay he paid with disappointment and even arrogance was wrong (confirmed by booking.com)
The thing that amazes me is that it allows you to judge the restaurant, when he has ever eaten!
Air conditioning, adjusted the thermostat, with cool evenings in late September, will not start and you have to turn it on manually. As soon as we were informed by guest, we immediately care to operate it. The lack of hot water was temporary and for up to 10 minutes, in fact to the thermostat setting is immediately returned.
If the customer had been honest he would have to pay for the room that did not want to do not have a reason and that the comment is a revenge against the 'hotel.
Claudio Gambéro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We loved this hotel because of its location, size and restaurant. The staff is wonderfully helpful! Claudio, Silvano and their son, Lorenzo, were super! They took care of parking our car (which was a big help in such a populated area), keeping our luggage while we traveled to other cities, provided a personal friend to help in our apartment search, etc. The restaurant of the hotel is 6-stars - one of the best Italian meals we have had in Italy. The furnishings are simple, but super clean and bathroom certainly met this persnickety person's expectation. The AC worked well which is not normally needed in Rapallo, but it sure was the days we were there. A real charmer of a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Ive slept in Rapallo for two nights and it was a very fortunate choice. It was a very good choice because it has the calm and glamour of the Liguria but without the high prices of Portofino. Im more a Rapallo fan than Santa Margeritta, which is side by side, or Portofino. In Rapallo the hotel i stayeed, the Riviera, was a good choice. Its cosy, very good breakfast, decent room, a bathroom that is small but as everything you need and a room big and very cosy.

I would recomend this hotel to everybody who goes on to travel around the Liguria, thought i was a litle bit disapointed with the Cinque Terre. Also, if you buy the Card, i would like to warn that, with so many tourists, never did anyone asked me for the cards, nor in the Via Dell Amore nor the trains. Take notice!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our stay at Hotel Riviera was PERFECT. The owner and his wife make you feel special. The room was spacious, very clean and care is taken with every detail. The bed was the most comfortable we slept in during our month in Italy, even better than the one at the famous Hotel Sireneuse in Positano!
The hotel is perfectly located for those who are travelling by car or by train. There is car parking infront of the hotel and the train station is only about 200 meters from the hotel. It is also well positioned not only to enjoy the Ligurian Riviera, but is it also perfect if you want to explore the Cinque Terre.
The hotel overlooks the bay of Rapallo and the rooms have a great view over the water.
The hotel's restaurant " Il Gambero" is sublime, the owner goes and purchase the fresh produce from the local market every morning, and his chef transforms the produce into wonderful dishes. The Cappon Magro is a must and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

A great hotel in a prime location and very personal care. Claudio and his family are wonderful hosts. Highly recommended for golfers. Claudio always manages to book the best tee times

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clanlugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.3 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Piazza Quattro Novembre 2, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Hotel Riviera you can enjoy a wonderful view of the Tigullio Gulf. The hotel offers 20 rooms equipped with all comforts. We take care of small details to make your stay as pleasant as possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing