We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice for a few days”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Reviewed 9 May 2013

On our trip to Sardina, we´ve stopped first in Genua and then decided to follow the coast and look for a nice place to stay.
We ended up in Rapallo and decided to stay at this hotel.

Positiv:
- We were travelling with two bikes on our car and the guys from the hotel adivsed us to leave them in the hotel. So they put them into the lobby to ensure that nothings happens - thank you!
- Breakfast is quite good - of course, it´s not a huge hotel but for a good start into the day sufficient.
- Internet is for free and quite fast.
- Central and close to the beach, you will find also something to eat within minutes.

Negativ:
- Parking is quite difficult but we had some luck and found one directly in front of the hotel
- Sea View (sidewards) means that you have to open the window and lean yourself out of it to see the sea :)))

All in all, we very satisfied about our stay and would come back in case that we would end up in Rapallo again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Invocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in the hotel for four nights in October 2012. The location of the hotel was excellent. It was very well kept and very clean.
The staff was friendly especially Lorenzo. (Claudio was lazy).
We paid for the upgraded room, but were under the impression that it was a standard room. The room was ocean front, but was very noisy late at night, since it was facing a busy squire with a lot of motorcyclists speeding through. Maybe a standard, not facing the ocean is a better option and a better value.

Room Tip: We paid for the upgraded room, but were under the impression that it was a standard room. The room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

You cannot go wrong with this hotel (the good reviews/ ratings are accurate, anything else is not). Absolutely great location (walking distance to everything), outstanding views, nice breakfast, exceptional service, very reasonable price, etc. etc. What more can you ask for in a hotel?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATL-RES-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Right on the water front and within easy walking distance of the railway station the Hotel Riviera was a great find! The owner and staff were incrediblly friendly and helpful the bonus being their English was pretty good (certainly much better than our Italian). The breakfasts were excellent and the added bonus being the two superb dinners we had in their restaurant - their gnocchi filled with pesto was unbelievable!! Our room was clean and had a view of the water. As there were three of us sharing (couple and a single) we were in a suite with two rooms - bonus!!

Room Tip: As a couple and single travelling together we were given a suite with two rooms which was an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Claudio Gambero (Owner) is the type of Italian business person that you were warned about that will lie and cheat to make more money. This included (at the very 1st) trying to give you a lower quality room that is not what you reserved, not providing Air Conditioning (because it is cold at night or broken or, or, or) and turning off the Hot Water Heater to save money. It does not do any good to go down after your cold shower to hear him say it will be hot in 10 Minutes. He also lied about the parking rate in his lot that he quoted 5 Euros per day and charged us 12 Euros per day. You will note that he speaks excellent English until you complain about something and then he says “I do not understand what you are saying….” The location is on a very noisy street so leaving a window open at night is not an option as he decides you should do. The breakfast served will be a minimalist service and does not even include eggs – It was the worst of all “included” breakfast meals we had in Europe.

Be very cautious and understand fully that he will lie to you about whatever suits him especially if he can save Money. Also note that in the picture of the Riviera, the twin building to the left is not part of Riviera Hotel. His attitude and service spoiled our experience in Rapallo and we would suggest other Hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KRPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Where do I begin - the owner was crooked. When we checked in, he tried to give us a lesser room saying it was all that was open. When I showed him my confirmation, he gave us the type of room we had requested. Our second day there, we had no hot water in the morning. It had been turned off. Every day we were there, we told him the A/C was not working. He kept telling us it would be fine later. On our last day, when my husband asked him to come to our room to show him, the owner said to go and check it again - that it was working. As soon as my husband turned to go to the room, the owner went and flipped a switch to turn on the A/C. My friend and I both saw him do it. He had deliberately had it turned off to save money. The breakfast (provided with the room) was minimal, and they actually charged extra if you wanted eggs. Then as a final slap, when we checked in we were told by the owner that the public parking across the street was 12 Euros per day, but that he had two spaces and we could have one for 5 Euros per day. We parked in his space. When we checked out, he charged 12 Euros per day and he denied telling us otherwise. I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RJR612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Good location is 1+ block away from bay-sidewalk & many restaraunts. Good size room w/ terrazzo flooring. Helpful w/ parking but it is very limited locally. Comfortable bed. Did not eat at restaraunt - minimal people there at dinner ?? quality.

Would NOT recommend hotel: 1) Not informed you had to ASK to have air-conditioning "turned on" - had to call desk as manual setting did not work; they have to turn it on for the room. 2) Air conditioning shut down (even tho asked to have it on) when called desk @ 230am, was informed "it was broken" (hmmm!!) 3) Bathing: tub w/ hand-shower & no glass partician to retain water spray as such water every where! and very low so difficult to hold hand shower head shampoo/ rinse hair. 4) NO hot water in morning to shower - minimally luke-warm (therefore very quick shower) and had to use liquid soap to make it easier to rinse. 5) Very noisey- shudders open for air but can hear everything; plus no screens - thus bugs (mosquitos) do enter (scratch/ scratch!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located on main road if you do decide to book. Ensure to ask that air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenzo g, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Regarding the negative comment would keep the customer to specify that it is due to the fact that having booked for 5 days and wanting to leave a day earlier, he had to pay for all nights booked. At the end of the stay he paid with disappointment and even arrogance was wrong (confirmed by booking.com)
The thing that amazes me is that it allows you to judge the restaurant, when he has ever eaten!
Air conditioning, adjusted the thermostat, with cool evenings in late September, will not start and you have to turn it on manually. As soon as we were informed by guest, we immediately care to operate it. The lack of hot water was temporary and for up to 10 minutes, in fact to the thermostat setting is immediately returned.
If the customer had been honest he would have to pay for the room that did not want to do not have a reason and that the comment is a revenge against the 'hotel.
Claudio Gambéro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vesuvio
Hotel Vesuvio
#5 of 28 in Rapallo
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#9 of 28 in Rapallo
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 28 in Rapallo
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Piazza Quattro Novembre 2, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £48 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Hotel Riviera you can enjoy a wonderful view of the Tigullio Gulf. The hotel offers 20 rooms equipped with all comforts. We take care of small details to make your stay as pleasant as possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing