We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with pleasant staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with pleasant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We were moved to this hotel from another one which was horrible with some frined. We all enjoyed our stay in L´Approdo very much. Very nice, clean and big modern designed rooms, comfortable bed, big bathroom and my room had a very big terrace with table and chairs so we had a nice time in the evening with my friends. Wifi internet available on the room.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was great, offering plenty food to choose, many types of cakes, rolls etc, also the service was very helpful as some of the friends were disabled.
The hotel is not on the main coast street, but it really does not matter. As we were traveling by car, we would appreciate more parking places, but as I wrote before - our stay was not planned so the staff could not know about our parking needs. We parked our cars in the next calm street and it was fine and safe.
I would really recommend to stay in this hotel and would come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinginrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
The Hotel Staff wishes to thank you so much for your nice words and for taking the time to think about us when coming back home. Hope to see you soon in Liguria!
G. Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    92
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
195
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Address Rapallo--closer to St Margharita Ligure--which is great---since instead of a rundown city feel, you get the I am having my seaview from my balcony just like the gorgerous villa next door! Service beyond helpful----explained to me everything of where to eat, how to get to Portofino-where to beach and different transportation options. For a 3 star extradordinary---clean immaculate white breezy rooms-lovely view of church and the sea beyond from my balcony. When I needed laundry done, they contacted outside service who picked up and returned it in great shape! Nice to have 24 hour bar service and free wifi! Beach -public or private where you can rent chair-is just across street and small walk through a church garden. Walked to both Rapallo and St Margharita.
FYI-if you just want a great pizza and sit on your balcony with wine, just take left out of hotel and walk down street a few blocks til straight a head see run down ristorante Pizzaria sign and voila---fantastic pizza!
Perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
We all wish to thank you for your beautiful review. Come again for another "sunset pizza" on the balcony! Best wishes
G. Bottiinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Just left L'Approdo today. I highly recommend this hotel. So clean, fresh and hospitable.
Marta, Francesca, and Antoinella were all so helpful. Whether it's making me a cappuccino or yet another bottle of prosecco! The bar area is so handy to have in the lobby area. 24 hours you can have snacks and beverages. The ladies do it all! Lots of lovely tables outside and in to have breakfast or cocktails. Beautiful , clean beachy decor. A nice change from the rustic charm of Tuscany and more elegant rooms in Florence. The bed design is ideal too...white sheets with your own individual comforter. Lots of storage space for luggage under the beds too. Very needed on a long trip. We had a huge balcony overlooking the sea with comfy loungers.
Bellisimo!

Room Tip: Make sure and spend the extra money on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susancheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Ms. Cheek thank you so much for your appreciation The reception staff wishes to thank you as well for being so nice to remember them all.Arrivederci from Hotel l'Approdo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at L'Approdo hotel during our holidays in Italy in May 2011.
This charming hotel was impeccably very clean, very comfortable ,the rooms are full of light and have a great view on the sea and the coast. The superior rooms are well worth it, you will enjoy a very spacious balcony with a breath taking view. Location is excellent for touring the Liguria Region and within walking distant to Santa Margherita , as well to the train station.

The staff was very friendly, amiable, informative and helpful, at times they acted as our personnel travel advisors, as well as suggestion great places to dine. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast which was good, the food was fresh and tasty.

This is great value! We would like to thank the hotel's staff for making our stay pleasant and carefree. We'll surely be back!

Roger and Beatrice Murdock.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyBeaMurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Ms e Mr Murdock,
we wish to thak you for your nice words of appreciation for our work. Tis is very important and meaningful for all the Hotel staff. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

A great value for money option. Easy access to Santa marguerita, portofino and cinque terre. Great views from the rooms. Very good breakfast. Easy going atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Thank you so much for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed at Hotel L'Approdo for 3 nights in September 2010 . Years ago, we had been to Santa Margherita Ligure and planned to return to the same 4 star hotel. When we read of several unpleasant experiences and saw the inflated prices of that hotel, we decided to search further afield. We were attracted to L'Approdo by its many excellent reviews and photographs. We were not disappointed. The web site so exactly depicts it, that I told the staff we felt as if we had been there before.

The rooms are not large. As we entered our room for the first time hauling luggage for a 3 week holiday (and having come from a 4 day stay in a large metropolitan apartment) I was certain we would never fit it all in. What a pleasant surprise to find that, indeed, everything did fit in their very well designed and easily accessible storage closet and shelving. Our large empty cases were stowed out of the way under the bed.

The room seemed larger after we settled in. We never felt "closed in". The full glass wall appears to make the comfortable terrace into a part of the room with an extension of square footage. The view of the Golfo del Tiguillio and beyond to the horizon is easily described in two words, breathtakingly beautiful - just look at the photographs.

The a/c was easy to program & worked perfectly. The bathroom was small but efficiently designed and there was always plenty of hot water. The entire hotel was immaculate. Our room was vacuumed and mopped daily, thoroughly & quickly, by 2 girls. It was always ready when we returned from breakfast.

L'Approdo's being located high above and set back from the road makes it private and quiet. The center of SML can be rather noisy, not from the automobile traffic, from people. Whereas at L'Approdo, we kept the curtains open until bedtime when we lowered the automatic and very effective metal shutter for complete (or partial) black-out and soundproofing.

Parking on the hotel grounds is convenient but limited, so reserve when booking. Other parking is available nearby. The A 12 is just a few miles away and provides quick and easy access to many locations along the Riviera di Levante.

As mentioned in so many other reviews, the staff is welcoming, charming and efficient. All in reception speak excellent English.

We plan to visit L'Approdo again this fall for a week. This time we will retire early enough (at least one night) to leave the shutter up and be awakened by a glorious sunrise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FergusonLynchburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Manager at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Sirs,
This is Hotel L'Approdo writing to thank you for the wonderfoul review you wrote in February 2011. Sorry first all for the delay in answering but,maybe for a sistem problem,I hadn't had any notice of it since today. We consider any review as a very important information source but of course words like yours are also really rewarding for all the staff So in one word :Thank you! Hope to welcome you soon again in Rapallo.
Kindest regards
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Well after reading the reviews, I had to check it was the same hotel. But it is the same. We stayed here recently for 2 nights and paid an exorbitant amount 170 euros for a room that was so basic, it felt like a hospital room. Someone else reviewed the rooms as basic Ikea style, that is being very generous. Everything echoed thru'out the hotel due to lack of furnishings, carpets etc. If you opened the window, the road noise was very loud. The website photos make the hotel look very appealing, and yes the public areas are modern enough., but the rooms....no romance or homely touches at all.....a Best Western would have had more ambience. My German mum would give the room 10 ticks for hospital cleanliness! however. If you have trouble lugging suitcases up a steep hill and expect any help to get it up to the door, think seriously again before staying here.
On the flipside the staff lovely, the position great - bus stop right outside. But the breakfast....very sad..once again hospital quality food. Or typical British on holiday food. ...yuk.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank llamalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Property: L'Approdo
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing