We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Portofino stay on a budget”
Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Portofino stay on a budget”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights.

It is a beautiful, peaceful hotel on the outskirts of Santa Margherita Ligure.

The hotel staff were beyond helpful and kind - the receptionist staff all spoke English. On arrival the receptionist gave us detailed maps of the area, advice on the best places to go, train and boat times and local tips. They were always more than happy to help with anything you asked for.

Our room was on the first floor and had a terrace with sunbeds and a great view out into Rapallo. The room was above average in size and extremely clean.

The only negative was that the room only had voile curtains on the inside and to shut out the light you had to close the mechanical metal shutters which were on the outside of the room controlled by a switch inside the room. These are really loud and when some guests came back late at night or were up early in the morning, the sound of these going up or down would wake you up.

Also, there is a beautiful church opposite the hotel but its bells chime at 7am every morning for at least 10 minutes. If you are not an early riser, this hotel is not for you!

The hotel is close to a number of areas including Santa Margherita, Portofino, Rappallo and Cinque Terre.

Santa Margherita is only a 15 minute walk away but involves 5 minutes of walking up hill on a road without a pavement. It's not too bad and you get used to it but you do need to be careful.

There is free parking at the hotel if you book in advance or they direct you to a nearby road to also park free of charge. We left our car here all week without moving it and had no problems at all.

Once you are in Santa Margherita Ligure you can get a 15 minute bus ride to Portofino or a 20 minute boat ride. The train station is also only a 15 minute walk away from the hotel.

Breakfast was fine. Breads, cakes, fruit, ham, cheese and eggs.

I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Portofino on a budget!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have bigger balconies with sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice words about the staff the hotel and the rooms, we all appreciate it very much.
This is the very first time that we read a review about the loudness of our room shutters! We will surely check it, but had you come to the reception we would have tried our best to refine on this nuisance while you were here.
Just to be clear for other potential guests reading: the park place inside the Hotel is NOT free there is an charge of 15.00 euros per day (if the park place is reserved and available).
Thank you again for your time and good value
Kindest regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    96
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
199
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at L`Approdo and we absolutely loved it. The staff is friendly and helpful. They had some very good advice when it came to restaurants and where to take a swim etc. Our room was clean and spacious and had a fantastic view from the balcony. Through our experience, the beds in Italy are in general quite hard, and this was no exception. But for a few days it wasn´t a big problem. The breakfast was a normal italian breakfast with good coffee! It is walking distance to Santa Margerita and about 2 km to Rapallo. You could take the bus there (the busstop is right outside the hotel) but we felt it was a nice walk. A small part of the road lacks a sidewalk.
We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: The higher up the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absorbater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your appreciation that is very important for us. We are happy that you enjoied the beautiful sea view from your room and we're looking forward to welcoming you again soon
Best Regards
G.Bottinelli
Hotel l'Approdo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

L'Approdo is located in Rapallo within walking distance to Santa Margherita Ligure. I liked the place very much. The rooms were bright with floor to ceiling windows, a balcony and a view of the Mediterranean Sea. the decor is modern and the place is kept very clean. Most positively surprised I was by the extremely friendly and helpful staff. We couldn't get a parking space but we were directed towards several free public parking areas that were close to the hotel. We were even handed a map indicating these spaces. Furthermore we got some restaurant recommendations that were very satisfying. the beach is maybe 100 m away. the nice rooms and the friendly staff make this hotel a success. Marta deserves a special recognition. She was always smiling, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosenbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel, the staff is gratefull for your appreciation. We hope to welcome you again soon
Kindest regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I'm a returning guest of this hotel since 20 years. As usually I stay in 4 or 5 star hotels, the question is why returning to this particular place ? Because of it's uncredible location between Rappalo and Santa Margherita Ligure near a small village called San Michele di Pagana. The hotel is surrounded by villas, palaces and a castle. The view is "to die for" to a beautiful church on the background of Golfo di Tigullio. The hotel has undergone in 2001-2002 a complete and successful refurbishement. The peninsula di Portofino with it's unique villages and small towns is a must for all fans of Italy.

Room Tip: higher floors for the view, but you can't avoid the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc6473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your very kind review. We're happy that you could find the same atmosphere you had a good remebrance of and this even after so many years and a total renovation of the structure.
We hope you'll come to visit us again very soon
Best regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Easy to find, set back off the main road to Santa Margherita. Compared to some of the grander (and much more expensive) hotels on the hill its a functional looking building set in its own grounds, but is well looked after and smartly decorated. Rooms looking over the bay have balconies; we stayed on the 2nd floor with a balcony to sit out on. 1st floor rooms have larger balconies with space for sun loungers. Our room was clean and spacious, with very good air conditioning. Double glazed windows blocked any noise from passing cars, and electric shutters cut out all light - had one the best sleeps in days. A decent breakfast (not hot, except for boiled eggs). Free WIFI, a small bar, and space inside and out to sit out.

Location wise,its about 15 minutes walk to Santa Margherita, 5 minutes of which is on part of the road with no pavement - this was a little unnerving at times - just about OK during the day but not at all fun at night. There's a bus stop directly outside that goes to there (and Portofino) for 3 euros (1.5 euro with pre-paid pass), and it appeared to stick to the timetable!

A taxi ride to Santa Margherita, which is 1.5 KM from the hotel cost 20 Euros...a con that taxis in the area are famous for (the hotel can arrange for a taxi to collect from a reputable company, although still quite pricey). There are free spaces for cars at the hotel, and car parks in Santa Margherita and Portofino if you want to drive around but be prepared to pay dearly to park.. 20+ euros in Portofino for 4 hours. Bus and boat are cheaper options (and a lot less hassle when its busy). There's a public private beach across the road from the hotel about 5 minutes walk away (on a quiet road)

I liked this hotel; staff were really friendly, it was clean, and for the area a bargain. I'd stay again if i was lucky enough to be in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your very detailed description of the Hotel and the area sorrounding us. It is very important to know your opinion in order to always try to improve!
Hope to welcome you again in a near future

G.Bottinelli
Hotel l'Approdo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights in July visiting Portofino by bus and Cinque Terre by train.
It is well located - easy to catch the bus into town. You can in fact walk in safety to Rapallo via the beach below the church. The staff are very freindly and helpfull and the accommodation is very good - modern and clean. Parking in the nearby alleyway is easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFairGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for you appreciation and also for giving some useful information about the area which is so important for other travellers when making their destination choice. The Staff is very grateful for your kind words.
Kindest regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, (with excellent English).
The room was good sized, clean and had a magnificent view from our private terrace. The air conditioning worked well and the blind was perfect for those who like it dark in the morning.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had in Italy.
There is a lovely (pebble) beach very close to the hotel.
The hotel is technically in Rapallo, but is much closer to Santa Margherita (which personally I much preferred). You can easily walk to Rapallo or Santa Margherita or get the local bus (€1.50 for up to 100 minute journey). The hotel kindly provides a timetable for the buses.
If I was being hypercritical I would mention that the walk into Santa Margherita begins with a 200 / 300 metre trek uphill on a busy road with no footpath. This can be a bit scary, but once you get to the top of the hill there is a footpath from there onwards.
Also, the wifi, (which is free), was on the slow side, and there was a small bit of noise from other rooms on occasion. We didn't drive, but there are a limited number of parking spaces, and once they are full you have to use the local public car park.
However, they are very minor quibbles. It is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it. We even stayed an extra night because we liked it so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for being so kind with us and also so accurate in describing our Hotel. This second being very important to us beacause it helps other guests in their choice of which is the "fittest" place where to spend their holidays.
Hope to welcome you again soon
Best regards
Greta Bottinelli
Hotel l'APprodo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#6 of 29 in Rapallo
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Property: L'Approdo
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing