We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is listed as being in Rapallo but is so close to Santa Margherita Ligure, that we were able to walk into lovely “Santa” easily in 15 minutes.
The hotel itself is very modern, very clean, the breakfasts were excellent. I had advised them that it was our 45th anniversary,and requested an extra special room - they provided us with a beautiful one. The front desk staff were extraodinary. I wish we had made note of all their names because they were always very professional and friendly, and extremely helpful. Three out of the three restaurant recommendations were perfect.
The parking situation was easy, even though were didn’t have one of the reserved spots. We parked on the street nearby with no problem. A bus stop was conveniently located right outside the hotel also. (Taxis very expensive!)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your super-kind words! We all are grateful for your appreciation and hope to welcome you again in L'Approdo di San Michele.
Best Regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    92
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
195
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very clean and tidy! Excellent view! Very good point in order to visit Portofino & Cinque Terre. Parking is a problem in the area, so remember to book a parking space, along with the room.Suffers in the area of service that will make you feel obliged.

Room Tip: Remember to book your parking space, along with the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Stelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel .
I'm sorry that you found the Hotel to be behind your expectations (even if I could't quite understand why), and wish you will find a more suitable location on your next Italian trip.
Best regards
G. Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

It is a great hotel, simple but very good. We went in october, on holiday and found it on tripadvisor. When arrived we had the room upgraded which was a very nice surprise. The room was good, staff very nice (excellent) and the breakfast good. We for sure will go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jader C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice words of appreciation. We hope to welcome you back next year
Kindest regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October and wish we had stayed for longer. We paid a little extra and booked one of the rooms on the highest floor with a bigger balcony. It was money well spent, the view was simply breathtaking. The hotel staff speak perfect English, and are very friendly and informative. They restaurant recommendations were superb, and the staff were very smiling and helpful all the time.

Our room was a decent size. The bed was a little hard, but nothing too uncomfortable. The location is 5-10 minutes taxi ride from the station if you have luggage. Without luggage, its a very easy 15 minute walk to Santa Margherita. I was a little worried about the "no pavement" part based on reviews, but its literally 50-100metres, and is not a problem at all. You see people walking by the road side all the time, its actually exciting! The breakfast was minimal, but fresh and decent enough. The restaurant was bright and airy, we loved it.

We loved our stay, and will definitely stay here again. Just do yourself a favour, use the hotel's own website and book one of the balcony rooms; you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehdi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your very very kind appreciation. Your description of the Hotel made us proud! We hope that other guests will follow your advice to directly book trough our web side in order to have a superior room!
Hope to welcome you again next summer
Kind Regards
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is clean, modern, and very scenic. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. A wonderful value compared to prices in Portofino and Santa Margharita.Great breakfast too.
Overall and excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Proprietario at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful words. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a near future
Kindest Regards
G.Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

As we were trying to schedule our Liguarian Coast Trip, Portofino was the center of our affection, yet after experiencing the whole coast I have to confess I am extremely, utterly, pleased that we chose L'Approdo as our home base.... Maps can be deceiving, if you are thinking that Rapallo is of the beaten path (like we did, prior to our booking) you are wrong, wrong wrong. L'Apprado was only a 5-10 minute walking distance to Santa Margherita, yet nestled on a quiet, green hill with amazing views through your terrace... Chasing an amazing view of Portofino I had seen months ago, I was ready to spend the $$$$ on a Portofino hotel, but I am sooooo pleased that they were all booked and I had the chance to experience the sincerity of L'Approdo which I value more than anything (after view;) when I am away from home... I am sad to admit the lavishness, the poshness of Portofino was off-putting, yet it gave me the chance to appreciate my quiet yet amazing view from my elegant terrace at L'Approdo more. Thank you very much for saving the end of my trip.

Room Tip: For the beautiful views I suggest, you get a fourth floor room with a terrace (Mine was No.45 I beli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your super-kind review. Your words made us very are proud of our small Hotel!
We hope to be your "home away from home" again on your next visit in Liguria
Best regards
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtice Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our room was clean, modern and even though it was bright had a very cozy feel. We were told we'd have a partial view but were absolutely blown away when we looked outside. We weren't so high up but could have still spent hours on our veranda just gazing. The staff were so courteous and helpful and breakfast was good. My only complaint would be the hardness of the bed...something that normally wouldn't bother me...or it could have been the smallness of the pillow but I had one sleepless night out of the two we spent there, but I was on vacation and I would stay at L'Approdo again without a moments hesitation. Am mourning the fact that I was there just a week ago!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grerico, Direttore at L'Approdo, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for this very nice review your opinion is very important for us.
What a pity that you have not told us about your problem with the bed because we do have softer matress for guests who prefer them and also different kind of pillows (softer, harder etc).
Next time we will get the room ready for you!
Kindest regards
Greta Bottinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Property: L'Approdo
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing