We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes less is more..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Approdo
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sometimes less is more..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We have been coming to L'Approdo for nearly eight years now and we would not consider any other hotel in the area. The location is mid way between two beautiful towns, Rapallo and Santa Margherita. Both can easily be reached on foot. However, the best thing about the hotel is it's simple elegance. It always feel fresh and clean and the rooms are more than comfortable. The views from the balconette are simply stunning and it is wonderful to be able to sit and watch the world.The service is very helpful and always offered with advice if needed. Don't stay anywhere else if what you want is all round excellence.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank custardNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    92
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
195
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We recently spent 3 nights at the L'Approdo during our visit to the Ligurian coast. The rooms were furnished quite simply, but they were very clean and comfortable. The rooms with balcony and view (particularly higher up) offer a wonderful panoramic vista and I'd highly recommend them. The staff was very welcoming and helpful - they even let us check-in an hour early. Breakfast choices were not lavish, but the food was fresh and offered some healthy choices. The hotel is conveniently located between Rapallo and Santa Margharita. However, the first several hundred yards towards Santa Margharita (a beautiful little village) are quite dangerous to walk since there is no sidewalk and plenty of traffic. Overall, L'Approdo is a great place to stay when visiting the Cinque Terre and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bullbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed in Mid-July for 4 days. We had a great time - the views are great, location is terrific (10 from Santa Margharita).
The staff are amazing - polite, knowledgeable and friendly (not easy in Italy).
We stayed on the fourth floor. Try and get a room there though views from all the other floors are also great.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Sometime less is more. At the L'Approdo - less is less.

Modestly priced, very clean, acceptable breakfast, with pleasant staff. That's it for the positives.

Poor location - between Rapallo and Santa Margharita - extremely dangerous to walk to either fom hotel. The inability to safely walk from this hotel to town is, in this reviewer's opinion a deal killer for this hotel. No bellhop/porter to help with bags. No soap in rooms - only shampoo dispensors - like in a hospital. No color or fabrics in rooms - minimalistic is an understatement - Aesthetic is more like it. Mattress is extremely hard and uncomfortable. Very small towels. Provides no chairs/umbrellas/towels for beach - but will sell them to you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELSALOT522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

We were fortunate to find this hotel on the TripAdvisor site. We had been to the area before, but had overlooked this gem. We stayed only a couple of nights since most of the time we had an apartment (actually right across the street in San Michele di Pagana -- where the hotel actually is, despite it being listed under Rapallo). We enjoyed the breakfasts, the clean and somewhat spacious room (for Italy). We had a nice view of the water and church from our 2nd floor room (1st floor for Europeans). The rate was very reasonable. We would definately return to this property if we need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TransCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

We enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us with train schedules, bus tickets, free internet use, arranging taxis, directions and even umbrellas on one rainy day.

We had an ocean view and a roomy terrace - very nice. The shower was a bit small, but the bathroom was roomy as well. Bed was a bit hard. Plenty of towels and pillows. Breakfast was plentiful served from 8-10am.

Leaving the hotel to the right - about a 10 minute walk to Santa Marguerita or the bus stop is right outside of the hotel. Road is a bit busy and you have to cross back and forth to get on the sidewalks. The road is curvy, so be careful. This is where you can catch the trains the Cinque Terre - about an hour ride to the last town.

Leaving the hotel to the left is a little village - about a 5 minute walk. There were several restaurants here which we enjoyed and were not overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Kimba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Very nice hotel with convenient value for money. it's a 3 stars but is recently rennovated. Furniture in the room are minimalistic but fine. Very clean bathroom with essential toilletries products. We got a room with bacìlcony and view (I recommend). Front desk (most likely the owner of the hotel) are very friendly and welcoming. The only negative side of this hotel is the soundproof; you can hear any single breath of neighbourns and people walking in the corridor. Anyway, it would come back again (if on a budget) on the next occasion.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip4visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo

Property: L'Approdo
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 160, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo is a three star Hotel in a unique position overlooking the splendid bay of S.Michael. Hotel recently renovated, modern neat and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Hotel Rapallo
l Approdo Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing