We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Vesuvio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vesuvio Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our experience here was excellent. Luciano, Andrea and the rest of the team never failed to extend themselves to ensure we were having the best time. The breakfast was extensive and tasty, with coffee served at our table. The suite we were in had a view to the Ocean and busy street, but was nicely soundproofed. It is about an hour to the furthest reaches of Cinque Terre from here, but you can get to Monterossa in 40m by train (hourly departures). Treat yourself to an afternoon at the Excelsior “Eden Roc” beach club up the hill at the Excelsior. For 25 Euros/person after 2pm, it seems pricey, but is really an awesome deal with an infinity pool and ocean swimming.

Pros — First-rate people always ready to help. Rapallo is cute and walkable. Very easy five-minute walk from train. Nice breakfast. Lots of shopping and dining very close at hand.

Cons — Hard to think of any. We liked Rapallo as a Cinque Terre base, but I can imagine that if that’s your whole focus in the region you might want to stay nearer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErwinMulherns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    95
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
148
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my wife and we really really loved it. Rapallo is a perfect small town to stay and the hotel is centrally located just on the bay. We had a sea front room on the 4th floor with a nice balcony and an amazing view.
The hotel is an easy walk from the train station and Ferry stop is just in front of the hotel so it is a perfect base for visiting Cinque Terre and Portofino.
Staff and especially the owner Luciano was very friendly and helpful.
We wish to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korsoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vesuvio for a week. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very very clean rooms and facilities. Plain and good breakfast in a nice room overloking the street. Central place with a beautifull view over the Bay from the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at this small hotel for two nights. We found it to be very comfortable, clean, and functional. The owner was very gracious and helpful. We had a sea front room and it indeed was sea front. We also had a small balcony which was delightful for sitting in the morning and evening. The breakfast was simple compared to others we had, but that said, it was very good and hit the spot. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. It is a 5 minute, easy walk to the train station.

Room Tip: I would opt for the sea front rooms. The view is beautiful indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill_w_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vesuvio for 8 nights. We had a great corner room on the top floor. The view was amazing. Luciano was so pleasant to us. . We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Our son, with the help of Luciano, had a wonderful surprise of a bottle of champagne and flowers awaiting us in our room. Luciano took care of everything, making sure that the surprise was a success. Everyday he would greet us with a smile and was always helpful in guiding us for our visits . Many good restaurants in the area. The ferry stop is just in front of the hotel. For us parking was not a problem. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit as it has two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
511 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Set on the picturesque promenade of Rapallo, Hotel Vesuvio occupies an elegant Liberty-style villa with fantastic views across the Bay of Tigullio. The rooms are renovated and all have balconies overlooking the sea.

It is conveniently located in just a few steps from the civic centre and the ferry port to Portofino, San Fruttuoso and Cinque Terre, in a short walking distance to the railway station linking Rapallo with the rest of Ligurian coast.

What makes it special are the owners who made our stay a real delight. Incredibly helpful, they treated us like good friends generously sharing their local knowledge and advice and willing to go an extra mile to accomodate our needs. Thanks to their efforts, we had a truly memorable and most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I spent a few nights at the charming Vesuvio and loved it. We came from Siena in a nice car trip but finding a parking place in Rapallo is not easy, the very friendly owner assisted as in getting free parking in a short walking distance to the hotel. This small hotel is on the center of town near to the restaurants and cafes along the promenade. The room was in good size, but very comfortable, with a romantic view of the sea, my wife loved. Breakfast was nice and well presented in the cafe next to reception with good italian coffee. WiFi was not free. All the staff was friendly and very helpful, they did our stay comfortable. Rapallo is one of our favorite places, just with more life than Portofino, also a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoContı P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Italia e Lido Hotel
Italia e Lido Hotel
#8 of 29 in Rapallo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesuvio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesuvio Hotel

Property: Vesuvio Hotel
Address: Lungomare Vittorio Veneto 29 | Via Marsala 22, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vesuvio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vesuvio is a splendid Liberty-style villa completely renovated with sea-view all rooms and balcony, located in the center of the promenade of Rapallo.Bar, living room and veranda, elegantly furnished, open directly on the sea promenade; the light enhances the ancient vaults of original bricks ceiling creating an atmosphere of deep relax. Throughout the hotel, including the outdoor area, is active a wireless Internet service -Wi Fi. The Hotel is situated a few steps from the "civic centre", the tourist port and the ferries to Portofino, San Fruttuoso and Cinque Terre.Hotel Vesuvio reserves to its clients a perfect holiday in the heart of the Gulf of Tigullio in an elegant and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vesuvio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesuvio Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing