We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at hotel Vesuvio (3 couples) the owners Luciano and his wife were just wonderful, very helpful and very friendly nothing was a bother always willing to answer any queries we might have had also very helpful with places to,see with in the area and were to eat ( most important)The room was very clean and spacious the view from the balcony was amazing over looking the boat harbour and promenade.Perfectly located to catch the ferry to Portafino and within 10 minute walk to train station for Cinque Terra.Breakfast was great plenty to eat.
Great place to,stay if visiting this area highly recommended and great location. Would stay here again if had the chance to do so
Tanti Grazie Luciano for making our holiday in Rapallo so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at hotel Vesuvio (3 couples) and we cannot speak more highly of the hotel. The room was spacious, quiet (when balcony doors closed) spotlessly clean, simply decorated, with an amazing sea-view from our balcony. The owners Luciano and his wife were extremely helpful, very friendly and spoke good English. They even helped us with suggestions on what to do and see in the area. The hotel overlooks the busy promenade and boat harbor and is very centrally located. The ferry to Portofino is just across the road. The train station to the Cinque Terre is less than a 10 min walk. Breakfast was basic but more than enough and well presented. Internet was good. Reserved car parking is available through the hotel but in the street. You cannot go wrong by choosing this hotel as it is excellent value for money and in a prime position to everything. Thanks for helping to make our Italian holiday so great!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with the seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kazza010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ask for Luciano, the ever-smiling and ever-helpful receptionist in this hotel. He had been so kind to us that this is a real plus to the qualification of this hotel. Due to the Giro d'Italia car parking in front of the hotel on the Corniche was not allowed, Luciano immediately offered his help and moved our car to a safe place (have no idea where).Bus to Portofino, how to link to the Net etc were also on his help-list. View from the sea-side room is great, room was clean and from the balcony you can watch the promenade below. Breakfast room is a bit cold (by view) and breakfast is avarage. But again, the location (city center) and Luciano are worth to visit this hotel.
Fred and Angela Horchler

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights here (4 couples traveling together) in May, 2014. We all had sea-view rooms, which gave us tremendous views of the bay, boat harbor, and promenade. The rooms are fresh and airy with balconies. The rooms were maintained impeccably. The owners, Luciano and Marta, were extremely helpful to us all. Some of our families were from Genoa and he called and spoke to and interpreted for us (in English) a conversation with family members that enabled some in our party to actually meet and visit with those family members. Luciano also informed us of the Funivia that takes passengers to the top of the hill where you can view Rapallo, Santa Margarita, & Portofino at once. The breakfasts were more than we'd expect from a 3-star hotel with delicious coffee served personally. We'd all stay here again (and again and again).

Room Tip: "Sea View" Rooms are worth the minimal extra cost. Ask for the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueGoatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Spent 4 days here over easter with our 3 kids. We had a family room- with one double room with balcony and a small room with 2 beds.
The breakfast was good, service from the reception was great.
Rooms are clean and the location is very good - within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If you had a choice to stay in Genova or elsewhere along the Italian Riviera, try Rapallo and this hotel. It's a good base to visit Genova, Cinque Terre or Portofino. Away from the typical towns visited by tourists and celebrity haunts, Rapallo offers a nice medium and its own charms with the beauty of the sea closeby. A five minute easy walk from the train station, the hotel faces the sea. Rooms at Hotel Vesuvio are average but very clean, and the rooms facing the sea or a side view of it and the staff are the highlights. You can sit on the small balcony. There is a mini-fridge. Front desk staff offers restaurant options to suit your budget (try Trattoria da Mario) and can teach you a thing about the Italian language. Wifi costs about 5E during your stay. Breakfast is plentiful - deli meats, cheese, toast, and fresh fruit. There's focaccia too. With the breakfast room facing the boardwalk and the sea, everything tastes wonderful.

Make sure to walk the boardwalk morning, day or night. Several restaurants line the the strip. On the side streets, there other options to tempt you - small casual wine bars (one has free wifi), stores selling fresh pasta, etc. You can easily take a bus from Rapallo's train station to Santa Marguerite, then another bus to Portofino, all for about a 40 minute ride.

All in all, Hotel Vesuvio is a wonderful hotel. I paid 85 Euros a night for a side view of the sea, and it was good value. Rapallo is definitely a town to visit again, and Hotel Vesuvio is on top of my list.

Room Tip: Book a room on the higher floors, and pay extra for a direct view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ou_etes_vous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After traveling throughout major parts of Italy for 3 weeks, we arrived in Rapallo towards the end of our trip and we were so impressed with Rapallo and the Hotel Vesuvio that we immediately requested to stay for a few days longer and Luciano immediately accommodated us! The town of Rapallo is ideal, mellow and beautiful. Very close to Cinque Terre, Santa Margherita and Portofino. In fact, directly across from the hotel is a ferry to Portofino, etc and was a lovely ride.

The hotel is ideally located. Our room faced the sea, with beautiful sunsets to view from our balcony. The room was spotless, the staff incredible. Great morning breakfasts in the lobby.

Many wonderful restaurants in the neighborhood, and great recommendations from Luciano.

This turned out to be our favorite part of our trip. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If available, the highest floor facing the sea, with a balcony is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
675 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Lungomare Vittorio Veneto 29, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £75 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vesuvio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vesuvio is a splendid Liberty-style villa completely renovated with sea-view all rooms and balcony, located in the center of the promenade of Rapallo.Bar, living room and veranda, elegantly furnished, open directly on the sea promenade; the light enhances the ancient vaults of original bricks ceiling creating an atmosphere of deep relax. Throughout the hotel, including the outdoor area, is active a wireless Internet service -Wi Fi. The Hotel is situated a few steps from the "civic centre", the tourist port and the ferries to Portofino, San Fruttuoso and Cinque Terre.Hotel Vesuvio reserves to its clients a perfect holiday in the heart of the Gulf of Tigullio in an elegant and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesuvio Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing