We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience in amazing surroundings”
Review of Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

First impression the room needs updating, but after a few hours the amazing owners and the beauty of Rapallo its all forgotton.... The views from the room is incredible, very spacious and the beds are very comfy, very good breakfast and staff amazing. Location and the town of Rappallo make an excellent vacation with this hotel just the icing on the cake.. highly recommend you stay here

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ant_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had been recommended this hotel and it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is close to the station and when we asked at the station we were advised to walk. I was so glad we did. The position is beautiful, overlooking the harbour and near the local ferry stop. I cannot speak more highly of the staff. It is a family run hotel and everyone was helpful and lovely. They had perfect English but knowing that we had been studying Italian they responded to us in Italian to help us practise. They had excellent advice about everything; the Cinque Terre, Genova, walking trails, public transport and restaurants. Each of the restaurants they recommended was excellent but Trattoria da Mario was my favourite.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyPeterTheoSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We landed up here after a last minute search for a place to stay.
The hotel is situated directly opposite the sea. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a room with a sea view...103. It is also 3 minute walk from the train station, so no need to cab to your hotel.
Breakfast was also included in the price, fresh fruit, bread, cheese, cold meats, cereals and pastries. I'm fussy with my coffee and I have to say they made the best cappuccino.
It is a family run hotel and we found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful, each and everyone of them.
It's always hard knowing where you're going to land up, but I have to say this place will not disappoint.
Thank you Luciano, we had such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sym07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A perfect location at Lungomare Vittorio Veneto. Lots of nice bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. Just 4-5 minutes walk from the train station. You don't need to take a taxi from the station to the hotel, like we did! A fantastic view of the port and the Mediterranean Sea from our balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff. A rich and tasty breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SvenErik4317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed the hotel and location. Clean, simply furnished room, nice little balcony looking at another hotel and the sea, simple breakfasts, good cafe, and the staff were all kind and caring. They make it a point to greet as you enter/exit, they look after you and seem genuinely sincere to help your stay be enjoyable. Our shower was tiny with no shelf, but bathroom was very big.

We arrived around midnight and people were in the streets, chatting and enjoying what Rapallo offers: pretty views, nice weather, and an idyllic lifestyle.

Mornings, people sit and line the benches along the promenade directly across the street. In the evenings, restaurants are busy, we ate outside every night along the sea. This little Ligurian town is alive and bustling, it is clean, lots of leashed dogs and families walk the promenade in evenings, live outdoor music (man singing Bowie's "Major Tom" to happy pizza eaters gave us a good memory for life!). Shopping is behind the hotel. Many very good gelateria within a 5-minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichTravelgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Vesuvio Hotel. The location cannot be beat. They have a covered open air "living room" in the front of the hotel where we spent many hours watching the world go by while sipping Aperol Spritz's. The veiw of the sea and promenade are terrific. The ferry to Portofino is right across the street. Many restaurants right next to hotel. The hotel owners couldn't be more accommodating. Whatever you needed, there were right on it for you and always with a welcoming smile. The breakfast was ample and the service was great. We had a family room. There was a large bedroom with a smaller room that had two single beds for my boys who are 19 & 17. Plenty of space for all. Don't hesitate to book this hotel..It is fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are lovely. Balcony with chair to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RealtyExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Rapallo is a good base for the Cinque Terre and the Vesuvio a wonderful place to stay. Luciano and his staff were very helpful and welcoming. Such a pretty view from our front balcony. The ferry was across the road and the train a short walk. Shopping is varied and entertaining. Our hotel room was very comfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Approdo
L'Approdo
#9 of 29 in Rapallo
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#3 of 29 in Rapallo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Lungomare Vittorio Veneto 29 | Via Marsala 22, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: £71 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vesuvio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vesuvio is a splendid Liberty-style villa completely renovated with sea-view all rooms and balcony, located in the center of the promenade of Rapallo.Bar, living room and veranda, elegantly furnished, open directly on the sea promenade; the light enhances the ancient vaults of original bricks ceiling creating an atmosphere of deep relax. Throughout the hotel, including the outdoor area, is active a wireless Internet service -Wi Fi. The Hotel is situated a few steps from the "civic centre", the tourist port and the ferries to Portofino, San Fruttuoso and Cinque Terre.Hotel Vesuvio reserves to its clients a perfect holiday in the heart of the Gulf of Tigullio in an elegant and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesuvio Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing