We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cant wait to go back"”
Review of Hotel Villa Anita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Anita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Wow... when I heard this was a 2 star rated hotel my expectations were not so high, but the price was right and who spends that much time at the hotel anyway. Even the cab driver was less than enthused when we asked about the place.
We stayed in 4 star, hotels on this visit to Italy that do not begin to compare. This is by far the friendliest, homiest place you'll find in Santa Magherita.
Daneila bakes in the afternoons for the wonderful breakfast buffets and her son Sandro goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable. They provide an inexpensive laundry service with a quick return. Risa (dining room server) is most gracious. Our maid had our room cleaned before we even returned from breakfast. Dinner was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We would highly recommend Villa Anita. We recently stayed there for seven nights on our first trip to the Italian Riviera. We were welcomed warmly upon arrival and shown to a lovely room with a small balcony. The hotel is located in a quieter part of Santa Margherita on a hill, which means that you avoid any noise from the traffic. The room was equipped with everything one could ask for, with a comfortable bed and an excellent power shower. We had to move to another room mid-way through our stay as the room we were staying in was booked for another guest. Our new room did not disappoint. It was even more spacious than the room we had downstairs and had a beautiful big bed, a large terrace complete with sunloungers and a table and chairs. We were very impressed. Breakfast was a highly pleasureable affair with exquisite cakes and pastries, fresh fruit, muesli, a selection of cheese and meat and many different types of bread. It was served on the terrace. We really could not fault Villa Anita. It has exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Globetrotter_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at Villa Anita in S Margherita Ligure. The mother and son combination running the hotel were very welcoming and were only too happy to help us with any of our queries about places to visit. They could not have been more helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and bright with a great balcony that you could actually relax on after a busy day sightseeing. Each morning we enjoyed our breakfast out on the terrace. Hotel was in a great location, quiet but within walking distance of the town and beaches. It was great to have Wifi that worked. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room # 4 had a great balcony and was close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilsonAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from a 9 night stay at Villa Anita in Santa Margherita. Location is great and makes visiting other towns, Cinque Terra and even Monaco easy. The family running the hotel could not have been nicer and more friendly. They went out of their way to help us plan visits and stops.

The young lady running the dining room was a joy. Food was excellent however more variety would have been better.

While the rooms were basic they were clean and comfortable with things like wifi included. Having parking available was a big help. Walking down the hill to the boat dock for boat tours was nice and gave us an opportunity to see town.

Highly recommend a stay here and will probably return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have just returned from a 3 week motorcycle tour of Corsica and Sardinia and Hotel Villa Anita was only a stopover for us as we made our way back home. It was one of the best surprises of our trip - we had dinner on the terrace, a beautiful room overlooking the garden, and a sumptous breakfast the next morning for a very good price indeed. We stayed here only one night but will definitely come back as the comfort and service in this hotel is way above the 2 stars rating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We turned up late on a Sunday evening towards the end of August (still very busy) and at the end of a long drive, without a reservation; we were ready to take anything that had a bed in it. We were welcomed by the owner and her son who showed us to our very comfortable and quiet room with a lovely new bathroom. The following morning we had a very good and plentiful breakfast on the covered balcony: fruit juices, pastries, croissants, cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, toast, jams, cereals, boiled eggs and more; everything absolutely fresh and tasty. The service was impeccable, nothing too much trouble. We have not been used to expect this quality of service and accommodation in a 2 star hotel. Although the car park is small they try their best to find you a space. Failing that, the road is very quiet and it's easy to park. The seafront is only a few minutes away on foot but far enough from the noise and confusion.
We would definitely stay there again and we will certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoobona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at the Villa Anita for one night and then extended for second night due to the excellent service. We were having mechanical trouble with our EUROCAR rental and the coordination was a nightmare. The members of the family (owners and son)helped immensley even though it was not part of the normal service. The breakfast was fabulous both days. Lovely balcony and an easy walk to the harbor. Highly recommend you stay here if you wish to visit Portofino.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#2 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anita

Address: Viale Minerva 25, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Anita 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Hotel" Is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Villa Anita is a refined, homely and tiny Art-Nouveau style boutique hotel, tree star, recently renovated and managed by Tarella family since 1957. Villa Anita Hotel is located in a particularly peaceful area, surrounded by sunny terraces and a beautiful garden covered by different variety of flowers, palms and tall trees. It is very close to the sea and the harbour of Santa Margherita Ligure and it borders on the "Parco Naturale Monte di Portofino" (Natural Park of Portofino). Public areas are comfortable and provided with background music. Free broadband Wi-Fi connection system is available in the entire hotel.... Even outside of it. If you have not your notebook or Smartphone, an internet corner waits for you at the lounge bar. "R&S Area" (Relax & Sport) After a day spent visiting the surroundings or a walking tour on the "Monte di Portofino", enjoy the heated whirlpool bath (30°-32°), a perfect place to relax and drink a good glass of wine or a cool drink. The new Bio Sauna with aromatherapy is waiting for you....But if you prefer, the Finnish Sauna is available upon request. Our small fitness area with Technogym(R) equipment waits for those who still want to do physical activity. "Kid's Area" Children can enjoy themselves in the garden in a playing ground equipped with ping-pong, seesaw and slide ... "Bicycles" If you want to go biking to the town or to Portofino, 6 bikes are available for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing