We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was my 6th stay at this hotel and it's still my favourite place in the world. The hotel is a beautiful old style building set in gorgeous gardens with a wonderful view of the sea. It's so relaxing sitting on the terrace or by the pool and looking out over the Mediterranean. The rooms are tastefully decorated and kept very clean. The food in the restaurant is lovely and the service is professional, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    178
    37
    15
    2
See reviews for
160
473
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have just returned from my third stay at this hotel and look forward to returning many more times. The hotel is beautifully traditional with lots of charm but with all the modern comfort standards expected of one of the best hotels. It is in a wonderful location close to the town of Santa Margherita and also from here it is easy to make day trips to many other beautiful places around the coast. I cannot understand the reviewer Mark who thought it was 'terrible' and I do wonder if he was staying in a completely different hotel as his comments were incomprehensible to me. Yes it is a traditional hotel and I wouldn't expect bland beige rooms with 'in room entertainment' why would I when it is perfectly clear from the hotel web site just what to expect. Our room as always was very clean and comfortable with beautiful furniture and a comfy bed with luxury bedding, just to wake up in the morning and see the lovely pool and the sea is pure joy to me. The staff are always knowledgeable and professional and strive to help. As for having to wear trousers in the restaurant that is the hotel's prerogative and I applaud it, I don't want to sit on a chair in my best clothes when some sweaty legs have been smeared all over the seat. I can't wait to return to this wonderful hotel and cannot praise the staff enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12/4/2011
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I have been in the travel industry for the past 20 years. We have been able to travel to many countries and have stayed in hundreds of the finest of hotels around the world. In fact on our current trip, The Grand Hotel Miramar is our tenth hotel since we left home on May 19. I have reviewed most of our hotels on Trip Advisor very highly, many with excellent ratings, however none deserves the highest of ratings more than this Grand Hotel Miramar.

Ample staff offers consistent and comforting eye-contact whenever that confused expression even begins to appear on my face. Questions are answered and needs are met in the most polite and responsive manner possible. Nothing seems to give the staff greater pleasure than to see that we are happy.

Our deluxe room with balcony provides a view of the Mediterranean that could be used as a setting in any romantic movie. The comfort and spaciousness of our suite is second best to the pleasure we receive from the private beach accommodations, the lovely and large pool area, and of course, the charming neighboring streets of Santa Margarita.

Skip quickly over any review you read to the contrary and focus only on the glowing remarks from the 99.999% of the rest of us who are overjoyed that we chose the Grand Hotel Miramar.

Room Tip: We love our deluxe room with water view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staying at The Grand Hotel Miramare was an exceptional experience. From the location, to the service, the delicious onsite restaurant, and luxurious rooms... everything was spectacular. I had a room facing the water and awoke to a beautiful view every morning. This was my first visit but certainly not my last!!!! To learn more about my experience, please visit: http://www.goeatgive.com/mediterranean-oasis-the-grand-hotel-miramare/

Room Tip: The water facing views are breathtaking and you will enjoy sitting out on your terrace watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadenlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had an excellent 6 day stay during which the staff could not do enough for us. The hotel is located on the edge of town, which is a perfect location as the traffic and footfall is light but you remain within a hop skip and a jump from the many restaurants and bars of the town centre and the walk into town if a level one! You are also on the local bus route to Portofino et al - it stops almost right outside.

The hotel is indeed grande with a long history. Its major claim to fame is that the first microwave transmissions were actually sent from its front terrace, but has also hosted film stars and other famous people in its time.

Our superior room with a sea view and balcony was definitely the one to have. It appeared to have just been tastefully redecorated and was very well appointed with an enormous bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was also very nicely appointed and the room was kept immaculate and turned down for us every night - with a chocolate on the pillow - silly really, but a nice touch all the same.

The hotel really oozes old world charm from the moment you enter with an elegant reception, grand great rooms and two lovely bars. The pool is large, immaculately presented and absolutely fantastic, but when we stayed the water temperature was rather cold and the pool really ,needs to be heated. I guess in high summer the sun does that job at no cost but heating for the out of season travellers would make it perfect. The wooden decking that surrounds the pool was a nice design feature, which enabled you to dip your toes in the water as you drank your generous gin and tonics that were ably served by white suited waiters while you overlooked the beautiful coastline from a slightly elevated position. The grounds that surround the hotel were very well appointed and presented and a tribute to the groundsmen.

The dinners were first class and exceptionally well served again by white suited waiters (such a nice touch) and the Head Waiter really looked after us at breakfasts and dinners.The concierge was very helpful in providing suggestions and booking taxis and check in and out was very professional. We especially appreciated the patrons kind gift to my wife of a silk scarf and a promise to take personal responsibility for our next stay - which will not be long in coming.

Room Tip: You have to stay in a room with a sea view and balcony - not to is just to waste the panoramic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonHollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I have lived in London and traveled all over Italy and France for many years and have to say the Grande Hotel Miramare was wonderful. Terrific location, very clean and large rooms, Frettte linens on very comfortable beds, a superb breakfast in a beautiful setting all along with a very professional staff. The General Manager personally greeted us with a genuine warm welcome. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Miramare is a a beautfiul classy hotel in the heart of Santa Margherita Ligure. 5 minute walking distance from the center where all the restaurants and shops are. This hotel defiantly blew all my expectations away...My husband and I absolutely loved our stay there. The yummy breakfast, the clean fresh room, the outstanding service, the location, the pool, the beach...everything was just wow. We could have not picked a better hotel to stay at during our visit in the Italian Riviera. The hotel has a beach area right in front of it; however, the pool on property is sea salt water which is great, because the pool area is a little more private than the beach. Stay here, you will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Sea view room is highly recommended...amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing