We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$417
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Continental(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Blu di Te(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Regina Elena(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
Book now, pay at stay
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lido Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jolanda(Santa Margherita Ligure)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Metropole(Santa Margherita Ligure)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$888
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$858
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,041/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
713
198
40
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
198
40
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinque terresea viewpark viewriviera travelold worldfabulous hotelitalian rivieraconcierge staffwithout exceptionlarge bathroombeach clubold schoolrestaurant staffloved this hotelsalt waterbreakfast buffetligurian sea
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Family trip with adult children and friends. Took the train from Florence to SML in late June 2014 and stayed at Grand Hotel Miramare. It was our first trip to the "Italian Riviera." It was a good rest stop at the end of week one in Italy.

Took a pre-booked taxi from the train station to hotel. We received a warm welcome from the bellman and were impressed with their professionalism and organization throughout our stay. The reception at the front desk was also pleasant and check-in went well.

We booked through booking.com for the first time and it was a good experience. I emailed the hotel after I made the reservation to ask for an extra twin bed, and the hotel responded immediately to the request and all of my questions.

We did not have an ocean view room but were happy with our clean and spacious room. We had three adults in the room for this portion of our stay (one queen/one twin) and the room was very comfortable for three. Our daughter and her girlfriend had an ocean view and we thought it would have been definitely worth the cost (although I didn't even think to ask for an ocean view at booking).

The hotel provides a great breakfast every morning as part of your stay. There are great sitting areas around the pool or facing the ocean.

The town is definitely walking distance from the hotel. We took a short taxi ride to Portofino and enjoyed a lovely dinner in a beautiful setting--a definite must-see if you haven't visited Portofino.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cathyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Evertything works. From the arrival, the initiative of the porters to park your car, deliver your luggage, and at departure returning your car, convertible open as it was on arrival .... The concierge with his politeness and educated gentle diplomatic way was more than helpful recommending and advising where to go, all staff, be at the reception, arrival hall, restaurant, pool, or breakfast, are amongst the most professional I have come across. The hotel is immaculate. The saltwater pool great. It is definitely good value for money.
I will be back

Room Tip: Had a room to the back to the garden, which is beautyfull. I am sure the rooms to the sea are probably even nicer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The property looks beautiful; the setting is charming; the beach right across the road; tranquil gardens are very inviting; Portofino a pleasant boat ride away; and Cinque Terre easily accessible. The concierge was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable.
However, the reception desk was so efficient that they came across as being rude. I spent 30 minutes trying to attract a waiter's attention to order coffee on the terrace. The shower in the bath is always slippery and messy. And to top it all the airport style hairdryer is any woman's nightmare! While we enjoyed our stay, we didn't think it lived up to its Leading Hotel image.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked 5 hotels last month , but only with a Hotel Miramare I made an expensive mistake . When you start booking this hotel ,the web site shows that you are booking a room for two people , but when you are actually get a price , it switches you for single occupancy room . I did not notice that , and when we arrived we had to pay 375 euro per night instead if 250 euros . I checked this hotel on Expedia and it is clear what you are getting . I wrote a review on the hotel on Booking.com , but they published only positive part of my text and nothing about negative staff .
The hotel is old but well maintained and very nice , but does not have a private beach , you have to cross a road ( very noisy) if your room overlooking a sea . Place on the beach could be free when it is available , but it never is . I found that for that price we could stay in the Imperial , real Five star hotel with real private beach . Another good option is Continental Hotel , right on the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking a garden are very quiet .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. We would like to address a couple of the issues that are highlighted in your review as follows:

Regarding the reservation on booking.com, we understand that at the beginning of the search you click on “2 people (1 room)”. Unfortunately, and this is not something that the hotel can change, the booking.com engine, even if the hotel does not have availability of double rooms for the dates requested, it does show you under the “AVAILABILITY” title the types of rooms that are. We have been extremely careful to name the rooms including the word “SINGLE” for a one-person maximum room, and this is reconfirmed on the booking.com site with the symbol of just 1 person under their title “MAX”. Even once you choose to continue with the booking, it continues to highlight that it is ONLY for just 1 person right by the photograph of the room. We are really sorry that you had an unexpected “surprise” in this regard.

Also we would like to clarify that the Grand Hotel Miramare is a 4 star hotel and is never advertised by us as a 5 star property.

We do not promote the beach as private as it is separately managed. No mention of it is included in the booking.com description as we want to avoid not meeting clients’ expectations. We only promote the services that the hotel can guarantee such as the sea-water pool with a view overlooking the sea. We, of course, will try our best to accommodate guests’ requests regarding the beach, but cannot guarantee it, especially during the months of July and August which is the top high season in the area.

We are really sorry again that your holiday at the Grand Hotel Miramare was not what you had expected and look forward to be able to remedy that in the future.

With best regards,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Junior Suite was spacious and so very comfortable. We had twin beds, ocean views, and a balcony. The breakfast included is excellent. Very fresh. Concierge and front desk were so helpful and professional. They never made you feel like you were imposing on them. Walking distance to town and try La Paranza family restaurant which is very near hotel for an authentic meal. The spa is definitely worth at least one massage during your stay. The ferry nearby will take you to Portofino in 15 minutes if you want a day trip to ogle the spectacular multi- million dollar yachts. Santa Margherita is a must stop if near Florence. Much prettier than Portofino and more to do. Driving time is about 2 hours. We loved this very convenient but a bit pricey hotel. WORTH IT THOUGH!!!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite with ocean view and balcony - The views are gorgeous. Morning sun. Happy hour on the veranda facing the ocean for sunset.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GailySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews