We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very Grand hotel with an exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A very Grand hotel with an exceptional staff”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved this grand hotel that was exceptional in every way. The location is prime - across from the pebble beach (the concessions at the beach are not owned by the hotel but some loungers are free for hotel guests, based on availability), 3 mins walk to some restaurants and about 10 mins to the center of town, and a 45-60 mins walk to Portofino (depending on your pace). The hotel gardens and pool areas are lovely. I much preferred the pool to the pebbles of the crowded beach. We never had a problem with finding a sun lounger and the pool staff is incredibly helpful. Do not miss the gardens at the rear of the hotel. The sentimental walk is both cool and tranquil, and a haven for song birds . The view over the bay is spectacular.
The hotel itself is like stepping back in time to an era of elegance and civility. Every member of staff from reception, concierge, housekeeping, pool and parking was friendly and courteous. The building is the epitome of a stately hotel. We stayed in room 506 with a balcony. The view of the sea was lovely and I enjoyed my moments on the balcony with our welcome bottle of Asti. I found the bathroom to be fine, although some may think it needs updating, I had no issue with it. Turn down service occurred every night, no matter how different our schedule. I do think it is worth splurging for the sea view rooms (balcony) but a garden view would be pretty too.
When reviewing hotels, I like to take into consideration the rate, the star rating and the style. For me, this hotel ticked all the boxes. My greatest regret was that I should have altered my schedule to spend more than 3 nights at the exquisite Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: A higher view sea view room with balcony would be best. I loved our room 506, quiet and a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    170
    35
    14
    2
See reviews for
154
453
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Family trip with adult children and friends. Took the train from Florence to SML in late June 2014 and stayed at Grand Hotel Miramare. It was our first trip to the "Italian Riviera." It was a good rest stop at the end of week one in Italy.

Took a pre-booked taxi from the train station to hotel. We received a warm welcome from the bellman and were impressed with their professionalism and organization throughout our stay. The reception at the front desk was also pleasant and check-in went well.

We booked through booking.com for the first time and it was a good experience. I emailed the hotel after I made the reservation to ask for an extra twin bed, and the hotel responded immediately to the request and all of my questions.

We did not have an ocean view room but were happy with our clean and spacious room. We had three adults in the room for this portion of our stay (one queen/one twin) and the room was very comfortable for three. Our daughter and her girlfriend had an ocean view and we thought it would have been definitely worth the cost (although I didn't even think to ask for an ocean view at booking).

The hotel provides a great breakfast every morning as part of your stay. There are great sitting areas around the pool or facing the ocean.

The town is definitely walking distance from the hotel. We took a short taxi ride to Portofino and enjoyed a lovely dinner in a beautiful setting--a definite must-see if you haven't visited Portofino.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Evertything works. From the arrival, the initiative of the porters to park your car, deliver your luggage, and at departure returning your car, convertible open as it was on arrival .... The concierge with his politeness and educated gentle diplomatic way was more than helpful recommending and advising where to go, all staff, be at the reception, arrival hall, restaurant, pool, or breakfast, are amongst the most professional I have come across. The hotel is immaculate. The saltwater pool great. It is definitely good value for money.
I will be back

Room Tip: Had a room to the back to the garden, which is beautyfull. I am sure the rooms to the sea are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
362 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The property looks beautiful; the setting is charming; the beach right across the road; tranquil gardens are very inviting; Portofino a pleasant boat ride away; and Cinque Terre easily accessible. The concierge was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable.
However, the reception desk was so efficient that they came across as being rude. I spent 30 minutes trying to attract a waiter's attention to order coffee on the terrace. The shower in the bath is always slippery and messy. And to top it all the airport style hairdryer is any woman's nightmare! While we enjoyed our stay, we didn't think it lived up to its Leading Hotel image.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked 5 hotels last month , but only with a Hotel Miramare I made an expensive mistake . When you start booking this hotel ,the web site shows that you are booking a room for two people , but when you are actually get a price , it switches you for single occupancy room . I did not notice that , and when we arrived we had to pay 375 euro per night instead if 250 euros . I checked this hotel on Expedia and it is clear what you are getting . I wrote a review on the hotel on Booking.com , but they published only positive part of my text and nothing about negative staff .
The hotel is old but well maintained and very nice , but does not have a private beach , you have to cross a road ( very noisy) if your room overlooking a sea . Place on the beach could be free when it is available , but it never is . I found that for that price we could stay in the Imperial , real Five star hotel with real private beach . Another good option is Continental Hotel , right on the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking a garden are very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Miramare. We would like to address a couple of the issues that are highlighted in your review as follows:

Regarding the reservation on booking.com, we understand that at the beginning of the search you click on “2 people (1 room)”. Unfortunately, and this is not something that the hotel can change, the booking.com engine, even if the hotel does not have availability of double rooms for the dates requested, it does show you under the “AVAILABILITY” title the types of rooms that are. We have been extremely careful to name the rooms including the word “SINGLE” for a one-person maximum room, and this is reconfirmed on the booking.com site with the symbol of just 1 person under their title “MAX”. Even once you choose to continue with the booking, it continues to highlight that it is ONLY for just 1 person right by the photograph of the room. We are really sorry that you had an unexpected “surprise” in this regard.

Also we would like to clarify that the Grand Hotel Miramare is a 4 star hotel and is never advertised by us as a 5 star property.

We do not promote the beach as private as it is separately managed. No mention of it is included in the booking.com description as we want to avoid not meeting clients’ expectations. We only promote the services that the hotel can guarantee such as the sea-water pool with a view overlooking the sea. We, of course, will try our best to accommodate guests’ requests regarding the beach, but cannot guarantee it, especially during the months of July and August which is the top high season in the area.

We are really sorry again that your holiday at the Grand Hotel Miramare was not what you had expected and look forward to be able to remedy that in the future.

With best regards,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Junior Suite was spacious and so very comfortable. We had twin beds, ocean views, and a balcony. The breakfast included is excellent. Very fresh. Concierge and front desk were so helpful and professional. They never made you feel like you were imposing on them. Walking distance to town and try La Paranza family restaurant which is very near hotel for an authentic meal. The spa is definitely worth at least one massage during your stay. The ferry nearby will take you to Portofino in 15 minutes if you want a day trip to ogle the spectacular multi- million dollar yachts. Santa Margherita is a must stop if near Florence. Much prettier than Portofino and more to do. Driving time is about 2 hours. We loved this very convenient but a bit pricey hotel. WORTH IT THOUGH!!!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite with ocean view and balcony - The views are gorgeous. Morning sun. Happy hour on the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was my 6th stay at this hotel and it's still my favourite place in the world. The hotel is a beautiful old style building set in gorgeous gardens with a wonderful view of the sea. It's so relaxing sitting on the terrace or by the pool and looking out over the Mediterranean. The rooms are tastefully decorated and kept very clean. The food in the restaurant is lovely and the service is professional, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing