We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A little of everything”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is a mixed bag. It is a very grand old hotel situated beautifully on perhaps one of the loveliest coastlines along the Italian Riviera with a very large garden behind the hotel. Some signs of age are apparent as well as the wear and tear from the salt air and humidity. We were given one very large and comfortable room and one tiny room that stunk of body odor and mildew. The saltwater pool is gorgeous and large with an attentive pool man. The breakfast, served on the terrace overlooking the sea, is ample and tasty. Housekeeping and the waitstaff are very attentive and hardworking. After arriving late to the hotel close to 11pm, we were hungry. The kitchen was closed and there was virtually no room service, so the concierge made us a reservation at a restaurant that turned out to be not so great. We saw that it was mostly empty the entire weekend, validating our experience of it. We enjoyed the older Italians playing cards on the terrace in the evening while a lovely duo entertained. It was a great vibe while enjoying the view and aperitivo. We had a lovely stay and would return making sure to request an updated room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelMiramare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We always find it helpful to get clients feedback in order to work on improving our services. Comments received are reviewed by the owners of the hotel as they are committed to maintaining and upgrading the structure and its services constantly based on these.

During our yearly closing time, rooms and other public areas of the hotel are refurbished and refreshed in order to cater to the most demanding of clients. We are sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations to the full extent so please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for your discomfort during your recent stay at The Grand Hotel Miramare. We hope to be able to make up for it during your next visit.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and we remain at your service,

Ellen van Waveren
Guest Relations Desk
+39 0185 287013
miramare@grandhotelmiramare.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    170
    35
    14
    2
See reviews for
153
453
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in March. I am a Diamond member from both Hyatt and Hilton, which puts my review in context.

Pros: amazing service from every single staff member you see. I stayed in the suite facing the road / ocean and it was spacious, comfortable, and memorable.

Cons: would like upgrades on the elevator and wi-fi.

Room Tip: I've lost track of the exact room number but definitely upgrade to the larger room. Mine had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

All of the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. In a lovely setting overlooking the sea to the front and gardens to the rear, really relaxed ans scenic. A short walk to the marina and into town where there is an abundance of restaurants. Have to say, probably in the top 3 of holidays we have ever had. Recommended!

Room Tip: Had room at rear overlooking garden with a balcony and quiet. You have all day to see the sea whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronster1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ok, you come to this part of the coast to visit Portofino. Fair enough, they do have pricing power. The hotel is a grand old dame which would have fit perfectly in a grand tour.

The grounds of the hotel are really beautiful and the gardens charming. The room was nice enough to lounge about although getting the attention of a waiter was impossible, so we did without cocktail and the hotel without additional revenue.

The rooms are underwhelming, you really pay for the location rather than an amazing place. The breakfast was very nice with waiting staff on a roll and very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently spent 12 nights at the hotel(having been there before) and had a marvelous time. The hotel gets better and better, if that's possible. The staff was so helpful and courteous,helping us many,many times--especially Moreno and Gianluca at the Concierge desk. Our room overlooking the sea was terrific and the pool was large and very refreshing.Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from town center. Grand Hotel Miramare is old world elegance, but is fresh,crisp and very clean throughout. Go there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank howardtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I just think this is the most marvellous, old world hotel! I had a wonderful stay at the end of October last year and have been meaning to write a review. It rained the whole time, it was the end of the season, the place was empty, but still, I loved it so much! Grazie!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved this grand hotel that was exceptional in every way. The location is prime - across from the pebble beach (the concessions at the beach are not owned by the hotel but some loungers are free for hotel guests, based on availability), 3 mins walk to some restaurants and about 10 mins to the center of town, and a 45-60 mins walk to Portofino (depending on your pace). The hotel gardens and pool areas are lovely. I much preferred the pool to the pebbles of the crowded beach. We never had a problem with finding a sun lounger and the pool staff is incredibly helpful. Do not miss the gardens at the rear of the hotel. The sentimental walk is both cool and tranquil, and a haven for song birds . The view over the bay is spectacular.
The hotel itself is like stepping back in time to an era of elegance and civility. Every member of staff from reception, concierge, housekeeping, pool and parking was friendly and courteous. The building is the epitome of a stately hotel. We stayed in room 506 with a balcony. The view of the sea was lovely and I enjoyed my moments on the balcony with our welcome bottle of Asti. I found the bathroom to be fine, although some may think it needs updating, I had no issue with it. Turn down service occurred every night, no matter how different our schedule. I do think it is worth splurging for the sea view rooms (balcony) but a garden view would be pretty too.
When reviewing hotels, I like to take into consideration the rate, the star rating and the style. For me, this hotel ticked all the boxes. My greatest regret was that I should have altered my schedule to spend more than 3 nights at the exquisite Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: A higher view sea view room with balcony would be best. I loved our room 506, quiet and a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 30, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare stands in the heart of the Italian Riviera amidst the hills and the sea. The drive from the Genoa airport to Santa Margherita Ligure will only take 40 minutes while enjoying wonderful views of the area. Overlooking the promenade to the beautiful village of Portofino, this 100-year-old, family-owned hotel is one of the region’s most exclusive venues. Its elegant ambience, impeccable service and culinary delights attract an international clientele who appreciate a comfortable blend of traditional style and modern amenities. For guests’ free time, the property offers a sea water outdoors swimming-pool, a Mediterranean garden, a beach with space reserved for hotel guests and E’SPAce, the hotel’s wellness centre where body treatments and massages can be enjoyed. The “Barbecue Pool Restaurant” opens for buffet lunch during the summer season; “Les Bougainvillées” offers Italian and international cuisine and is open year-round; Bar “Le Colonne” with its Liberty-style interior and outside terrace and the “Barracuda” piano bar for fun filled evenings. The Miramare Convention Centre offers 7 multi-functional meeting rooms in various sizes and layouts, holding a maximum of 380 delegates in theatre style and offering a variety of audio-visual equipment. The setup is also ideal for cocktail parties, private functions, product launches and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing