We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Satisfied Customer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Very Satisfied Customer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is an excellent, well serviced, very clean, quiet, modern hotel that is close to everything you would want to do in the town(which is beautiful). I highly recommend it. I would have given it a five rating if it I had had a better reception from the person who checked us in who demonstrated clearly that we were intruding on her day. All other staff were dedicated to making our experience great. If you are coming by car and are worried about parking don't be. Just pull up in front of the hotel and everything will be taken care of very efficiently, including your luggage. Parking is an additional charge.
We could not hear other guests from our room which is a big plus for me who likes it really quiet. We had a standard room which was well appointed with a comfortable bed and air con that you could adjust yourself. The bathroom offered a great shower and the best toiletries I have seen in a while. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay or for a longer stay if you have a car and want to explore the area. I am a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    156
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
108
350
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Sadly I disagree with many of the reviews as the hotel is nothing special and although it was full for the holiday weekend staff struggled to deal with breakfast service, The choice on offer was good, but not remarkable.

Mattress on the bed in room 206 had not been turned for some time and sagged in the middle.

Bizarre back illuminated artwork in the room (which thankfully didn't work) was a strange choice.

Room had view of the car park and a wall across the street.

Room servicing was ok but dirty linen is left for hours in the corridor for collection making the dark walkways cluttered.

Staff were friendly but more interested in their friends who seem to hang around reception for long periods.

The interior design is very stark - black and white and chrome; more style than substance.

Ours was a small unremarkable double room but I'm sure there are nicer with outside terrace or balconies - for a price.

No sea view but quiet location and everywhere walkable.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Wellpastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice - both during the high season, and in the low season. It offers a modern boutique experience, in a place where classic hotels are the norm. It's got a great location, about a block from the water - and an easy walk to our favorite wine bar and restaurant. The staff and service was attentive. The first time we stayed in a junior suite with a balcony, which was spacious with a nice sized bathroom. The last time we stayed in a standard room - it was small for 2 people, but the bathroom was large (which is always a plus for me when I visit Europe) Room service is also important to me and they do a decent job. The best thing about the hotel, is the outdoor bar. We spent many nights enjoying wine and appetizers, laughing and talking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAEXPLORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay: stayed in junior suite, great hotel, rooms, clean, service, breakfast - all good. Very much recommend this hotel. Things to be aware of: no restaurant for dinner, they have a bar, and excellent breakfast, no swimming pool / no gym, no sea view (maybe some rooms on top floor, worth checking) - hotel is not on the sea front, worth checking if they offer any access to a private beach if you are going in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasha_m25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent modern hotel, close to the train station and the waterfront. Everything is new and fresh and up to date. Lots of choice at the buffet breakfast. Our deluxe room even had a large terrace with sun lounges.
Loved staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sydneygirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Well-run hotel which we enjoyed staying in. Members of the staff are unfailingly helpful and courteous. It is well situated close to the railway station and not far from the harbour in Santa Magherita. However the rooms are not made for anyone who wants to read in bed. It would be nice to have a proper reading light.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a modern boutique hotel - black leather and chrome but with spacious bedrooms, comfortable inside and outside lounges, English magazines, small bar. In fact - everything you would expect from an up-market city hotel transported to one of the most beautiful parts of the Italian coast. A definite one to add to your list if you are a discerning traveller. The hotel is located close to the station (absolutely no noise) for trains to the Cinque Terre and to the boat for Portofino. It does not have a sea view but it is in a quiet street a 2 minute stroll from the shore with some good restaurants within walking distance. Valet parking was efficient; buffet breakfast was very good with a wide range to suit all nationalities and service was impeccable throughout - nothing was too much trouble for them whether it was helping find a good restaurant or helping families with small children. I am surprised that it is not rated #1 on this site as competitor hotels in Santa Margherita are less conveniently situated or slightly faded grandeur.

Room Tip: There is a lift so any floor is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmb_aug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gian Marco R, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

for the first we will thank you for this great review! A big thank you as well from our architect who cares about every detail in every single corner of our hotel to make it as you explained: modern and minimal but lightly and spacious.

All our staff is always happy to help our guests and to give them the right directions to see the most important places of our area for touristic visits but with pleasure we indicate as well nice local restaurants to really make you enjoy every meal!

We hope to meet you again at our hotel as soon as possible !!

Sincerely,

Gian Marco Russo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita Ligure
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Margherita Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Margherita Palace

Property: Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Address: Via Roma 9, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Margherita Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santa Margherita Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing