We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lido Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jolanda(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Helios(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Annabella(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Hotel Sant'Andrea(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Metropole(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Fasce(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Continental(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
479
195
42
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
195
42
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcinque terremodern hotelglass elevatorquiet streetless than a minute walklocation is fantasticbreakfast room isjunior suitenice rooman upgradereception deskexcellent staywould definitely stay here againwould highly recommend this hotelour honeymoonpleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel does not have agreat view or beach location. if you are willing to accept this then you found yourself a fantastic hotel.

Our room was modern and very spatious (loft room) with design furniture, nice light colours and terras with two sun beds and sun umbrella. The bathroom was huge with rain shower, design bath and again fantastic lightning and details.

But what made this hotel stand out for us was the staff. Nothing was too much always with a smile and a friendly word. Both management and staff gave us a warm and welcome feeling ready to advice.

Even on the day we left they where helpfull in making the most of our stay.

This was our honeymoon location but happy to make this yearly tradition.

Forget about the view or beach location and instead enjoy the rest. I have stayed at several Hilton VIP rooms but this one beats all of them.

Not only can I whole hearty recommend this hotel, I will most certainly return.

Is there anything to improve. Yes the breakfast could be more streamlined but I am happy to ignore a small detail when the staff clearly is trying to give you an unforgetable stay.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel for advice. They where prompt in their replies. Helped pick the most suitable room and checked if we where happy with choice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirettorePetrini, Direttore at Hotel Santa Margherita Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we appreciate it a lot.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the suggestions we gave you. In fact, we look to put the same attention in the service and in the details.

We wait for you again to suggest you many other good places to enjoy in Santa Margherita Ligure.

Thank you again, sincerely yours

Manager
Christian Petrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Travelled with 13 & 15 year old girls, shared the suite on the 4th floor. Came with our own private balcony with a Jacuzzi and a beautiful view of the mountains & town.
Great location for boutiques, restaurants & day trips to Portofino.
Hotel recommended a private boat cruise to Cinque Terre.. Amazing! Expensive & so worth it!
Great breakfast and fabulous modern decor.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank APreudhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very modern -- really large balcony -- great staff. The hotel recommended a water taxi to Portofino which was well worth it. We took a private driver to Florence with a stop in Pisa. Just one note -- get the price for a driver settled in advance -- we had some traffic issues that made the final price 100e more than they quoted to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is an excellent, well serviced, very clean, quiet, modern hotel that is close to everything you would want to do in the town(which is beautiful). I highly recommend it. I would have given it a five rating if it I had had a better reception from the person who checked us in who demonstrated clearly that we were intruding on her day. All other staff were dedicated to making our experience great. If you are coming by car and are worried about parking don't be. Just pull up in front of the hotel and everything will be taken care of very efficiently, including your luggage. Parking is an additional charge.
We could not hear other guests from our room which is a big plus for me who likes it really quiet. We had a standard room which was well appointed with a comfortable bed and air con that you could adjust yourself. The bathroom offered a great shower and the best toiletries I have seen in a while. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay or for a longer stay if you have a car and want to explore the area. I am a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Sadly I disagree with many of the reviews as the hotel is nothing special and although it was full for the holiday weekend staff struggled to deal with breakfast service, The choice on offer was good, but not remarkable.

Mattress on the bed in room 206 had not been turned for some time and sagged in the middle.

Bizarre back illuminated artwork in the room (which thankfully didn't work) was a strange choice.

Room had view of the car park and a wall across the street.

Room servicing was ok but dirty linen is left for hours in the corridor for collection making the dark walkways cluttered.

Staff were friendly but more interested in their friends who seem to hang around reception for long periods.

The interior design is very stark - black and white and chrome; more style than substance.

Ours was a small unremarkable double room but I'm sure there are nicer with outside terrace or balconies - for a price.

No sea view but quiet location and everywhere walkable.

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank Wellpastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews