We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Regina Elena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An average three star hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

LOCATION
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the church in the centre of Santa Margherita, it is the closest hotel in Santa Margherita for the enjoyable walk to Portofino. It is also one of the closest to the Portofino dive centre.

HOTEL
I had a single room which was absolutely tiny with wooden panels. The air conditioning did not function appropriately. I raised this with the hotel and they commented that many other guests had raised complaints. An engineer was called, but the system was still not very effective. WiFi access was free but also intermitent and slow. The room was in a corner next to two other rooms, which made is quite noisy from other guests. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good.

RESTAURANT
Breakfast was very average, limited selection of food. For dinner service, the food was very average, some dishes were good but surpisingly basic pasta dishes were terrible. One one night I was allowed to order a single glass of wine from the bar in the restaurant, but on another night, I was not permitted to do this and was only permitted to have a small screw cap bottle of poor quality wine! Food and wine was overpriced for the quality.

SERVICE
Staff were friendly but what I would say is do not book a taxi via them. I was made to pay €20 (clearly a made up price) for the 5 minute drive from the hotel to the train station.

I would probably not stay here again unless it was the cheapest option available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank London2Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear “London2Everywhere”,
Thank you for your positive remarks about our location and our staff.
As you don’t sign your review, we cannot understand which room you had been given, but if you had told us during your stay that it was not suitable for you, we would have tried to change it. The complete satisfaction of our guests is always our first aim! For example, in order to improve the functioning of our air conditioning we did all we could do, calling an engineer to get it fixed.
We are sorry you didn’t completely like our breakfast or food. It sounds a little strange to us, because on our breakfast buffet you can find homemade and traditional Ligurian food as well as complete warm and cold American breakfast. Actually, this is one of the most appreciated service by our customers.
We hope to have you again among our guests at BW Hotel Regina Elena; we would be pleased to let you enjoy the best of our quality.
Best regards,
Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    218
    71
    27
    13
See reviews for
97
280
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My room was small with lots of old paneling that made it seem even smaller. My window overlooked a roof. Hotel does have a pool and beach access. I had an excellent branzino for dinner in their restaurant. Breakfast was the standard buffet we had throughout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiasso, Svizzera
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I do reccomend this Hotel for the good service and above all for the location.
We got a superior sea view room with a big balcony, very clean and confortable.
The Hotel has a private beach, spacy and a good restaurant for lunch.
Maybe the only remark is the parking, I think 18 euro x day is a bit expensive.
Thank you very much, hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: room nbr 430
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioChiasso_Svizzera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr GioChiasso,

It is a great pleasure to read that you loved our service, our position and the room you’ve been given!
We look forward to welcome you back to Best Western Hotel Regina Elena.

Yours sincerely,

Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked one night here as part of a driving trip around Northern Italy.

The location and rooms are good enough but unfortunately several things let this hotel badly down for me.

Upon arrival, I was ushered into the carpark by the groundsman/car park attendant. He spoke very good English but had very little patience and was not at all happy if you didn't do exactly what he said. He made us drive into an odd 'car lift' (we later found out what this was as he didn't explain) that I can only assume lowers your car into an underground carpark- anyway he got very frustrated as our car did not 'fit' in the parameters needed for the car lift to work. He kept making us back up and come back in and every time it didn't work he sighed and looked very annoyed. He finally gave up and let us park in one of the surface parking spaces, but again was ultra perfectionist about us parking within even dimensions each side of the space. I understand the guy was only doing his job but when you've just driven 4 hours the last thing you want is to be made to perform the perfect car park manoeuvre with someone shaking their head every 10 seconds. Anyway, not a good first impression. I should also note that you pay €18 per night for this parking privilege.

We arrived at 2pm (check in is 3pm) and the very friendly receptionist said our room was not ready - I understand this, but this being the 6th hotel in Italy I'd stayed in on this trip, this was the only one who would not let us have a room a little early (3pm is quite late!). We were offered the use of the washroom or to use the pool on the roof (she offered us towels) while we waited but with no where to really change and without wanting to pull our cases open in the middle of reception with no privacy, we declined.

When we did come back, the staff had arranged to put our cases in the room which was nice. However, we were not told where breakfast was and at what time, we were not told how to access the wifi, nor were we told anything at all about the private beach or it's operating hours.

The room itself was good, however please bear in mind that there are automated roller-shutters on the balcony doors. They are self operated and while they are fun to use during the day, when the neighbouring rooms start to open theirs from 6am it completely ruins your sleep. They are so load and disruptive they ruin your sleep completely. When your neighbouring rooms open theirs you will be woken up. They are so loud. They are really poor design choice.

The breakfast is fairly basic but good enough. There is not much choice and I've seen better at 3 star hotels. What was on offer was good quality though.

I'm sure the hotel is usually great, but all these things together really gave me a negative opinion of the place.

The hotel is in a great location - perfect for exploring Santa Margherita and very close to Portofino (get the bus, don't try and drive - it's only €1.80 each way). The pool and jacuzzi on the roof were very good.

I would happily return to Santa Margherita but I doubt I'll be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr “Horizon x30”,

We apologize for the behaviour of our parking attendant but sometimes is hard to spend a day trying to let the people parking in a proper way and not leaving the car in the middle of the way.
As you say, our checking in time is 3 pm because customers can check out at midday like in more than 4.000 Best Western Hotels and most of the hotels in the world. Obviously, if a room is ready before 3pm, we give it to the guest with pleasure.
We are glad that you liked the position of our hotel, the room and some of our services. We normally give information about breakfast, Wi-Fi connection and so on when our customers check in; but, in case we forget as we did this time, our staff is available 24 hours a day and happy to satisfy any request.
We would really be happy to welcome you again in the future, so that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a nicer experience.
With our kindest regards,

Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really wish we had stayed several days at least. We loved our room with a balcony and the sound of surf at night. Waking to the same in the morning was magical. The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. The best room is on the end with a wrap-around deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Mr Shmave,

We really appreciate your very kind and poetic words! We are happy to have given you the possibility to live such an experience and do hope to welcome you back to our hotel for a longer stay! With our kindest regards,

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel building tells by itself of its old age. The room size is a bit small but understandable due to its location in a very limited space area. However, the bathroom has been renovated and was very cute. The dinner was terrible indeed just like some road side restaurant in Italy. The breakfast and services were nothing impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on a Tour and were generally very happy with the hotel. Our room was dark, quiet and a good size. The bathroom and shower were as you would expect. We had a comfortable bed, there was a safe in the room and we had free wifi. The choice at breakfast was very good but food was spread all around the Dining room and was hard to find. The coffee machine worked well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les6447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Regina Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Regina Elena

Property: Best Western Regina Elena
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 44, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Regina Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena is located on the lovely sea road leading to Portofino, with charming panoramic view. The garden leads directly to the nice private beach, with restaurant and bar. This property is open all year round and has a large covered private parking at a nominal fee. Solarium on the roof top (open from May to October), with heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, to ejoy the wonderful view while relaxing under the warm Ligurian sun. Comfortable rooms, most of them with balcony and sea view, free wi-fi connection in the main building and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Regina Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regina Elena Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Regina Elena Best Western
Best Western Santa Margherita Ligure
Santa Margherita Ligure Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing