We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Regina Elena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a family vacation to this lovely hotel in June. The hotel is located on the outside of the center of Santa Margherita on the way to Portofino making it a quiet hotel. It has a beautiful view of the sea. The staff was very genial and the rooms comfortable and clean with a fabulous balcony oceanside. The breakfast buffet was gave ample choices of yummy foods. It has its own beach and a rooftop pool to enjoy. It is a short walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mrs Carol Ann,
Thank you ever so much for your kind and gratifying comments! We are happy to have given you the opportunity to enjoy a lovely holiday!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Regina Elena Hotel, kind regards,
Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    206
    70
    26
    13
See reviews for
93
268
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We reserved a triple room at the Regina Elena (Best Western) which is, granted, hard to find. Bed's were awful and pillows worse. View was out back into a courtyard with some glimpse of harbor off the balcony. Balconies were literally 2 feet from one another, so no sitting out in your bathrobe in the morning.... The rooms in the front were gorgeous, but ours was cramped, and outdated. The lobby is nice and does feel like old Italy, breakfast included was quite good. This is an expensive area, but did not feel we got our money's worth....

Room Tip: Pay for an ocean view- Triple rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scvgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Scvgal,
We are really sorry to read that you did not find the bed and the pillows comfortable enough. We would have been pleased to let you try another pillow, as we have more than one kind, if you had told us something about it.
If we had known, we would have done something for the room as well, proposing a different one to you, even if our triple rooms overlooking the hill are always appreciated for being quiet and for their relaxing view.
Thanking you for taking the time to write this review, we hope to welcome you again…maybe in one of our gorgeous room in the front!
With our kindest regards,
Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

In now our now 12th year at Hotel Regina Elena, the family run classic property sits in the perfect location as the last hotel before Portofino and easy walking to the center of always improving Santa Margherita, under the guidance of the grandson of the founder, Piergiorgio and his wife Lorena keep upgrading the stay, many rooms have new floors and paint, great tv's, the breakfast is outstanding with many new items, the staff is great, since the hotel also has many tours, always book the best rooms in advance, said experience is worth the money, those on a budget can find a fair deal, we spend at least 21 days a year here, we love it, one must consider the fair prices in the reviews as we do, enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has an ideal location. It's walking distance to the dowtown area but on the outskirts so you can enjoy the beautiful scenery around the hotel in piece and quiet. The view from our balcony was spectacular. The rooms could use some upgrading and the hotel dinning room feels more like a catering hall than a hotel dinning room, but the views make up for it all. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved this hotel. It is a bit older, and has been passed down through the family through 3-4 generations. Regardless of the age of the building, it has been maintain well and kept up well. The service was good, not fabulous however nothing to complain about. The service just did not have the wow factor. However, there were 2 employees that did stand out. The Bartender - WAS great. Talkative and very informative, and there was also Francesca and the front desk who was very bubbly and smiley. Very happy. The breakfast was great! loved it, and our favorite part was the roof top pool overlooking the panoramic view of the water/city. It was a great location in walking distance of bars/restaurants. We couldnt ask for more. Great value for Money! Thank you for your hospitalilty

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear “PML2011”,

Your lovely words make us really happy and proud.

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed everything during your stay at Regina Elena; your satisfaction is a further incentive for us to keep on with the excellence of our service.

Thank you very much! With warm regards,

Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this otel for 1 night. It is on the west of santa margherita. But still it is 5 min walk to very centre. it has a beach in front of it and a rooftop pool-although not a huge one. The rooms are clean and you really feel the summer in this hotel. Even if your room has the mountain view the scene is very nice. There are 2 sunbeds at the balcony to help you feel summer. I recommend to go there and enjoy the sea and scenery.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and were very disappointed with the welcome we had upon arrival.

I am not a customer service expert but surely one of the most important things when staying at a hotel is the initial welcome and customer service you get when arriving after a long journey.

Upon arrival we wanted to park the car in the expensive car park and were met by an oldish man that did not even say hello but instead bossed us around and lost his patience several times when we did not park exactly how he wanted in a parking space (despite actually being perfectly within the lines).
The man was clearly frustrated and very miserable. NOT a good person to have as the first person you meet when arriving at the hotel. First impressions tend to be the ones that stick most when judging a hotel.

The welcome at reception was also disappointing when we were told that we were unable to check in until 3, which I wouldn't have minded (because this is the hotel's policy) BUT some Italian customers who arrived 2 minutes after us were allowed to check in immediately and given their key right in front of us!

Breakfast was quite basic given this hotel's star rating especially compared with other hotels I have visited of the same rating. The breakfast room is quite small and the selection could definitely be improved.

On a more positive note, the room was fine - a little small but ok.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi on the roof of the hotel were also very pleasant.

Unfortunately the shutters (used to completely close out the light) at the balcony doors are REALLY REALLY loud and the people in the room next to us woke us up when closing them at 2am in the morning and again at 7am in the morning to open them.
If I were the hotel owner, I would get rid of the shutters and use perhaps a very quiet blind.

The hotel location was good and great for seeing the town and getting to Portofino.


If the hotel wants to improve then I would suggest a better welcome (especially parking man who seriously needs lessons on how to smile and say hello), breakfast choice needs to be bigger and those shutters need to be removed so people can sleep without such a loud noise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mr Craig G,
We are pleased you enjoyed the position of our hotel, the room and our roof facilities.
We are really sorry and do apologize for our parking attendant’s ways but we hope that the smile of the reception staff and the location of our building will stick in your mind more than this first impression!
The only reason why you were not able to check in as soon as you arrived is that your room was not ready yet. On the contrary, the room booked by guests who arrived 2 minutes after you, was ready upon their arrival! If yours had been ready too, obviously we would have given it to you straight away!!!
Thank you for your comments about the noisy shutters. Probably, at 2am any kind of noise seems very loud; anyway, all negative comments are very valuable because they help us to keep on improving the standard of quality of our service.
Hoping to welcome you back to Regina Elena Hotel to provide you with a nicer experience, best regards.
Francesca Ramazzotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Regina Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Regina Elena

Property: Best Western Regina Elena
Address: Via Milite Ignoto 44, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Regina Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena is located on the lovely sea road leading to Portofino, with charming panoramic view. The garden leads directly to the nice private beach, with restaurant and bar. This property is open all year round and has a large covered private parking at a nominal fee. Solarium on the roof top (open from May to October), with heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, to ejoy the wonderful view while relaxing under the warm Ligurian sun. Comfortable rooms, most of them with balcony and sea view, free wi-fi connection in the main building and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Regina Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regina Elena Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Regina Elena Best Western
Best Western Santa Margherita Ligure
Santa Margherita Ligure Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing