We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's too bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Regina Elena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It's too bad that a hotel in this fabulous section of the beautiful Italian coast could have such unpleasant staff members. It's too bad that people who wanted to sit with a view of the water were told that they were not allowed, or the people who wanted to sit inside were mandated to sit outside where they did not want to be; the discrimination seemed like a management imposed separation of the classes. It's too bad that the air conditioning in my room did NOT work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 710caroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear “710Caroll”,
We are really surprised to read these words and we are sorry that our behaviour has been totally misunderstood! The only reason why you were kindly asked to move to the proper breakfast room, the one where all other guests were having it, was to guarantee the excellence of our service. Anyway, during the day, all the common areas overlooking the sea are at complete disposal of the totality of our guests.
Our first aim is the complete satisfaction of the customer .
Hoping we made ourselves understood, best regards.
Francesca Ramazzotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. We got a better deal using Travelocity than our travel agent could get. In fact, she said "go for it". We arrived, staff was attentive, sea view rooms were wonderful, with floor to ceiling glass doors that opened onto a lovely balcony with table, 2 chairs and a fold out sunbathing chair. Room itself was simply appointed but we'd take it any day to get the view, location, etc. Beach access is wonderful too. Try an Aperol Spritz at the beach bar - a summer drink well-known throughout Italy. Local bus picks up in front of hotel, heading to Portofino. I did not view this hotel as "romantic" only because there are lots of families and children due to the beach access & location but it certainly could be romantic by design. Breakfasts were great.

Room Tip: We got a deal on Travelocity but I'd say well worth your $$ to get a sea view room when staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wendyinorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Wendvinor,
It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed the kindness of our staff, the view from your balcony, the bar on the beach and all the services: we are deeply satisfied to meet our guests’ requirements.
Thank you for your comments about our being “romantic”! As you say, we love little boys and girls and we are happy to welcome parents who can relax while their children are having fun at our Miniclub on the beach; being the period of school holidays there are obviously a lot of them now, whereas couples and singles are welcome all year round!
Thanking you once again, we hope to have you with us again soon. Kind regards.
Francesca Ramazzotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is located in a magnificent position with views over the Mediterranean Sea and along the coast. The hotel has its own beach, jetty, lifeguard and beach lounges. An ideal place to relax after a hard day of tourist activity.

We particularly enjoyed our swim in the Mediterranean Sea.

Our 2 nights in this hotel were most enjoyable and we appreciated our balcony view from the 4th floor. Our room was comfortable.

We were on a group tour and had an enjoyable dinner provided in the hotel one evening, the buffet breakfast both mornings was adequate, but a little crowded.

The other evening we took the 10 minute walk into the town and had a very nice meal, there were 20 or 30 restaurants .

Staff on reception were very friendly. An enjoyable stay in a mid range hotel located in a 5 star district.

Room Tip: Higher level room will give you fantastic beach and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lacepede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed towards the end of May, the location is out of the centre of Santa Margherita, the view from our room was EXCELLENT over looking the sea. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great although a little unorganised. The staff where pleasant and helpful. We would stay there again, although, being out of the town

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the car park side facing the ocean, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family spent six nights at this great hotel. The staff is very attentive, friendly and correct and the location is second to none, with its own beach. Easy walking distance in to Santa city centre. Portofino is easily reached by foot or by bike (borrow/rent from hotel). Great breakfast. Good value for money. The owner and hotel manger spends time at the reception each day to make sure everything is top notch.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stockholmer_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Regina Elena for four days a couple of weeks ago. The location is a bit of a walk from the centre of town but lovely. We had a sea facing room with a balcony. very comfortable and clean. On site parking; great breakfast; friendly and helpful staff. Private beach and fabulous walk along the water halfway to Portofino. We stored our baggage at the hotel and took and overnight trip to Milan by train. There is a bus stop right across the hotel which takes you to the Railway station. We would definitely stay there again. The only reason for giving it a four stars instead of five is because the location is about a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaf facing corner room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Bee Bee 201,
Thank you so much for these such nice comments!
We are very happy to hear that you appreciated your room and all our services and it is a great honor to understand that you would like to come back to visit us; it means that we succeeded in giving you the pleasure of a great experience!
We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards,
Francesca Ramazzotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a family vacation to this lovely hotel in June. The hotel is located on the outside of the center of Santa Margherita on the way to Portofino making it a quiet hotel. It has a beautiful view of the sea. The staff was very genial and the rooms comfortable and clean with a fabulous balcony oceanside. The breakfast buffet was gave ample choices of yummy foods. It has its own beach and a rooftop pool to enjoy. It is a short walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pciana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Regina Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Mrs Carol Ann,
Thank you ever so much for your kind and gratifying comments! We are happy to have given you the opportunity to enjoy a lovely holiday!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Regina Elena Hotel, kind regards,
Francesca Ramazzotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Regina Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Regina Elena

Address: Via Milite Ignoto 44, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: £74 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Regina Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena is located on the lovely sea road leading to Portofino, with charming panoramic view. The garden leads directly to the nice private beach, with restaurant and bar. This property is open all year round and has a large covered private parking at a nominal fee. Solarium on the roof top (open from May to October), with heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, to ejoy the wonderful view while relaxing under the warm Ligurian sun. Comfortable rooms, most of them with balcony and sea view, free wi-fi connection in the main building and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Regina Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regina Elena Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Regina Elena Best Western
Best Western Santa Margherita Ligure
Santa Margherita Ligure Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing