We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Imperiale Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metropole(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Helios(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Approdo(Rapallo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lido Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jolanda(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Annabella(Santa Margherita Ligure)
View Hotel
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
384
229
79
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
229
79
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming areasea viewgorgeous viewsprivate beachbeautiful hotelwalk in closetshort walkbeach restaurantamazing locationbreakfast terraceper daycinque terretrain stationon the rocksligurian sealarge terracespent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

There is no other hotel on that Liguria who has this view and direct access to the rocks beach. Hotel rooms in the main building are small but have a nicer view than the Annex. Front Desk staff exceptional and very customer service oriented. Go to Daniela and she will solve all your problems. Housekeeping excellent, but limited amenities in the room. Breakfast and bar service are exceeding expectation, Daniele, Alberto simply everybody was great. Beachbar very reasonable prices and a good choice of drinks... Espresso was gooood. Beach attendant very helpful and consult you for the best strategic places... In fact if you need to relax, you do not leave the premises. It has a beautiful maintained garden and tiny romantic corners with a lovely view. Fitness room with a view... Just simply great.

Room Tip: Santa Margherita is at walking distance. The train station too. Bus in front of the hotel to Rapallo
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheZoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear ZOGG Family,
What an outstanding review!
We loved having you as our guest and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the Hotel Continental glow with pride!
Our team members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you.
I also appreciate your kind reviews of our breakfast buffet, valet parking and beach bar. And especially the housekeeping that you define as excellent and that I believe it’s the backbone of a high standard class hotel!
Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to take care of you. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon on your next travels to Santa Margherita Ligure!
Ciana, C. Owner
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

One of the best hotel finds not only in Italy but anywhere. Beautiful grounds. Terraces from each room look out over the Ligurian (Mediterranean) Sea. Staff was very helpful with local tours and exploring nearby Portofino. Hated to leave.

Room Tip: ask to get a bay/sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank douglas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Mr Douglas,
we are so happy that you took the time to write such a great review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Continental. In particular I was happy to read that you enjoyed the beautiful setting.
I'm so proud that my team delivered, once again, a great customer service experience which you found professional and most importantly helpful. I have passed on your kind words to all the Staff.
I really do hope that you get the chance to join us again as soon as possible! Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Ciana, C.Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

When we read the somewhat mixed reviews by others of the Hotel Continental in Santa Margherita, we weren’t certain of what we would find on arrival. I can tell you that, from the time we arrived on the property by car, the staff was incredible. Our luggage was promptly attended to and our car carefully parked by the staff. We left it parked for the entire five night stay, as there was no need for it while exploring the area. The hotel is a very short walk from the town with all of its restaurants and stores, as well as access to boats, trains and busses.

The reception staff was fantastic, helping us with detailed directions to things we wanted to do, as well as schedules for boats and trains. Both Daniela and Serena were especially helpful and made sure we had everything we needed and even made local calls to check on details, since some of the boat runs had just started to operate for the season. We were quickly in our room, feeling at home and marveling at the incredible view. We had read a few less than positive reviews among the many others that were very complimentary of this hotel. I suspect that if you come to a long established seaside hotel and book one of the smallest rooms on the non-view side, you might be disappointed. Reality is, if that is your budget choice, you will find the accommodation adequate for the price, while enjoying all else that this hotel has to offer. The building and grounds offer superb opportunity for all to enjoy the views from the well situated property. We booked a Junior Suite, and I can tell you, the room was just superb with a large combination bedroom and living room area with a comfortable sofa, desk and credenza at the foot of the bed for the flat screen TV. There was a large closet/dressing hall leading to the bath that had at least eight feet of clothes hanging space, along with a large built in bureau and plenty of space for luggage. The bath itself was enormous by European standards. As we were given the Junior Suite at the end of the building, likely due to the length of our stay, we not only had the view of the sea through the palms via two large double glass doors that led to a full length terrace, but also views of the city from the living area as well as from the bath.

The rest of the hotel was spotless and well kept, including the grounds that were manicured to an impressive level of detail. Breakfast, served in the dining room with full views of the sea, was included with our room, and the selection was superb. The breakfast staff was terrific as well. If you were to stay in a hotel with the location, views, service and attention to detail of this hotel in any major seaside city in the world, the price for our room would be at least double and more. If there was one thing this hotel could improve upon most, it is the speed of Internet access, as the wifi is substandard for a hotel that displays a four star rating. In six weeks of traveling in Italy, it was the slowest by far that we have experienced. Santa Margherita itself is a wonderful city full of the friendliest people, with a casual upscale ambience and family atmosphere. It has definitely made the list of places we will visit again.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy perhaps the best views and one of the most spacious rooms, try to get room 52, as it is on the end of the most favorable end of the building. With two sets of glass French doors leading to the full length terrace as well as an openable tall double window at the end of the from facing the city and another large window in the bath.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Mr Ron,
I cannot thank you enough for your glowing review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Continental. I was delighted that you felt the staff and the hotel exceeded your expectations in so many ways.
I’m happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you also got the time to sample the buffet breakfast that you describe as ‘superb’. Thank you for your appreciation.
I have passed on your kind words to all the Team for the service. It is these little touches that we provide our Guests that makes the difference here and I hope that you and your wife get the chance to stay with us once again in the near future.
Finally we would like to apologize for the speed of Internet access. We have asked so many times to get a faster internet connection but without success. Now we have found the solution that, we hope, will allow us to optimize traffic routes and make connection more fast.
This is by no means an excuse but an explanation and can assure you that next time your expectations are met.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!
sincerely,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, to visit Santa Margherita Ligure, Portofino and Cinqueterre.
When we arrived we got a up-grade getting a room with vista to sea. We were less than 15 minutes in the room and received a complimentary champagne. All our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the effort to post your great review about your stay at the Hotel Continental. Your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you for the lovely posting and in your few words you perfectly described what we strive to be! We love to indulge all of our guests. Therefore we were excited to pleasantly surprise you with an up grade and complimentary wine.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
sincerely,
Ciana, C. Owner
HOTEL CONTINENTAL
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Santa Margherita is the place to stay when you are visiting Genova, Portofino or Cinque Terre. We got a great price for our room and we did not expect to get such an amazing view with the room. Everything was in top conditions and the staff was superb I looked forward to the breakfast because you get to have it in a lovely Terrasse overlooking the ocean and this beautiful city. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the best restaurants in town and the beach. and of course the hotel has its own private beach which we didn't get to try because the water is still to cold that being said I highly recommend you stay in this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciana C, Proprietario at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Mr Fernando,
We are happy to learn that you felt comfortable and taken care during your visit at the Hotel Continental!
Thank you for mentioning the efficiency of the team and the wonderful position, it’s our greatest attribute. We particularly appreciate that you felt safe and looked after implying that the Hotel Continental, with over one hundred years of history, opens its doors to a special service and location.
We hope next time we will have some warmer weather and you will be able to enjoy relaxing at our private beach as well as eating at the restaurant near the water.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon on your next travels to Santa Margherita Ligure!
Ciana, C. Owner
Prop. Fam. Ciana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews