We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lido Palace Hotel, Santa Margherita” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lido Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lido Palace Hotel, Santa Margherita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel's location is excellent, close to the station, the town centre and across the road from the beach. The views from our balcony were beautiful. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded without asking, as the main tourist season had ended. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here.
The only problem occurred when we needed to check out early at 7.15 am on our last day.(which was before the prepaid breakfast was available, at 7.30 am). We were presented with 2 'breakfast boxes' that contained very mundane items, such as packets of dry biscuits, a hard boiled egg, a bottle of water, an apple and orange. The staff were rude, when we expressed our disappointment, as the usual breakfast buffet was excellent and we thought that more effort could have been made to provide quality food items.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mikemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    147
    46
    24
    11
See reviews for
80
203
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent three nights in hotel. We had double comfort room which had a rear facing aspect (not ocean side). Positives, walking distance from railway station, very friendly counter and bar staff, English speaking, clean and sizable rooms, continental breakfast, location to town, pricing for room was value, our room was also very quiet. The only downside was a woeful wifi service that in most instances was not usable, if you are going to have wifi then it should be functional. All in all a very positive experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well situated and is within walking distance of the local train station. The room we stayed in upstairs was well maintained, had a queen sized bed and the shower was wonderful, hot with fantastic water pressure. We had a great view of the sea and we were able to step out onto a small balcony to get a 180' view. There are many restaurants close by and the breakfast at the hotel was generous and delicious and willingly catered for my travelling companion who is a coeliac.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow--such a lovely place--not really a bad view from any room, but I was lucky enough to have 2 balconies--one overlooked the courtyard and one the Mediterranean Sea! We were there 3 nights, along with our travel group (46 of us total)...enjoyed breakfast there every morning, and dined there for dinner one night with the entire group. By the way, the pesto lasagna is out of this world...still dreaming about it! The rooms are clean, up-to-date, and the staff is friendly and accommodating, even to the gluten-free people among us. Wasn't sure what to expect on a group tour--was so pleased with everything!

Room Tip: If available, a sea view is lovely. However, if you like the windows open, the Vespas zooming by ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schellyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel sept 13. For 3 nights. Very pleasant stay. Staff friendly breakfast nice. Room comfortable. Easy walk to ferry to portifino and rapallo. Only problem was wifi didn't work in room unless you stood in the doorway. But we just used in reception. Found Rapallo area better for restaurants. Would stay at Lido again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccdc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I keep going back with my family. It is the best. Rooms are large, with magnificent sea views, all equiped kitchen, balcony, kindest service ever, all our requests being fully met. Higly recommendable. This year the air conditioning in the living room wasn't as good as it usually is but they solved the problema at once as soon as reported. Free use of internet and boat tickets for sale at the front desk. Breakfast crew is happy to reply to your requests (although a warm buffet could be made available of eggs and bacon). Again: feels just like home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Lido Palace is exceptionally nice. The rooms are spacious, including the bathroom. The location is on the waterfront in the heart of Santa Marguerita. Close to bus lines and water transports. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is well maintained and up to date. We will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Property: Lido Palace Hotel
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 3, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic Liberty building on the seacoast of Santa Margherita Ligure, capital of Tigullio, the Lido Palace Hotel welcome guests in an elegant environment with all the conveniences and the best services for either a pleasant vacation or an agreeable business visit. Restaurant and American-style bar with a view of the sea, wellness corner, three conference rooms and a total of 54 rooms and suites, makes it one of the best 4-star hotels of the Italian Riviera, ideal for organizing team building events, incentives and minor corporate engagements.In the heart of the Italian Riviera, capital of the gulf, Golfo del Tigullio, Santa Margherita Ligure is the delightful little sea-side city of Liguria which hosts the Lido Palace Hotel. Along the shore connecting Rapallo to Portofino, in front of the pier where boats depart for Portofino, San Fruttuoso, Rapallo and Cinque Terre, the Lido Palace enjoys a location of absolute prestige among the hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure. Extremely central, facing the sea, within walking distance from the beach, from the elegant streets of the shopping district and sophisticated tourist port, the Lido Palace Hotel is the ideal location to spend a pleasant vacation in the hotel on the Italian Riviera, to experience Santa Margherita and discover the beautiful surroundings from Portofino to Paraggi, from Genova to Sestri Levante.The 54 rooms available in classic, superior, deluxe, junior suite and privilege suite versions meeting any desire for elegance, space and convenience for those choosing Lido Palace Hotel among the 4-star hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure, for a vacation or a business stay. With a sea view, all the rooms are perfectly soundproof, with classic and elegant furnishings. Each has the best conveniences a 4-star hotel can offer. Internet, Sat. TV, telephone, refrigerated bar, safe, air conditioning and private bathrooms with shower or tub and a courtesy beauty kit, complete the convenience of the rooms of Lido Palace Hotel. The restaurant "La Ghiaia" can be booked for groups, lunch breaks, events and incentives, Ligurian specialty cooking classes and cocktail classes.Situated on the Gulf of Tigullio, just a few minutes from Portofino, a spectacular setting surrounds the Lido Palace Hotel in Santa Margherita, an elegant 4 star hotel with meeting rooms, ideal for organizing team building events, incentives and minor corporate engagements. As part of its team building activities, the Lido Palace Hotel organizes cooking classes and kayaking excursions at the Portofino Marine Reserve, for leisure and sharing activities that successfully promote familiarization between colleagues and workgroups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing