We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing”
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lido Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was way over priced. This was the last place we stayed during our trip to Italy and we were expecting a bit of luxury given that we were paying almost 400 euro for two nights. We were very disappointed when we arrived in the Lido palace.

We had a double room which was really dark and depressing. The cupboards are all a really dark brown and the floor consisted of red ceramic tiles-certainly not the expected decor of a four star hotel. The bathroom was in need of a revamp also and the water pressure in the shower was very weak.

On the plus side, the staff were very helpful and we liked the breakfast. Overall, we would definitely not recommend this hotel. It pained us to hand over E380 for two nights of sub standard accommodation.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sunnysider5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Lido Palace for one night on our Italian vacation. Whilst the hotel is advertised as a 4-star hotel, I found myself wondering when it was awarded these four stars: 1965?

The Good:
- Upon check-in, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
- The location is great and is literally 25 meters from the beach.

The Bad:
- The hotel was very tired and is in dire need of renovations... Our room was clean, but noisy due to the single pained windows (and the traffic on the seafront street).
- Breakfast buffet was disappointing with no hot items, not even soft boiled eggs. In addition, the staff was a bit rude and not really present.
- WiFi dropped in and out the entire visit and was effectively unusable.

The Ugly:
- The bathroom was disappointing, with poor water pressure and a drain that was constantly clogging up (I had to fish old hair out of the drain to try and get it to drain properly...it didn't work).

Conclusion:
Many historic hotels successfully trade on their heritage, but modernise themselves beneath the surface of what you can see and touch. This is not the case at Lido Palace....the hotel feels every bit it's age and is way overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The staff at front desk when we arrived were not particularly friendly. Only one porter who was very helpful.

The location is ideal but that for me is the only good thing about my experience.

Beds-mattress and pillows were so hard and unforgiving that I woke with neck and back pain and then spent fruitless search for anyone to massage out the kinks!!! I can usually sleep anywhere but this bed was beyond compare.

The American Bar- on entering one was immediately hit with a musty mouldy smell and of course no-one there and no atmosphere.

Bathroom- tiny tiny tiny - flooded too easily, no bench space for toiletries so set it all up in the spare cupboard.

Wardrobe- lots of space and tho not enough coat hangers it was clean and tidy same for the dresser.

TV's are I am sure the smallest you can buy and even tho new if you want to be 4 star they could have been a bit bigger especially in the bedroom.

OMG and the stairs ... The porter had my absolute sympathy trying to drag my suitcase up and down stairs.

Breakfast- I am gluten intolerant and when I asked for poached eggs rather than the cheese, meat and bread I was told it would be extra!!! Really!!! They had cold hard boiled eggs but couldn't do me a hot dish!!!

I wouldn't recommend staying here unless of course you are desperate.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This Hotel has an absolutely great location with our lounge area in our room overlooking the main road and beach. Originally we thought the noise from the road would be an issue but it wasn't. The rooms are well serviced with friendly and courteous staff,. The reception staff are outstanding, giving great advice on surrounding area visits. Breakfast was good, with a good variety. Room was a decent size, not much to complain about actually. All in All great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife. At first we were worried that we wouldn't have much to do and attempted to change the booking last minute. The staff at the hotel were friendly and were willing to accommodate a change to the booking with a one night penalty which seemed fair. In the end we decided to stay the 4 nights and we're glad we did.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, situated along the main beach strip our room faced onto the lungomare along the beach.
From our balcony we could watch all the tanned beach goers and then pop across the road for a swim.
The air conditioning in the room worked well but was a little noisy. The room itself was quite large and had a separate family room with a serviceable kitchenette. The bathroom was typical of an old world European hotel and was serviceable.
The breakfast was quite good for an Italian hotel. A few different cereals, barista coffee, various breads, cheeses, bruschetta, frittata and fruits.
Overall the positives: location, across from the beach, 200 meters from the train station and close enough to drag a large suitcase. Rooms are absolutely spotless, despite being across the road from the beach you won't find one spec of sand on the floor. Better place to stay than portofino which is more well known.
The negatives: It can be a bit noisy along the beach strip thanks to 2 stroke motorbikes - despite double glazed doors. No ironing equipment in the rooms - in santa margherita everyone is always impeccably dressed so an iron is important. Rooms are split level and there are a handful of steps to move between rooms once inside the hotel suite.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mickambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We very much stumbled upon this hotel and it was very charming! Filled with old world charm and very centrally located. We would definitely revisit.
The rooms were surprisingly spacious and very clean. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We were fortunate enough to get a room with a balcony that certainly contributed to my enjoyment. Nothing like sipping cappuccino on your balcony overlooking the Italian Riviera.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Location is great - but that's it. The place is old and the last renovation must been in the 70ies. Breakfast ok. WiFi very slow and not usable. As it Claims a 4 star Hotel with Location direct at the beach they'll Charge you 2 EUR/day to get a beachtowel - really?

Room Tip: go to antother 4 star Hotel with own beach Access (Metropol?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcZ_rich_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.2 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jolanda
Hotel Jolanda
#10 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 3, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: £134 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic Liberty building on the seacoast of Santa Margherita Ligure, capital of Tigullio, the Lido Palace Hotel welcome guests in an elegant environment with all the conveniences and the best services for either a pleasant vacation or an agreeable business visit. Restaurant and American-style bar with a view of the sea, wellness corner, three conference rooms and a total of 54 rooms and suites, makes it one of the best 4-star hotels of the Italian Riviera, ideal for organizing team building events, incentives and minor corporate engagements.In the heart of the Italian Riviera, capital of the gulf, Golfo del Tigullio, Santa Margherita Ligure is the delightful little sea-side city of Liguria which hosts the Lido Palace Hotel. Along the shore connecting Rapallo to Portofino, in front of the pier where boats depart for Portofino, San Fruttuoso, Rapallo and Cinque Terre, the Lido Palace enjoys a location of absolute prestige among the hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure. Extremely central, facing the sea, within walking distance from the beach, from the elegant streets of the shopping district and sophisticated tourist port, the Lido Palace Hotel is the ideal location to spend a pleasant vacation in the hotel on the Italian Riviera, to experience Santa Margherita and discover the beautiful surroundings from Portofino to Paraggi, from Genova to Sestri Levante.The 54 rooms available in classic, superior, deluxe, junior suite and privilege suite versions meeting any desire for elegance, space and convenience for those choosing Lido Palace Hotel among the 4-star hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure, for a vacation or a business stay. With a sea view, all the rooms are perfectly soundproof, with classic and elegant furnishings. Each has the best conveniences a 4-star hotel can offer. Internet, Sat. TV, telephone, refrigerated bar, safe, air conditioning and private bathrooms with shower or tub and a courtesy beauty kit, complete the convenience of the rooms of Lido Palace Hotel. The restaurant "La Ghiaia" can be booked for groups, lunch breaks, events and incentives, Ligurian specialty cooking classes and cocktail classes.Situated on the Gulf of Tigullio, just a few minutes from Portofino, a spectacular setting surrounds the Lido Palace Hotel in Santa Margherita, an elegant 4 star hotel with meeting rooms, ideal for organizing team building events, incentives and minor corporate engagements. As part of its team building activities, the Lido Palace Hotel organizes cooking classes and kayaking excursions at the Portofino Marine Reserve, for leisure and sharing activities that successfully promote familiarization between colleagues and workgroups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing