We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Riviera Gem!”
Review of Hotel Jolanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jolanda
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Italian Riviera Gem!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you have one carry-on or no luggage, Hotel Jolanda is a short walk from the train station. Otherwise, treat yourself to a 15-Euro taxicab ride. Enter the hotel to a beautifully decorated lobby, helpful concierge, and small but welcomed elevator. It’s a great place to stay as you experience this luxurious eastern Italian seaside resort.

The comfort double with balcony is more than adequate with a very nice bathroom. If you want extra space to spread out, a superior double is the answer with a sitting room and small walk-in closet. Beds are comfortable and showers great. Enjoy the full-complimentary breakfast buffet, including special desserts and cappuccino, on the quaint outside courtyard. The waiters are dressed to a "T" and gladly serve your requests.

Hotel Jolanda is conveniently located a block away from the main street that’s lined with pizzerias, fruit stands, restaurants, gelato bars, pastry shops and stores. It leads to the center of town about 150 meters from the hotel. If plans include train rides to other cities, stop at the local travel agency to purchase tickets and avoid the lines. It’s well worth the 3-Euro service fee.

The center of town meets the Gulf of Tigullo at the sandy-pebbly beach and grassy park, where you may hear live music flowing on weekend evenings. It’s also the spot where you can take a crowded 20-minute bus-ride on the narrow Cornich road to Portofino. Don’t listen to anyone who tells you it’s in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    184
    50
    12
    2
See reviews for
75
181
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Well, this may be our 6th visit to the town and 4th stay.... Still will recommend the place. This time, we took a junior suite as we only have 1 of our kids with us. I would totally recommend the upgrade if space and location is an issue for family.
There's a very nice balcony for evening after dinner drink, we had the room on the 4th floor. Reception was great and follow up was good via email. I had to cancel 1 room because 1 of our kids couldnt make it and instead ask for an extra bed. Reply was prompt and clear. Location is good. Very near to train station and good restaurants.
There are 2 exceptions, shower room is abit small, and the head waiter was rather unpleasant for a mistake I made during breakfast. I place the croissant into the toaster and he came up to me rather rude and ask. I apologized though the croissant went thru the toaster without and issue but he was slamming the plates and cutleries when I was walking away. Maybe I should not have apologize if he is so petty to vent his temper that way..... So anyone who wants to take the dinner package beware, don't make any mistake to cross this guy.....you will recognize him immediately....

Otherwise no complains and will totally recommend families with kids. However 1 drawback with the junior suite, wifi is nearly non-existent in the room.

Room Tip: If preference is for space, take the bigger rooms and higher floor especially corner rooms. For fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover_intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed in Hotel Jolanda for 3 days for my best friend's wedding in Portofino. The concierge was very resourceful and helpful. My bag didn't arrive on time and they took care of repeatedly calling the airport to ensure my bag got to the Hotel at time for the wedding. The rooms are small, neat and very European. Hotel provides breakfast every morning and both the food and the service are very good. My only criticism is that the WiF Internet is very slow and sloppy, but come on, you don't go to Europe to sit in your room surfing the web. Strongly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and have a nice urban view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrito2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
282 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Jolanda for 3 nights as part of a tour. This is an older hotel with small rooms and little storage space, but it is in a perfect location for day trips to Portofino and the Cinque Terre. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the included breakfast buffet had a good variety of breakfast foods. We had dinner one night out in the courtyard; the meal was well prepared and delicious, and we all enjoyed the atmosphere. From the hotel it was a short walk to the waterfront, shops and restaurants and to the busses to Portofino. It was also within walking distance to the train which took us to Monterooso Al Mare, the first of the Cinque Terre villages. I enjoyed my stay in Santa Margherita and the Hotel Jolanda, although I think I would request a higher floor and a larger room if I return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel Jolanda is an eight minute walk from the train station, great position, helpful staff, great breakfast, lovely room & a beautiful town. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at this charming hotel for two nights. It is located near the train station, buses, shops, restaurants and waterfront. The breakfast buffet, included in the price, was varied and healthy. The dining room also prepared dinners, and although the menu was limited, the food was delicious.

Our clean, high-ceilinged room had a comfortable queen size bed as well as two upholstered chars and a small sofa. Even though our room faced the front of the hotel, it was quiet and we could leave the window open at night.

The staff of this family-owned establishment was knowledgeable and eager to help make our visit a pleasant one. One of the waiters serenaded us at each meal. Free wifi in the rooms was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at hotel Jolanda for 4 nights in April and loved our stay in Santa Margherita. The hotel is well positioned, walking distance from the train station, beach, restaurants, cafes and shops. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The reception staff were extremely helpful and professional. The included breakfast was great, especially for a coeliac needing a gluten free meal and the staff went to no end of trouble to ensure we were happy. They were charming. A lovely surprise was the dining room for evening meals, it was delicious and again catered for coeliacs. We would happily stay there again if we ever returned to Santa Margherita.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
#14 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jolanda

Property: Hotel Jolanda
Address: Via Luisito Costa 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jolanda 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jolanda is an enchanting three star hotel located just minutes from the beach in Santa Margherita, near the port of Genova on Italy's northwestern coast, which is often referred to as "The Italian Riviera" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolanda Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing