We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B &B”
Review of Hotel Jolanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jolanda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Located away from the sea inside the city. The room was updated period piece with its own walk in closet and an easy to use safe for valuables. Atmosphere homey and pleasant with moderate breakfast buffet. Although, located off the the well trod path, there was street noise. Sleep was ok.Would not be my first choice in SM but would stay there again if the price were right. If not accustomed to a lot of walking this hotel is a couple of blocks away from shops and reasonably close to sea. Very friendly welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

If I was to believe what I read on Trip Advisor, I would not have stayed at Hotel Jolanda. My husband and I were both pleasantly surprised. We had a lovelly clean room with a great shower. The staff are very friendly. The buffet breakfast is adequate, again with staff making sure your needs were met. We even had dinner at Hotel Jolanda. It was one of the best meals we've had in Italy - basic but very tasty! The hotel is also in a great position - close to the railway station and the foreshore. I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Jolanda to anyone wanting to stay in Santa Margherita Ligure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leonora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Jolanda in early May. My husband is disabled and after 6 years of being a full time carer I was taking a 'Respite' holiday. I found the hotel perfect for my requirements. The staff were very kind. There was a good range of food for breakfast. My room was a good size for a single traveller. Unlike some comments the room was very quiet and I enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep. The first night in Santa Margherita I ate at a local restaurant but decided to eat in the hotel restaurant for the remainder of my holiday. The food was delicious and plentiful and better still, cheaper than the restaurant I had visited previously. The hotel is only a short, pleasant walk, passing shops and restaurants, to the sea. I loved my stay in Santa Margherita and I am sure I will visit again, staying at Hotel Jolanda.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely hotel for the 3star rating, good selection at breakfast, walking distance to beach and ferries, great small restaurants close by. Front desk was helpful with trains and hiking options to Cinque de Terre area.
Only complaint was taxi ride back to train station seemed unreasonably high, and front desk agent made the call for taxi driver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeverlyR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a trip to Italy in October as I always wanted to visit Portofino. We decide to stay in Santa Margherita and Hotel Jolanda had great reviews! It was an OK hotel, But I wouldn't recommended for more then 2 nights. It was old, not very clean and with very thin walls! We could hear the upstairs guests every time they were going to the toilet or coughing. The shower room was cramped and old with no pressure to the shower head. The staff was friendly and helpful but the hotel didn't have free parking which we found very odd. The double bed was formed from 2 single beds held together by the sheets. Behind the bed there were 2 large hols in the wall. The carpet was very run down, dusty and dirty. The size of the room was good and there was enough closet space. On the plus side the breakfast buffet was really good and fresh made with local produce. The location was good and with walking distance from Portofino. even though there was free WIFI the connection in the room was very bad and we couldn't use. However, there was a PC in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Maybe chose the suite which is more expensive but might be better quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed At this hotel for six nights. It was very centrally located to train station, restaurants and the harbor. The room was an ok size, you can't expect big rooms in Italy. My only complaint is that the room was too warm at night.The breakfast was a very nice buffet. I agree with the reader that said it was not typically Italian. The breakfast staff were wonderful. They went out of their way to get us croissants and eggs when we evinced the slightest desire for them. The staff at the desk was ok. We had our best experience with the night receptionist. Although he didn't speak much English, we were able to use our basic Italian and get the information we needed. He was very helpful.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you're visiting the Cinque Terre area..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marguerite14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very handy to the local restaurants & a 5 mins walk to the beach. We had a good size room the shower was a bit small but very clean. We had a balcony onto the street which was a bit noisy when you had the doors open, but this was needed as the room was quite warm. Breakfast was downstairs sadly we couldn't eat outside as most mornings it was raining. Selection was quite good, with many hams, cheese & boiled eggs. & cakes. I would have liked a bit more choice for cereal that cornflakes & coco pops. Staff were not that helpful when we asked about how to get to places and their english wasnt very good either. I would stay at this hotel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
Hotel Tigullio et de Milan
#14 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#2 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jolanda

Address: Via Luisito Costa 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: £66 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jolanda 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jolanda is an enchanting three star hotel located just minutes from the beach in Santa Margherita, near the port of Genova on Italy's northwestern coast, which is often referred to as "The Italian Riviera" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolanda Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing