We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great hotel with beautiful water views, located close to stores, restaurants and train station. Our room was large, very comfortable and we looked out onto the ocean. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was great - dinner was good too.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank azlinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    243
    59
    18
    7
See reviews for
130
388
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We had a big double room plus a smaller one with a single bed just for 2 of us which faced the garden and the sea. The balcony was big enough for a drink and the bar down by the sea was perfect. Breakfast was the best that we've had so far. The variety was amazing, only the hot things on demand were extra: eg. soft boiled eggs, however scrambled eggs and bacon were included. The only improvement could be the coffee. It wasn't espresso and the milk was UHT, it was undrinkable, which is poor for a 4 star hotel. Otherwise the Metropole was wonderful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The people here were great, the setting and grounds were beautiful, and they had quite the gourmet breakfast spread. We visited in May...not quite time for the summer weather but I can only imagine how nice that would be in July or August with their private pool, private waterfront, etc. We stayed three nights but only ate out once because the hotel was so beautiful...right on the water...that we just picnicked on our own a couple of times and those were two of our favorite evenings during our entire two-week vacation. The only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is because the rooms are a little dated and the showerhead wasn't overhead...it pointed straight out against the curtain so if you weren't careful, you'd soak the bathroom! You basically had to hold the showerhead the whole time. But that is my only complaint. No need to spring for a balcony room here because, again, the grounds are so nice you'll want to explore a little.

Room Tip: No need to get a balcony in my opinion. Hallways smell of old cigarette smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel Metropole is just a 5 minute walk from the train station. Our room was a suite with a double room and a further single bed in a separate room. The room (111) had a very large terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens, pool and a view of the sea. The room was spacious and clean.

Breakfast was delicious - perhaps too delicious - far too tempting to eat too much.

The staff were great; knowledgable, helpful and friendly. Planning trips to Cinque Terre and Genova was much easier with their help.

We liked the hotel very much but you can hear a lot of traffic noise when you are at the pool. Santa Margherita is a popular resort for motor cyclists. It certainly did not ruin our stay but if you want peace and quiet then perhaps stay further away from the road.

We enjoyed some lovely meals in Santa Margherita. Our favourite restaurant was Il Nostromo where I had the nicest tiramisu ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaaRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed at the Metropole on a number of occassions and all of our stays have been first class. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens , with wonderful beachfront facilities and an excellent beach front restuarant. It is also only a few minutes walk from the railway station which makes it a great choice for visting areas such as the Cinque Terre. it is also within walking distance of Portofino or you can easily catch a local bus or go by boat from the harbour
The staff are wonderful with all requests been dealt with in a friendly and very efficent manner.
Each guest is made to feel very special and welcome.Rooms are spacious with great views over the harbour. Great breakfast on a sunny terrace.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandK186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed two nights in an upgraded (30 euros more) room - overlooking the gardens and sea. The hotel is great, only a five minute walk from the railroad station and short walk to town. It has beautiful grounds, secluded garden, comfortable lounges around the pool and wonderful setting on the Mediterranean. Breakfast is elaborate on the sunny patio.
It is slightly noisy due to the ubiquitous scooters on the busy street.
Santa Margherita is a better option than more expensive Portofino which can be readily reached with the inexpensive and fun local bus (1.5 euros) or ferry (6 euros) - either for incredible views.

Room Tip: Spring for the corner rooms which have both garden and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Win3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Enroute to Lucca I decided to visit Santa Margherita Ligure, a charming town located between Portofino and Camogli that reviewers rated it a good base for visiting the Cinque Terre and coast. As my usual preference I looked for a good place close to the train station and chose Hotel Metropole. It didn’t disappoint. Located about 150 meters below the train station Hotel Metropole offers an oasis on its expansive grounds with lovely gardens, a sea view and outstanding service. My single room was in the”villas” reached by a cobbled jasmine covered pathway down the hill from the main building. The villa had 6 rooms, most facing the water, but without balconies. My windows opened to the Santa Margherita Harbor and I enjoyed the sound of the waves and at night the sparkling lights around the bay and the promenade. Housekeeping service was impeccable and included nightly turn-down service. For muting sound and added security the room had 2 locking doors. Breakfast was served on the outdoor terrace and in addition to an array of fruits, pastries, cheeses, meats and cereals, sparkling wine was offered. As others have said, the staff was very nice and very helpful. It was so relaxing and enjoyable I was really sorry to leave so soon. Now that I experienced Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure I am planning next year’s stay, with added days to enjoy the other amenities like the spa, and Turkish bath and enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: Choose water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sflindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Property: Metropole
Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing