We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste Of Heaven On Earth At The Hotel Metropole”
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I find it very difficult to describe our recent holiday at The Hotel Metropole without using every superlative in the book. Better to encompass the entire experience with one word: "SUPERB"; this to include the hotel, room and bathroom, dining room, breakfast terrace, food, gardens, staff, pool, bathing platforms, beach bar, location, views and the kindness of all concerned.

This was a special holiday for us to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary and The Hotel Metropole matched or exceeded our expectations in every way.

Thanks must go to the Ciana Family and their staff for the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
There are newer reviews for Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel Metropole consists of two buildings. We reserved a partial sea view with balcony in the main building, we were given, however, a room without a balcony in the out building. The one consolation was that it was a full sea view. Despite this inauspicious beginning, we really enjoyed our stay. Opening the windows and listening to the sea was fantastic. We were there on a holiday weekend, so, unfortunately, the "beach" in front of our window filled with sun worshippers quite early. Once the weekend ended, it was as peaceful as you could desire. The hotel is located just outside the center of town, but it is literally only a few minutes walk to the heart of town.

The staff were helpful if more reserved than hotel staff we had in Puglia - the first part of our trip - but this also held true for the people in general. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Santa Margherita and the hotel was a large part of that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed two nights in this lovely place at the beginning of our 16 day European holiday and it was not enough. Friendly, helpful staff, upgraded rooms with a sea view, nice breakfast buffet, good parking, and a lovely city. It was the perfect home base for our Cinque Terre excursion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmerkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We started looking for a hotel in Portofino but found the prices too high. Then moved along the coast and looked at Santa Margherita Ligure. Great move as after visiting Portofino we decided SML met our needs much better, good transport link and good range of hotels and restaurants.

After checking the Tripadvisor reviews we chose the Metropole. Really great hotel, we felt at home as soon as we were welcomed by the receptionist. It is in an excellent position, a few minutes walk from the railway station, town centre, beach and ferry terminus.

The rooms are very well proportioned with balconies overlooking the sea and the beautiful gardens. We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel, excellent service and good food.

As they say, nothing not to like!

Room Tip: Sea views with balconies are the best
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a great 4 nights at this Hotel, very relaxing after coming from Rome and Sorrento, nice to be at a slower pace. The Hotel was very clean and in a great spot with beautiful views. We loved our stay at Santa Margherita, the staff were helpful with the questions we asked.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved this hotel, everyone was friendly and helpful. Did not realize we had paid for dinner, but so glad we did. The food was great and service was perfect. Love this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornhillontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrival by car was a breeze. Parking is available for a fee. Lucky for us we received an upgrade to a beautiful room with a view of the sea. Our room and bath were renovated and immaculate. The tall windows allowed maximum light & a splendid view. Breakfast was excellent with many choices. The capuchino was delicious. Massimo, at the front desk was extremely helpful with directions to our next destination. The hotel is close to boat & bus to Portofino. We enjoyed the outside patio area and relaxed in their comfortable lounge chairs. It's obvious this privately owned hotel is well kept. The flowers and grounds are charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: £101 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing