We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Italy”
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best of Italy”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a really lovely hotel in the beautiful town of Santa Margherita. We booked a standard room for 7 nights and were given a room in a separate building, a short walk through the gardens away from the main building. We were not expecting anything special, as we had booked the lowest cost room, but is was clean, a good size and plenty of wardrobe space. The window gave a side view of the sea, which made the room a little on the dark side. It was perfectly adequate, but it was not a place you wanted to spend much time once you were ready to go out. In reality, we were not sure what to expect, but were a little disappointed, mainly due to the lack of light and a fairly small window for the size of room.

We upgraded for the last 4 nights by paying a small supplement - We moved to a room in the main building with a view over the swimming pool and sea. What a difference, so worth the extra money – it was a family room, really bright and airy, with a balcony, and best of all, the rush to leave the room had gone, as we just wanted to spend the evenings on the balcony enjoying a
nice glass of Prosecco and the lovely view. Breakfast was good and varied, taken outside on the main terrace – For some reason breakfast seems to taste so much nicer outside. Rather strangely there were supplements for certain items such as fruit, soft boiled eggs etc. The range of food and freshness of the pastries was more than enough to start you off for the day.

As the temperature was over 30C in the week we were there, we made a lot of use of swimming the pool, which is situated in a very picturesque setting in the lovely gardens. The young life guard could not have been more helpful and the pool, although not large, was never crowded and fantastically refreshing and inviting after a hot morning sightseeing. The reception staff were ever helpful, very efficient and friendly. Hotel is a short walk from the centre, so ideally located and about 5 minutes walk from the train station.

We loved Santa Margherita, and loved this hotel. I would not hesitate to come back here as we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, it really makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    256
    60
    18
    7
See reviews for
138
420
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel, although not cheap, is obviously a family hotel, with lots of well behaved children in June, staying with either parents, or grandparents. We choose a sea view room and had two aspects, one towards the sea and one across the bay. It is lovely.
The breakfasts were not as appealing as one might have expected, but we might be fussy.
One note: the parking is 15€ a day and this can add a large chunk onto your overall bill. You may be lucky and find a free space well into the town.
From the hotel, there are great opportunities to walk to either Portofino or San Fructuoso, and a chance to walk and sniff in one of the prettiest parts of Italy.

Room Tip: Try and find cheaper parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I find it very difficult to describe our recent holiday at The Hotel Metropole without using every superlative in the book. Better to encompass the entire experience with one word: "SUPERB"; this to include the hotel, room and bathroom, dining room, breakfast terrace, food, gardens, staff, pool, bathing platforms, beach bar, location, views and the kindness of all concerned.

This was a special holiday for us to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary and The Hotel Metropole matched or exceeded our expectations in every way.

Thanks must go to the Ciana Family and their staff for the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel Metropole consists of two buildings. We reserved a partial sea view with balcony in the main building, we were given, however, a room without a balcony in the out building. The one consolation was that it was a full sea view. Despite this inauspicious beginning, we really enjoyed our stay. Opening the windows and listening to the sea was fantastic. We were there on a holiday weekend, so, unfortunately, the "beach" in front of our window filled with sun worshippers quite early. Once the weekend ended, it was as peaceful as you could desire. The hotel is located just outside the center of town, but it is literally only a few minutes walk to the heart of town.

The staff were helpful if more reserved than hotel staff we had in Puglia - the first part of our trip - but this also held true for the people in general. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Santa Margherita and the hotel was a large part of that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond,VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed two nights in this lovely place at the beginning of our 16 day European holiday and it was not enough. Friendly, helpful staff, upgraded rooms with a sea view, nice breakfast buffet, good parking, and a lovely city. It was the perfect home base for our Cinque Terre excursion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmerkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We started looking for a hotel in Portofino but found the prices too high. Then moved along the coast and looked at Santa Margherita Ligure. Great move as after visiting Portofino we decided SML met our needs much better, good transport link and good range of hotels and restaurants.

After checking the Tripadvisor reviews we chose the Metropole. Really great hotel, we felt at home as soon as we were welcomed by the receptionist. It is in an excellent position, a few minutes walk from the railway station, town centre, beach and ferry terminus.

The rooms are very well proportioned with balconies overlooking the sea and the beautiful gardens. We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel, excellent service and good food.

As they say, nothing not to like!

Room Tip: Sea views with balconies are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a great 4 nights at this Hotel, very relaxing after coming from Rome and Sorrento, nice to be at a slower pace. The Hotel was very clean and in a great spot with beautiful views. We loved our stay at Santa Margherita, the staff were helpful with the questions we asked.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Property: Metropole
Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing